#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 26 October, 2016

Sorry for not getting around to blogs this week! I’ve had a lot going on. I’m hoping I’ll do better this week! 🙂

It’s time for WWW Wednesday! This is a blog hop hosted by Sam over at A World Of Words. Link up with us by commenting on Sam’s post for today, and just answer the three questions.

wwwwednesday

What have you recently finished reading?

I ftherookcoverinally finished The Rook! As I said in my review, I probably did myself and the book a disservice by taking so long with it and reading so many other books in between, but it is how it is.

I also read Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them, which was, to be honest, kind of ordinary, though I felt bad about being so nit-picky about it! My review will go up on Friday.

I also finally wrote a review of The Pickpocket by Celine Jeanjean this week.

What are you currently reading?

illkeptoathcoverI am so behind on my ARCs so today I made a concerted effort to start The Ill-Kept Oath by C. C. Aune. It’s okay at the moment but it’s early days so I’m hoping that it picks up. There’s one character who’s a particular jerk, but he’s meant to be,  so that’s okay.

It’s been a very slow week and I’ve had all sorts of distractions, such as colouring books, so there’s been little to no movement on either The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu by Joshua Hammer or Artie and the Grime Wave by Richard Roxburgh. I’ll get back to these after powering through some ARCs.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Next are the other two ARCs I need to get read by early November: The Infinity of You and Me by J. Q. Coyle and Immortal Writers by Jill Bowers.

What are you reading this week? 🙂

wippetwednesdayThe other blog hop for this week is WIPpet Wednesday. If you’re a writer, you are very welcome to join us in this one by posting an excerpt from your WIP that somehow relates to the date. You can click the blue guy on the right of this blog to be taken to the link up.

So I concluded that it is silly to wait for arbritrary dates to start new projects, even if I am starting a mini NaNo challenge on November 1. Since the new version of Operation Sugarplum is pretty much ready to go, I went forth and started it! I didn’t outline all the way to the end, but in terms of getting the story from A to B, I know roughly what B is and I think I can wing it… and if not, I can do more brainstorming later. This is from the very first scene. Clara has started awake to find her palace under attack. Now a strange man is on the other side of her bedroom door.

“I’m waiting,” came the voice again. “You can let me in peaceably or I will force my way in.”

Clara held the candle up to the lock on her door, assuring herself that the runes that protected it from destruction were still in place. They would struggle to destroy it without help from a member of the order of Mages that set it there to begin with.

Now if you were paying attention the last couple of weeks, you might know why the lock is not such an issue… 😉

All right, that’s all from me! See you on your blogs.

~ Emily

26 thoughts on “#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 26 October, 2016

    • Emily Witt says:

      This one came out a long time ago, maybe 2000-2001? Along with Quidditch Through the Ages. They were written for Comic Relief and don’t really tie into the series itself much at all apart from notes scribbled in the mains by Harry and Ron that refer to events from the books.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Clare Stone says:

    I think I read Fantastic Beasts way back when it first came out but I can’t remember much of it – may have to re-read it! I am planning a Harry Potter re-read soon anyway. It’s a shame The Rook didn’t hold your interest – I have a copy of it on my shelf and now I am not that enthused about it.
    Here’s my WWW Wednesday

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      Fantastic Beasts is a very quick read, at least, though I guess since I used to read through fantasy encyclopedias and that sort of thing as a kid, I didn’t think it really brought my new stuff to the table.

      Like

  2. Sam says:

    The book for Fantastic Beasts is very lackluster. I’m glad the movie will have some characters and a great setting! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Sally Allen says:

    Ahhh, I so want to read The Bad-Ass Librarians of Timbuktu! I read an excerpt of it somewhere and thought it was fascinating. And I definitely know what you mean about ARCs. So many books, not enough time to read them. Sigh 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      The cover is what first caught my interest. Unfortunately, I ended up deciding to DNF it today as I was a quarter of the way through it and nothing had happened. At other times I might have pushed on, but when I’ve got other ARCs to get to, I decided it was time to let it go.

      Like

  4. AM says:

    Fantastic Beasts was probably best read in the context of the series. It was fun, but definitely more geared toward kids. Also, I think that and the Quidditch one were written for charity. Have you read Beadle the Bard? I liked that one much better. There are some good stories in there.

    Intriguing snippet. I’m wondering if Clara is about to get more than she’s anticipating.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      Yeah, the written-for-charity aspect was partially why I felt bad being so nitpicky! I think I would have liked it a lot more had I read it back when it first came out, both because I was more the right age and I was more engaged with HP fandom. My partner has a copy of Beadle the Bard and I keep meaning to read it, but haven’t got around to it yet!

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I hadn’t seen that, but I don’t think I will. I think I will just watch the movie. I did read the Cursed Child script when it came out but that’s because it’s the closest I’m going to get to actually seeing the play for a very long time. I think I would find it strange to read the script when the final version of the movie is so readily available.

      (Having said that, I just went to her Twitter to have a look and that is a very beautiful book).

      Like

  5. Amy says:

    I like the sound of The Rook!

    I’ve been sort of disappointed with all of the newer ‘Harry Potter’ books (if you can call them that) and I couldn’t even bring myself to read the script for The Cursed Child. I won’t be reading the script of Fantastic Beasts either. (I sort of wish that she’d just stop writing about the Harry Potter series now.)

    Thanks for visiting my post earlier 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      I actually really liked The Cursed Child, but I only read it because it’s going to be a very long time before I can see the play performed. Since Fantastic Beasts is actually a movie, I see no reason to read the script. The original Fantastic Beasts book actually came out back in 2001, along with Quidditch Through the Ages, both of which JK wrote for Comic Relief, so she was still really at the height of writing the series then, but I think reading it now, it wa just a bit too much aimed at kids for me to really get into it.

      Like

  6. sarinalangerwriter says:

    I haven’t read any of these but I know what you mean about feeling like you’re nitpicking too much! I definitely feel the same sometimes. I think it’s because editing my own book has made me more aware of tiny mistakes that wouldn’t have bugged me before.
    Happy reading! 🙂

    Like

Talk to me! :)

