#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 08 February, 2017

Guys, guys! Did you see that GoodReads has finally added a re-read feature? There are no words for how excited I am! They are rolling it out gradually but it is already showing up for my account. I don’t even reread much, but it’s good to know I can now revisit a series before the new installment is released, for example, and still have it count towards my yearly reading challenge. I am a slave to the GoodReads Reading Challenge.

Anyway.

It’s time for WWW Wednesday! This blog hop hosted by Sam over at A World Of Words. Link up with us by commenting on Sam’s post for this week, and just answer the three questions.

wwwwednesday

What have you recently finished reading?

thereptileroomcoverI finishedThe Reptile Room by Lemony Snicket, book 2 in the Series of Unfortunate Events. It wasn’t quite as good as the first, but I still want to keep going and get into all the mystery stuff that I remember from the later books.

I also finished Beauty Queens by Libba Bray just this beautyqueenscoverevening, and it was my first five star read of the year! 😀 The audio book is incredible and if you have the time to commit to 14 hours of it, I really recommend it. I ended up downloading the ebook and splitting my time between the two because I was only four hours into it and it was due back tomorrow.

I only posted on review this week, of Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan. Click here to read it.

What are you currently reading?

I’ve been flitting between things over the past week, so I’ve got a couple of things on the go at the moment.

traitortothethronecoverI started the ARC of Traitor to the Throne by Alwyn Hamilton, with the hopes of finishing it in time for the release date last Thursday, but that came and went and I’m still going. I was having trouble reading off my tablet over the weekend because my eyes were aching, so that put a bit of a dent in my reading plans.

themesmeristcoverI also started The Mesmerist by Ronald L. Smith, another ARC (the book was released yesterday). It’s cute so far but some of the writing feels a bit clunky. Still, it’s fairly short, so I should get through it fairly quickly.

What do you think you’ll read next?

heartofbrasscoverWell, there’s Heart of Brass by Felicity Banks, which I have on hold and really should pick up again. There’s also The Fearless Traveler’s Guide to Wicked Places by Peter Begler, which I would like to try to review sometime around the release date of March 1. I probably should also review The Devil’s Prayer by Luke Gracias before too long.

adverbscoverNot to mention Adverbs by Daniel Handler and Neil Patrick Harris: Choose Your Own Autobiography by Neil Patrick Harris are both waiting for me to pick them up from the library tomorrow. Oh, and I still havethe four books of the Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carringer on loan from a colleague, and another colleague today brought me in the rest of the Series of Unfortunate Events books.

So, um, yeah. It’ll be one of those, I guess.

What are you reading this week? 🙂

wednesdaybanner
The
other blog hop for this week is WIPpet Wednesday. If you’re a writer, you are very welcome to join us in this one by posting an excerpt from your WIP that somehow relates to the date. You can click the blue guy on the right of this blog to be taken to the link up.

Before I go any further, I wanted to announce that I have finally settled on a new title for the story-that-was-until-last-Thursday-known-as Operation: Sugarplum. This WIP is now known as With Memories and Magic, which is way more fitting now that the plot has completely diverged from its original form as a retelling of The Nutcracker.

My maths is easy this week: two paragraphs for the second month. This actually follows on from the WIPpet I shared a few weeks ago. Max has now arrived and is confronting the people pursuing Clara. He’s also brought back-up.

“I see you have two traitors with you.”

“You mean Derek and Ivo?” Max motioned to each man as he spoke his name. “They’re not the ones trying to persuade the Queen to return home so she can be enslaved by a dictator.”

Boy has a point.

I’m on the downhill run with the first draft of With Memories and Magic, and my subconscious has decided to go and get all antsy about it. I’m not getting down anywhere near the number of words I was each night a couple of weeks ago, and I’m far more angsty about the words I am getting down. I’m still hoping to finish this draft by the end of February, though. Cross your fingers for me!

I’ve been continuing with Fictional Flashback February. I’m hoping to write a few more little stories to go with my pictures like I did on the first few days, but some days it has just been easier to do one sentence with an image.

That’s it from me this week. I’m off to do my nightly writing and beta readings, and I’ll catch you all soon.

~ Emily

12 thoughts on “#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 08 February, 2017

  1. Fallon says:

    I’m definitely going to have to check out that re-read feature. Right now, I’ve just started to re-listen to Red Queen before I *finally* get book 2.

    I’d say Max definitely has a point. Just who are they traitors to if they’re trying to help the queen? Great(but short 😦 ) snippet

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alilovesbooks says:

    A reread feature will definitely be welcome (I don’t think it’s popped up on my GoodReads yet although I’m off to check). I usually end up just changing the read dates to the current year.

    I hope you’re enjoying Traitor to the Throne. I absolutely loved it.

    Like

  3. Hayley at RatherTooFondofBooks says:

    I was so excited when I saw that Goodreads finally added a re-read feature! I’ve got it on my account now and it’s made me want to re-read a book so I can use it! I didn’t know that Neil Patrick Harris had a book out – I’m definitely going to look out for that one. I hope you enjoy reading it, and your other books, this week.
    Here’s my www post: https://rathertoofondofbooks.com/2017/02/08/www-wednesday-8-feb/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      Haha, I was kind of the same, actually, with wanting to reread a book just to use it! 😀 I only found out about NPH’s book really recently. It sounds like really good fun so I’m looking forward to it.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      Yep! It’s all people have been asking for for ages and now they’ve finally done it!

      Indeed. Of course the General would like you to think that it’s all for the good of the country and he is on the Queen’s side, but… no.

      Like

  4. Eden says:

    Max has his head on his shoulder….

    Ever notice how so many stories inspired by other works take on a life of their own(a lot of fan fiction does this too)? Personally I think it’s awesome. Though I was rather fond of “Operation Sugarplum” as a title too.

    A reread feature… that actually might get me using my Goodreads account more often. I almost never use it because I’m a voracious re-reader.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      Yep, it seems to happen with nearly every story I start!

      I’m not the biggest re-reader but there have certainly been occasions where I’ve wanted to revisit something for whatever reason but haven’t wanted to mess up previous years’ challenge stats by changing the date read.

      Like

  5. Yvo says:

    I hope you will find time for Traitor To The Throne soon! I will be looking forward to dive into the two books of this series some time this weekend. 😀 Happy reading!

    Like

  6. debbiemcgowan says:

    Oh! That was surprising – my perception of ‘Queen’ being all-powerful monarch, I’d assumed she had responsibilities that were being left unattended. That casts a rather dark light over her pursuers.

    (Sorry for late comment – playing catch-up.)

    Like

Talk to me! :)

