Sunday Summary – October 09, 2016

sundaybanner

Hi all!

I’m back from my cruise, feeling refreshed… apart from the bit where I had to dive straight back into the uni work today… It’s been a few weeks since I did a Sunday Summary, so this will be more of a forward-looking post than a recap.

This week in writing

writingthumbI didn’t do anywhere near the amount of writing I intended to on the cruise. But hey, I was on holidays. It’s allowed. But in the week leading up to the cruise, I had some really new ideas about Operation Sugarplum and the story has taken a completely new turn. So Draft 3 will almost be Draft 1 again. I’m debating whether to use it for NaNoWriMo. If I do, I will participate unofficially again like I did last year. 50k in a month is too much for me and results in way too much padding, but the regular write-ins are really good, and I know quite a few participants in my region, so it’s always good to catch up. Or I might just get impatient and start writing. I’m trying my best to plan properly though.

This week in reading

readingthumbI finally read The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss while I was away. I really enjoyed it, despite a few small qualms. My review will go up tomorrow. Now I have The Rook by Daniel O’Malley to finish. I’ve got about 250 pages left, I think? I’m hoping to be finished it by the end of the week.

This week in blogging

blogginthumbI was hoping to return to WIPpet Wednesday this week, though the fact that I’m back to planning a WIP rather than writing one does put a damper on that. I might find a way though. Character interviews are fun!

This week in study

studythumbMy final assignment for this semester is due on Thursday and I made good progress on it today. I have tomorrow off work and I’m hoping I’ll finish it off. Then I might need to just give it a bit of spit and polish before handing it in. I’m really ready to be done with this course, to be honest!

This week in health and fitness

fitnessthumbObviously being on a cruise with a buffet and free room service (thanks to booking one of the fancy rooms), I probably indulged a little too much. This week, my partner and I are doing this 7-day program to try to get rid of some of the weight we’re bound to have put on. It’ll be interesting to see what sort of effect it has. As part of our goal with this, we’re going to walk to the shops every night to get the ingredients for the next day. It’s about an 80 minute walk all together, so we’ll definitely burn off some calories there.

Other highlights this week

Obviously, the cruise has been the major thing. I have yet to get most of my photos off my phone, but here’s one I took of the braids I got done in Vanuatu, and the resulting frizziness this morning when I finished taking them out. This is actually pretty much my favourite selfie I’ve ever taken.

hairbraids

That’s it for now. I’ll be back to doing these posts propoerly with goal-setting and stuff next week. Bye for now!

~ Emily

Save

Save

One thought on “Sunday Summary – October 09, 2016

Talk to me! :)

