2016: A Bookish Retrospective

I did these two book memes at the end of 2015 and enjoyed them, so here I am again to apply them to the books I read in 2016. This was supposed to go up on NYE, but I never got around to it, so the Thursday Book Tag spot seemed like a good alternative.

Meme 1

+ Books read: 93/75 – smashed my goal!

+ The first 5 books that I read this year:

  • Somewhere In Between by Katie Li (2 stars)
  • Doctor Who: Time Lord Fairytales by Justin Richards (4 stars)
  • Alternate by Ernie Luis (4 stars)
  • Lucid Dreaming by Cassandra Page (4 stars)
  • The Lieutenant by Kate Grenville (5 stars)

+ The last 5 books that I read this year:

  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer (4.5 stars)
  • The Two by Will Carver (2 stars)
  • Elenore by Faith Rivens (4 stars)
  • Fairest by Marissa Meyer (2.5 stars)
  • Pyramids by Terry Pratchett (4 stars)

+ My top 10 books this year (in no particular order):

  • The Lieutenant by Kate Grenville (5 stars)
  • The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig (4.5 stars)
  • Unwind by Neal Shusterman (4 stars)
  • Seraphina by Rachel Hartman (4 stars)
  • Where Am I Now? by Mara Wilson (4 stars)
  • The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss (4 stars)
  • The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine
  • I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga
  • Heartless by Marissa Meyer

+ Which book surprised you the most in a good way?

Am I Black Enough For You? by Anita Heiss. Memoir-types are always a bit hit or miss for me and it took a while to get into this one, but I really liked that Anita challenges my assumptions and made me think about racial relations in Australia.

+ Any books that made a really big impression on you and that you think you will carry with you for a good while?

That’s a good question, and sadly I think the answer is no this year.

+ Any passage/quote you want to share?

“Live your fear.” Why didn’t we teach kids that? Why wasn’t that in a graduation speech? Commencement speakers should start telling the truth: “You’re going to fuck up, but most of the time, that’s all right.” – Mara Wilson, Where Am I Now?

+ Finally, my top 10 5* favorite book covers of the year in no particular order:

top5covers2016
Clearly I have a thing for black backgrounds with vibrant foregounds.

*honestly, I didn’t read too many with covers that really wowed me this year.

Meme 2:

Finish each of the sentences only with titles of books you read this year:

My family reunions are: The Madness Underneath (Maureen Johnson)
At a party you’d find me with: The Raven King (Maggie Stiefvater)
I’ve never been to:
The Life Assistance Agency (Thomas Hocknell)
A happy day includes:
   A Stolen Kiss (Kelsey Keating)
Motto I live by: Catch Me If You Can (Frank Abagnale Jr.)
On my bucket list is: Life in Outer Space (Melissa Keil)
In my next life, I want to have:
Isla’s Inheritance (Cassandra Page)
In high school I was: Fairest (Marissa Meyer)
People might be surprised: I Hunt Killers (Barry Lyga)
I will never be: The Dragon in the Garden (Erika Gardner)
My fantasy job is: Rebel of the Sands (Alwyn Hamilton)
At the end of a long day I need: Last Call at the Nightshade Lounge (Paul Krueger)
I hate it when: Seeing Redd (Frank Beddor)
I Wish I had:
More Than This (Patrick Ness)

(I had to stretch a few of these, but I got there in the end!)

4 thoughts on “2016: A Bookish Retrospective

Talk to me! :)

