#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 22 June, 2016

It’s time for WWW Wednesday! This is a blog hop hosted by Sam over at A World Of Words. Link up with us by commenting on Sam’s post for today, and just answer the three questions.

wwwwednesday

What are you currently reading?

allthelightcoverI’m only about 40 pages from the end of  All The Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr. It’s not really my kind of book,to be honest, but I did stick it out to the end, so that has to count for something, right?

I finally got around to putting the audio of White Cat by Holly Black onto my phone and I’ve made it to about 40% of that today. It’s interesting enough, but not terribly exciting (which is pretty much what I thought about the last Holly Black book I read).

I haven’t had much of a chance to continue with Wonder Women by Sam Maggs, but I’ve got ages to finish that one before a review is due.

What did you recently finish reading?

catchmeifyoucancoverI finished the audio of Catch Me If You Can by Frank Abagnale Jr. and Stan Redding. Frank Abagnale has to be about the luckiest man who ever lived.

I also reviewed Nimona by Noelle Stevenson and Nightshade by Maryrose Wood this week, as well as posting a breakdown of my reading for the first six months of the year.

What do you think you’ll read next?

Technically, The Secret River by Kate Grenville should be next, but I think I need a break from historical fiction after All The Light We Cannot See. I picked up Game by Barry Lyga, the sequel to I Hunt Killers, from the library this afternoon and the third book is showing up on my record as in transit. I’ll probably read those and then get back to Kate Grenville.

And now for WIPpet Wednesday. This is another blog hop in which writers share excerpts from their current WIP that somehow relate to the date. Clicking the blue guy on the right will take you to the linkup for this one. Since I was such an awful WIPpet Wednesday Coordinator last week, please leave me your links for June 30 in the comments  here and I’ll try to double-up this week.

I’m not entirely sure what to share today. I’m doing Camp NaNoWriMo but at the moment I’m finding the story a bit boring. Oh well. I’ve found six lines that will do. Grace has just started her new job as a maid at Merrow House. Sarah Holdom is giving her a tour of the house, and Grace has seen photographs of Frederick Merrow’s late wife and is asking whether she died before or after Mr Merrow left England for Australia.

“No, she had already passed away when Mr Merrow left England. I believe it was some sort of illness, though there are those who say…” She looked over her shoulder theatrically to check no one could overhear her. “There are those who say that Mr Merrow got himself and his wife involved in things he shouldn’t have…. dark things… dark magic… and that that’s what killed her.”

“Dark magic?” Grace scoffed, but felt intrigue flair up inside her anyway.

That’s all from me for this week. Don’t forget to check out others’ contributions to these two blog hops! Until next week!

~ Emily


Find me on:
GoodReads | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

Save

Save

34 thoughts on “#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 22 June, 2016

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    I’ll be interested to hear what you think of Game. I didn’t like it as much as I Hunt Killers. I know you’re not a fan of characters who do unbelievably daft things… so prepare yourself! 😉

    I understand what you say about sticking out All The Light We Cannot See. This is why I’ve been putting this one off. I can believe it’s beautifully written and moving, but I’m not sure it’s the sort of thing I want to read at the moment as I imagine I might find it hard work 😦 One day though…

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/07/06/www-wednesday-6th-july-2016/

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Oh no! I shall consider myself warned about characters doing silly things, then!

      Hard work is a good way to describe it. I can appreciate everything Doerr is doing, but at the same time, it was still a bit of a slog through. I probably wasn’t quite in the right mood for it, either, but when you start at 43rd place in the library queue and the book arrives for you, you read it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      I think All The Light We Cannot See would actually make a good book club choice – there’s a lot you can discuss, both about the content and the way its written. Catch Me If You Can was quite good, though it did feel a bit dated at times.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. alilovesbooks says:

    I keep hearing great things about I Hunt Killers so really must add it to my TBR. Although maybe I should wait to see what you think of the sequel first 🙂

    I hadn’t realised there was a book behind Catch Me If You Can although I shouldn’t be surprised. It seems there are hardly any original films.

