Sunday Summary – January 22, 2017

sundaybanner

I missed last week’s Sunday Summary due to having my mother visiting and being generally not on top of things. I’ve been in a bit of a funk the last couple of weeks and that has shown in my progress (or lack thereof) in various areas, but I think I am finally pulling myself out of that.

This week in writing

writingthumb

My total words for the week ending last Sunday was only 1845. Once my mum left, I found myself feeling stuck with Operation: Sugarplum, so to try to get some words down, I started brainstorming a short story based on a prompt I found on the NaNoWriMo Adopt a Plot forum. It’s a contemporary Wizard of Oz set in Hollywood. I pretty much have that set out, but since I was finally inspired to plot out a significant chunk more of Operation Sugarplum, I continued with that. I haven’t yet done any writing today, but my total words for this week currently stands at 2329, including planning. Not enormous, but better than nothing.

My aim is to have the first draft of Operation: Sugarplum finished by the middle of February. The story is in 3 parts and I have decided to make a fairly big change to Part 2, which will require some fairly drastic rewriting, but it is for the best (though it does mean no more Australian Christmas scenes 😦 ).

This week in reading

readingthumb

I’ve been reading quite slowly this week. I’m in the middle of three books, two paperbacks and an audio, and I’m not really feeling any of them. This is particularly disappointing, since one of them is The Creeping Shadow, Book 4 in the Lockwood & Co. series by Jonathan Stroud, whose writing I usually really love. The other two are Heart of Brass by Felicity Hall and The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron. Hopefully I’ll make more progress in the coming weeks.

This week in blogging

blogginthumb

I had Thursday off work, so I had plenty of time to get around to both the WWW and WIPpet Wednesday participants. I must say, that felt very productive! I’ve also realised I can use my Google+ login to comment on Blogger blogs, even though I literally don’t use that profile for anything else. So that makes me feel a bit better, now that I’m not having to skip people! This coming week,  Thursday is a public holiday so I should be able to have the same success this week.

This week in health and fitness

fitnessthumb

Only a small weight loss this week, which was to be expected, as I was not really treating myself as well as I could have been. Still, a loss is a loss!

I had one of those epiphanies again this week, the ones where you go “Wait, eating well and keeping active makes me feel generally better in all aspects of life?! What a surprise!” My aim for the next few weeks is to stop snoozing the alarm and get up and do some exercise first thing of a morning. It’s much easier to get it out of the way then, rather than fight for the TV (while the weather’s hot, my exercise is primarily on the WiiFit) in the evening.

That’s it from me for this week. How is your week going?

~ Emily

Save

Save


Find me on:
GoodReads | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

3 thoughts on “Sunday Summary – January 22, 2017

Talk to me! :)

