#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 15 June, 2016

It’s time for WWW Wednesday! This is a blog hop hosted by Sam over at A World Of Words. Link up with us by commenting on Sam’s post for today, and just answer the three questions.

  • What are you currently reading?

wwwwednesday.Nothing, actually, as I finished two books today and I am yet to start a new one.

  • What have you recently finished reading?

I finished Edge of Darkness by K. L. Schwengel on a bus on Friday. It was a good conclusion to the series!

I followed this up with Ink and Bone by Rachel Caine. I’m glad that it’s only a few weeks until the sequel comes out! I want to spend more time in this world. I also want a book about Scholar Wolfe and Commander Santi as young men, but I don’t think that is likely, and that is a shame.

I also finished the audio of The Lost Life by Steven Carroll and good lord, I’m glad it was short. It had some pretty language and the story could have been really interesting, but it didn’t really go anywhere and it got quite repetitious at times. It’s kind of awkward reading a love scene where the two characters are described as having their mouths “glued together” multiple times in a few minutes.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Sadly,ย I have not been able to read a book a day on my week off like I had intended, but that is because I have been preoccupied with other things I wanted to do, so there’s that. My next read will probably be I Hunt Killers by Barry Lyga to see what all the fuss is about. ๐Ÿ˜› Then I’ll probably read Nightshade by Maryrose Wood.

Borrow Box tells me that the audio of The Reluctant Assassin by Eoin Colfer will be available for me tomorrow, so I’ll make a start on that, too. Hope the audio is good!

wednesdaybannerAnd now for WIPpet Wednesday. This is another blog hop in which writers share excerpts from their current WIP that somehow relate to the date. Clicking the blue guy on the right will take you to the linkup for this one. This week, we’re back with Eli, who is getting some bad news that could land him in a lot of trouble.

โ€œWhat is it?โ€ Eli asked.

Maisie caught her breath and then said, โ€œItโ€™s the Princess, sir. Sheโ€™s… sheโ€™s gone, sir.โ€

โ€œWhat do you mean, gone?โ€

โ€œShe wasnโ€™t in her bed, sir. I looked in some usual places, the library, and her parlour, but I couldnโ€™t find her anywhere.โ€

โ€œIs there anything else to suggest sheโ€™s disappeared? Maybe youโ€™re just not looking hard enough.โ€

Maisie nodded her head, as if agreeing with his assessment, but then she added, โ€œSheโ€™s taken clothes with her sir. And the secret door at the end of the passage, the one behind the tapestries? The one you never let her remember? It was open.โ€

Sometimes, Eli thinks this Princess might be more trouble than she’s worth. ๐Ÿ˜›

That’s it from me, see you on your blogs!

~ Emily

28 thoughts on “#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 15 June, 2016

  1. Diana says:

    I Hunt Killers has some good reviews, its on my TBR. I hope that you will enjoy it. The Lost Life sounds bad, lips glued together ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I hope you enjoy your next reads. Happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      I had to stop with I Hunt Killers and go to bed because I was starting to get spooked by the flashbacks to his dad. So I’m enjoying it, but warily.

      Definitely recommend Ink and Bone. I’ve got a review ready to go up next week.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      Mine, too! I followed Artemis Fowl all through my teen years. His adult fiction hasn’t done much for me, but this one is back to YA, so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy it.

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I know that feeling! I sometimes try to read indie published stuff faster than any traditional pubbed stuff because I want to give it some extra support, but it doesn’t always work out that way.
      I’ll check out your post soon – I was rather dismal at getting around to blogs last week.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Eden says:

    “Their mouths glued together”…. well, that’s just the most, um, intense (not) image I can image for a deeply passionate kiss. Sounds like it was definitely good that it was a short book.

    Princesses are often more trouble than they are worth. So are princes… it’s when they grow up though that we really need to watch out. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

Talk to me! :)

