March 2017 TBR

march2017tbr

Here we are on the last day of February, and I can’t believe how fast the month has gone! I had eight books on my February TBR and managed to read four of them, but I did sneak in a couple of others that weren’t on that list.

I powered through three ARCs that were officailly released during the month (or in the case of the third one, tomorrow), so I’m feeling quite happy with that, even though I have three more waiting to be read and an additional three pending. Without knowing exactly what’s happening with those, here’s my tentative TBR for March.

New Releases

acolcoverWhile I didn’t enjoy the previous book as much as most others did, I am definitely keen to read A Conjuring of Light by V. E. Schwab and conclude the Shades of Magic series. I also want to do it soon so that I can read talk about it with others without worrying about spoilers. If the excerpt they released last year is anything to go by, this one is back up to the standard I loved so much in the first book.

Library Books

adverbscoverI’ve had Adverbs by Daniel Handler from the library for a few weeks now. When I started reading A Series of Unfortunate Events books, someone recommended me this book. Lemony Snicket is Handler’s pseudonym, and this book is one of his books for adults. I’m interested to read it and compare it to his children’s fiction.

untoldcoverNext will be Untold, the second book in the Lynburn Legacy series by Sarah Rees Brennan. I actually did consider returning this to the library but then I read the first few pages and was reminded how much I enjoyed the writing style, so I’ll be sticking to this series a little bit longer. I probably won’t make it to the third book this month, though.

Books my Colleagues Have Loaned me

widewindowcoverSo I have awesome colleagues who lend me books. I actually have Books 3 to 13 of A Series of Unfortuate Events sitting on my desk at work, because they are pristine condition and I don’t want to carry them to and from work and possibly damage any of them.  I don’t actually want to power through this series all at once because I think it will get repetitive if I do this but I’ll aim to at least read The Wide Window soulless(book three) this month.

Another colleague has loaned me the first four books of Gail Carringer’s Parasol Protectorate. I’ve had them for weeks so I figure I should at least read Soulless and see what I think as soon as I can.

Sort-of-currently-reading-already

devilsprayercoverI’ve been saying this a lot but The Devil’s Prayer by Luke Gracias is another one to get to soon. While I did receive this from NetGalley only recently, it was actually published last August. Not having a release date deadline for a review has meant I’ve been distracted from it. I have been reading it a little on my phone, and I’m quite impressed with the writing so far, so it really is time for me knuckle down and read it properly.

heartofbrasscoverI started Heart of Brass by Felicity Banks a while ago now, but it didn’t really grab me and I ended up setting it aside for some library books. My relationship with steampunk does tend to be quite hit or miss, so this is not a huge surprise, but I was hoping to enjoy this one as it was set in Australia. Still, I do want to finish it and review it for the Australian Women Writers Challenge. I made a strong start on the AWW in January, then fell off the wagon.

I probably could go on, but given that five physical books and one audio book is all I managed to read in February, and bearing in mind that semester has now commenced so I’m going to have less reading time, I’m going to leave this here. Hope you all have a great reading month!

~ Emily

3 thoughts on “March 2017 TBR

Talk to me! :)