    Like

  3. Agnes says:

    It seems there are a lot of us who didn’t know Catch Me If You Can was a book. It must be a really popular story, to get adapted into a movie and then a musical 🙂

    I loved All The Light We Cannot See, but it seems like a drag to get through if you’re not into it. It’s so long! You must have amazing perseverance.

    Thanks for dropping by Haphazard Bookshelves!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I didn’t realise either until very recently! And then I completely randomly saw it pop up on Overdrive. Apparently when they first approached the real Frank Abagnale to suggest turning it into a musical, he was a bit skeptical, but he has now seen it over 40 times!

      Haha, sometimes I get to a point with a book where I’m like, “Well, I can’t stop now, I’ve committed!” All The Light We Cannot See was one of those.

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I hope you enjoy both I Hunt Killers and Catch Me If You Can! Just be warned, I Hunt Killers and the second book in the series both end on huge cliffhangers, so if you’re enjoying it, try to have the next book on hand!

      Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  4. laurelrainsnow says:

    I’m curious about Catch Me If You Can. Enjoy whatever you read next. I can relate to needing to mix things up a bit. I just finished a riveting thriller, and now I’m reading a cozy mystery. A little lighter, more fun.

    Enjoy! Here’s MY WWW POST

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Catch Me If You Can was pretty good, though a bit sleazy whenever women were mentioned (maybe not surprising coming from a book written in the early 80s about growing up as a teenager in the 60s).

      Like

  5. Yvo says:

    I’m sorry to hear All The Light We Cannot See didn’t work for you… It’s definitely one of those books that either work for you or don’t. And I hope you will enjoy the Jasper Dent sequels! Happy reading. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Eden says:

    IMnotsoHO, I think Grace needs to start checking into these tales of dark magic right away. Of course, I’m a huge fan of the Three Investigators, Nancy Drew and Scooby Doo. Will she be that perfect ‘meddling kid’? 😉

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      omg ,The Three Investigators was such a good series!

      Grace isn’t so much the “meddling kid” as the one who catches the eye of the aforementioned potential dark-magic practitioner, then gets in a bit far over her head.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. shanjeniah says:

    Dark magic that might have caused a death….? Might be worth knowing a bit more about that, if she’s going to be living and working there….

    I’m in a lull, NaNo – wise. So much else on my plate. Moving through some of it, writing when i can. It helps that I have three fiction projects, and decided to count some extensive correspondence in my word count, since I’ve already put 2.5 hours and nearly 3K into it, and expect to add at least another 500 words or so before I have a completed draft.

    Lots of reading there. I want to be doing more reading, but that doesn’t seem to happen when I’m in the midst of creative surges.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I’m a few thousand words behind where I wanted to be at the moment, but I’m hoping to slowly catch myself up. I’m home today with a cold but I’m going to try to get a couple of sprints in and maybe get nearly caught up by the evening. Though with my head being foggy I might not be managing 1200 words in 30 minutes like I can on a good day.

      Liked by 1 person

      • shanjeniah says:

        I’m good for about 750 in a very good 20 minute sprint.But this is just a chaotic time for me, with lots of different things in play, some of them significant and uncertain. I may end up dropping my goal total. I haven’t looked at just how far behind I am, but I have been picking up a little steam the last two days, and I will have Wednesday-Saturday mostly free for writing as it stands now (unless I take the kids for a swim, because it’s supposed to be very hot here).

        I hope your cold has cleared up, and that you got some of those words in.

        Like

  8. Diana says:

    What did you think about Catch me if you can? Is it as interesting as the movie? I enjoyed the movie though the book wasn’t on my radar until I read your post last week. I hope Game turns out to be as good as the first book.

    Enjoy the weekend. Happy reading.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      It’s been a few years since I last saw the movie (I have it downloaded from iTunes but haven’t had the chance to revisit yet), but I think it was. It goes into a lot of detail about how he pulled off his various scams, so it’s really fascinating from that perspective.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

