The “I Messed Up” book tag

During the last semester, I’ve been saving the URLs of book tags that I’ve seen blogging friends do, with the intention to follow suit as soon as I had free time. Well, that  free time is now, so I’m getting onto the first one. This is the “I Messed Up” book tag, which I found on the Mud and Stars Book Blog aaaaaaaaaaages ago (in fact, it was posted in March). I confess to having to own up to a lot of these!

A character appearance that you misread or imagined differently:

Artemis Fowl from the series of the same name by Eoin Colfer. Basically in my head he’s a Draco Malfoy lookalike, because when we first meet him, he’s a twelve-year-old with a very high opinion of himself, and when the shoe fits, as they say… Despite knowing that he’s always described as “raven-haired” and is supposed to look more like this, I can’t get this picture out of my head.

A character name that you’ve been pronouncing wrong:

I’m trying to think of one other than Hermione Granger, but she’s the only one who comes to mind. In spite of the pronunciation lesson she gives Viktor Krum in the fourth book, I was still saying “Hermi-own” even though I knew it was wrong. I think the closest I got was “Her-me-OH-nee”. It was only when the first movie came out that I learned how to say it properly.

An overused trope that is your guilty pleasure:

While I am not a fan of love triangles, I really do enjoy hate-at-first-sight romance arcs. I love seeing characters begrudgingly forced together and then having to overcome their differences and eventually fall in love.

A cliché character type that you like better on screen than reading about:

I was going to say the “brooding yet sexy hero” because at least if it’s on screen you have the actual eye-candy there, but actually I think even that I hold to a certain standard of writing as well, even for TV/movies. I’m not sure there are really any that I would take on screen over reading if they weren’t written well enough for me to get into it.

A word/phrase you learned because of its use in a book:

I know there must be plenty, but there’s only one coming to mind right now because it was a recent one. In The Last Days of Magic by Mark Tompkins, he refers to the “Hebrew Bible” at one point. I raised an eyebrow, thinking this was a lazy author who couldn’t be bothered looking up the correct names for Jewish holy texts which have nothing to do with the Bible. However, Wikipedia (via Google) informed me that this is in fact a word used by theology scholars.

Have you ever not read or completed a required reading book for school?:

Haha, yes! I’m sure there are plenty but James Joyce’s Portrait of the Artist as a Young Man and Sally Young’s My Place come to mind. They were for the same course and I had several other texts to read as well. If I had had more time, I might have got through them.

Have you ever (or wanted to) skipped a chapter from the point of view of a character you weren’t interested in?:

Not that I can think of, but I’m sure if I read the Game of Thrones books this would happen a lot.

Have you ever cancelled social plans to read a book? ]

I don’t think I’ve ever gone so far as bailing so I could read, but I have declined short-notice invitations to things because I had already decided that night was a reading night. I’ve done it for writing as well. Don’t tell my friends, though; I usually say I’ve got a headache or something! (I am an awful person).

As usual, I’m not going to tag anyone to do this, but please feel free to pinch it if you are so inclined!


P.S. Don’t forget to enter the giveaway for one of two signed paperbacks of A More Complicated Fairytale.

One thought on “The “I Messed Up” book tag

  1. mudandstars says:

    I also pronounced Hermione as Hermi-own for aaaages, even when I knew I was saying it wrong. And don’t worry, I use that headache excuse too, for both reading and writing. “I’m just sooo exhausted” is a good one too. I think I may also be awful person?! 🙂 I enjoyed reading your answers!

    Like

Talk to me! :)

