#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 01 June, 2016

Hey everyone! Just to let you know, this is the last chance to enter the giveaway for one of two signed copies of A More Complicated Fairytale! It closes 11:59PM Australian Eastern time. Winners will be announced in Sunday’s blog post and contacted by email.

Now that’s out of the way, it’s time for WWW Wednesday. This is a blog hop hosted by Sam over at A World Of Words. Link up with us by commenting on Sam’s post for today, and just answer the three questions.

  • What are you currently reading?

wwwwednesdayI’m back to A Gathering of Shadows by V. E. Schwab. And, um, unpopular opinion time! I obviously still love these characters and their world and V. E. Schwab’s writing, but… I’m 50% through this book and still haven’t seen much resembling a plot? Like, I still feel like things are setting up. And from a couple of reviews I’ve read plus what a friend of mine who is at about 90% was saying when we were talking on Monday, it remains this way? Don’t get me wrong, I still love the characters and the world-building, I just expected things to moving along more.

  • What have you recently finished reading?

seeingreddcoverFinished the audio of Seeing Redd by Frank Beddor, the second in the Looking Glass Wars series. I’m enjoying this series! It does Wonderland-adaptation right. I also love that it’s a YA series where the romance really is part of the background, even when it’s what’s currently going on. It’s not all-encompassing and passionate, it’s actually very cute. And Dodge is just occasionally described as being handsome, rather than Alyss swooning over him every minute.

Also posted two reviews this week: The Poison Diaries by Maryrose Wood (3.5*) and Disclaimer by Renee Knight.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

nightshadeloungecoverI have a NetGalley of Last Call At The Nightshade Lounge by Paul Krueger, which releases on June 7, so I should probably read that asap. And I have the audio of the third Looking Glass Wars book, Archenemy, on hold so hopefully that will become available soon.

My beloved Kindle has finally decided to die. It is over four years old so it’s had a pretty good run, but I am still sad. It’s not letting me turn pages now, and it keeps rebooting or freezing up. And every time it reboots, it goes back to the home screen, and then takes forever to load the book I was reading. I’ll probably read ebooks on my tablet for a while, then eventually get a replacement.

wednesdaybannerAnd now for WIPpet Wednesday. This is another blog hop in which writers share excerpts from their current WIP that somehow relate to the date. Clicking the blue guy on the right will take you to the linkup for this one. Today is 1/6, so I have seven paragraphs (don’t worry, it’s dialogue, so they’re all short). This is slightly before last week’s excerpt. Princess Adelyn has escaped due to Carrie casting an illusion so that everyone thought she was the princess, and thus Carrie is the one who gets captured and dragged back to the palace. She lets this happen somewhat, to buy Adelyn time to get to where she needs to be. Anyway, this is her speaking to the King’s chief magician, Eli Masden.

The magician looked at Carrie. “There now, Your Highness. See what happens when you run off with strangers?”

“You won’t get away with this,” Carrie said, trying to mimic the Princess’ tone.

“With what? Returning the princess home after a terrible, traumatic abduction?”


“Is that what you’re going to make me believe? Are you going to put that in my mind?”


“Oh, something like that, most likely.” He smiled cruelly. “But don’t worry. You won’t know any different.”


“Why aren’t you doing it now, then?”


“Because I want you to face your father with these memories still intact, and tell him the names of the people who helped you, and where they can be found.”

I love Eli. He’s one of my favourite characters, even though his character will need some fairly heavy revisions, because he’s rather inconsistent in how nasty he is. Sometimes he feels bad about it, sometimes he’s very unapologetic.

I’m going to leave this here, as I am off work with a cold today and am getting to the point where I want to take another nap. See you all later!

~ Emily

31 thoughts on “#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 01 June, 2016

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    While it may be an unpopular opinion, I don’t think you’re wrong about AGOS. I did feel it suffered from middle book syndrome in that there was a lot of time spent mulling over the consequences of what happened in book 1, rather than moving the story forward. However, thankfully the second half picked up the pace. You do get the nagging feeling we’re just treading water waiting for truly amazing stuff to happen in book 3 though.

