#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 22 June, 2016

It’s time for WWW Wednesday! This is a blog hop hosted by Sam over at A World Of Words. Link up with us by commenting on Sam’s post for today, and just answer the three questions.

wwwwednesday

What are you currently reading?

nimonacoverAfter having it on hold for six months (no, really), I finally picked up Nimona from the library today! I’m only about 10 pages in at time of writing, but I’m already in love!

I’m also reading  Nightshade by Maryrose Wood, the sequel to the Poison Diaries, which I reviewed a while back. Like the first book, it’s very easy to read and I’m getting through it quite quickly.

On audio, I’m currently listening to The Fictional Woman by Tara Moss, which is part memoir, part social commentary on gender roles and sexual violence and other related issues. I’ve decided to try including a bit more non-fiction in my reading, and memoir seems a good in-road for that.

What did you recently finish reading?

ihuntkillerscoverI’ve actually only finished one book this week, and that was I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga. It was definitely very good, though I felt it became a bit less chilling in the second half, so my rating was 4.5. I’ll have a review up soon.

I was rather ruthless with my DNFing this week, dropping both Libriomancer by Jim Hines and WARP: The Reluctant Assassin by Eoin Colfer. It wasn’t that either book was bad, it was just that I got nearly halfway through both of them and didn’t really care about the characters or the events. I had had similar experiences with Jim Hines’ books before, so it wasn’t a complete surprise in that case, but I am a bit sad to see that I seem to have grown out of Eoin Colfer’s writing. I did love Artemis Fowl as a teenager.

Two reviews also went up this week, for Seeing Redd by Frank Beddor and Edge of Darkness by K. L. Schwengel.

What do you think you’ll read next?

allthelightcoverI picked up All the Light We Cannot See by Anthony Doerr from the library yesterday, and I probably won’t be able to renew it because the queue for it is a mile long (in spite of there being about 20 copies across our library network), so I’ll get onto it next. As it’s a popular item, I’ve only got it for two weeks rather than the standard four, so fingers crossed I get through it in time.

And now for WIPpet Wednesday. This is another blog hop in which writers share excerpts from their current WIP that somehow relate to the date. Clicking the blue guy on the right will take you to the linkup for this one. Today is the 22nd, so I have four lines from my document. Carrie is disguised as Princess Adelyn. Eli Masden knows about this, but no one else (he has his reasons for letting her get away with it. They have been traveling home, and have finally arrived at the palace.

“Don’t speak of these last few days to anyone,” [Masden] said. “I don’t want any gossip about the Princess permeating the ranks.”

Carrie didn’t notice it at first, but by the time Masden finished his sentence, she realised there was a certain tone, a resonance, to his voice that wasn’t usually there. There was a moment when he finished speaking in which all the guards were still, and then in unison replied, “Yes, sir”. It wasn’t the unison salute of trained military, but the monotonous tone of men in a trance. Carrie frowned.

Looks like the Princess isn’t the only one whose mind Eli is messing with.

I’ve reached 50k on this WIP now and am having a little break from it. In the meantime, I’m working on Lessons Learned (remember that other one I’ve shared from, with the immortal woman and the ghost of her former lover?). I’m brainstorming at the moment, so I’ll probably still share from Worlds Apart for a while, while I find my groove with that other story again.

~ Emily


Find me on:
GoodReads | Facebook | Twitter | Instagram

24 thoughts on “#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 22 June, 2016

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thank you! 🙂

      I did not expect this copy to become available so soon. I only placed the hold at the start of June, and was something like 43rd in line, but I guess with 20+ copies in circulation, it doesn’t actually take that long to work through 40 holds, particularly with the shortened loan period. One day you’ll get to it!

      Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      They’ve got a bit of a deal struck on that issue, as Eli realises that if he’s got Carrie, the real Princess is still missing somewhere and he needs someone to play the part in front of the King while he sorts it out.

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I’m about halfway through it now, and while Moss’ personal anecdotes are interesting/heartfelt, the data she presents isn’t much I didn’t already I know. So I’m a bit torn on it at the moment.

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Nimona is so cute! There is usually very little crossover between books that won the Pulitzer Prize and books that I enjoy reading, but I had this on my TBR before I realised it had one the PP, so hopefully I’ll still enjoy it!

      Like

  1. Sam says:

    Good luck finishing All the Light We Cannot See. It’s long but super super good. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

  2. faithrivens says:

    Congrats on 50k! That’s an amazing achievement! Be proud of yourself!
    Sorry about all those DNFs. It’s hard when books disappoint or don’t meet your expectations! Hope you don’t come across many more of those!
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Like

  3. Yvo says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed I Hunt Killers! Yay! It’s always great to find yet another person who likes one of my favorite series. 😀 All The Light We Cannot See is such a great read as well by the way, definitely worth making the time for! And Nimona must have been on my wishlist for ages now.

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      Nimona is really cute so far, I recommend bumping it up the list if you can! 😉 I’m really looking forward to All The Light We Cannot See, and I was surprised how quickly it came up for me at the library, so at least if I do have to return it unfinished, I know how quickly the queue is moving and I can just reserve it again straight away and have it again in a couple of weeks.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Yvo says:

        It’s always great to know you won’t have to wait that long in case you can’t finish it… Especially with a book that good. 🙂 And I will definitely try to get my hands on a copy of Nimona soon then!

        Like

  4. shanjeniah says:

    Although I haven’t has as much focus for reading these last months (April -July are my most intensely creative writing months, with a series of rather consuming challenges,) I love reading your WWW reports.

    As for that WIPpet – I’m reminded a bit of the “Weirding Way” from DUNE. And I’m definitely getting intrigued by this story world!

    Like

  5. patgarcia says:

    Congratulations on reaching 50K. That a big accomplishment. It does good to put a manuscript aside and let it sit for awhile. It helps you gain a better perspective of your characters. I’ll probably pick up All the Lights We Cannot See from Amazon. It is a book that I want to read.

    As for your WIPpet, It looks as if he’s hypnotised them all.
    Shalom aleichem,
    Patricia

    Like

Talk to me! :)