    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/06/01/www-wednesday-1st-june-2016/

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I’ve just passed the part where the Night Spire has returned to the city and Kell has found out that Lila is back. I hope it picks up once the games start! Not that it’s been bad, but y’know.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      That’s exactly how I’m feeling. I’ve reached 66% today, and the tournament is only just starting. It’s very long for a middle book with not much happening!

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      He’s not exactly the antagonist – I think that title would fall to the King himself. I am yet to really pin down whether Eli is completely on the King’s side or subtly working against him and happy to join others who are against him.

      Like

  2. Eden says:

    I don’t know… having Eli be somewhat inconsistent (or SEEMING to be inconsistent) in his evil could spark some fun ways of interpreting his character. If she seems inconsistently remorseful and then not, but actually is (only be some weird calculation only he knows related to the date of his brother’s death when he accidental spilled too much of that powder on the alchemy table and his father burned his hand and then blamed his brother but Eli was too scared to admit it was actually HIS fault so his brother got mad at him and Dan and ran away and was sold to a circus…)

    Well, you get my point. His inconsistencies could easily be made into deeper character development.

    Sorry about the Kindle. I’ve not gotten one yet, but I know a lot of people who love theirs.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I think there might be a little bit of that going on. My main problem is that even I am not sure whose side he’s on. In my outline, he was definitely the King’s minion and would do whatever the King told him to and often relish in it, but his arc has diverged from the outline quite a lot and now I have no idea.

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Yup. Several brands of Not Okay. Though I have a sneaking suspicion that when everything comes to a head at the end, his excuse is going to be “just following orders”. Also Not Okay. Princess Adelyn is not going to buy that.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. S B Williams says:

    I was super sad when my kindle blacked out on me too. I had it for 2 years. I still haven’t been able to cough up enough to buy another, but I swear I will over this summer. They’re only $50 bucks geez (kindle fires) They were like $150 when I first got mine like 4.5 years ago. So I have no excuse. Except bills LOL. And coffee. And whatever stuff my daughter needs…
    I posted a WWW post yey! As I have probably mentioned before, I don’t read particularly fast, so I’m going to start compiling stuff into one post once a month. https://authorswilliams.wordpress.com/2016/06/01/www-wednesday-may-round-up/

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I kind of want one of the fancy new model ones that has the ergonomic page turn buttons, mostly because the one I’ve got was Kindle Keyboard so I’m not used to touch screen, but I don’t think I can justify an extra $150 or so just for page turn buttons. It is crazy how much and how quickly the prices come down for things like that!

      Liked by 1 person

      • shanjeniah says:

        Emily,

        My daughter and I both upgraded to the new 7″ Fire tablets last winter, and haven’t regretted it. We got them without ads for under $75 USD, and they’re so worth it. They’re sized more like a paperback book, and are great for browsing, music, and videos, too.

        I grieve with you for the death of your friend. My daughter’s original had hard use, and is just now dying after 3.5 years or so. Mine was better kept (I’m not a preteen!) and was passed on to a friend.

        I think I’m in favor of an Eli who is all over the map with the regret thing. Maybe he’s also kind of a slob who just wanders off in the middle of things….you know, a bit disordered in everything he does.

        Or not.

        I guess we’ll eventually find out.

        Hope you’re feeling better!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. S B Williams says:

    Question, you’ve been utilizing Net Galley fora while right? So have you ever had ARCs with weird formatting problems?? The ARC I read recently had absolutely no spaces between POV which bugged me to no end. There were other formatting problems as well….wondering if it’s an ARC consistent thing??

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I’ve had the account for a while, but I’ve probably only actually read maybe 8 or 10 ARCs. The only one that comes to mind as having any problems was one with a lot of graphics in it. They didn’t display well, but apart from that, I don’t remember having any issues myself.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. S B Williams says:

    Also have you tried factory resetting your kindle? mine just up and blacked out and the battery replacement cost more than a new kindle so. But yours is pretty old. Still, worth a try??

    Like

  6. Sam says:

    Sorry that A Gathering of Shadows isn’t developing as fast as you’d like. I felt the first book was a bit slow, too. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. ceeleeolson says:

    I’m sorry to hear that your kindle is dying. I second the recommendation for a fire – as soon as my nook goes, that’s what I’m going to try to get 🙂

    Eli is just… ew. The inconsistency might work, because I’m sure that even some bad guys have lines they don’t like to cross, but that doesn’t make him any nicer.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

