“Dream me the world, something new for every night” // Review of The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

Title: The Dream Thieves
Author: Maggie Stiefvater
Genre:
YA/Fantasy
Date Read: 15/04/2016 – 18/04/2016
Rating: ★★★★

Review:

dreamthievescoverI’m fairly sure that my reactions to parts of this book are basically what people are talking about when they talk about being drunk on writing. I wanted to soak up this book in one sitting, though sadly, real life got in the way of that. There were parts of this book that I thought were worthy of five stars, though sadly, there were other parts that brought me back down again. Having said all that, it proved to me that I had clearly been in the wrong mood for the first book, which I enjoyed, but had nothing like this reaction to. I was trying to read it over Christmas, though, and that’s hardly the time for really absorbing something. You can read my review of the first book here.

I couldn’t say a lot actually happens in The Dream Thieves. It’s more dealing with the fallout from the first book. The most substantial part of the plot focuses on Ronan, as it explores his talent for taking things from his dreams in more detail. There is also some relationship stuff, which I would hesitate to label “romance” just because of the nature of it all, but it does fall under that category.

It was definitely interesting learning more about Ronan, and there were parts where I was really on his side, but then other scenes took him too far away from the point where I could really connect or sympathise with him anymore; sometimes he was just too destructive. My favourite scenes actually didn’t involve him at all.

I finished this book on a Monday and was dying for it to be Wednesday and pay day so I could buy the next book. To be honest, it’s been a little while since I got that involved in a book. I’m so glad I didn’t write this series off after only mildly enjoying the first book.

3 thoughts on ““Dream me the world, something new for every night” // Review of The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater

    • Emily Witt says:

      Part of me would like to read her other books, but I’m in two minds about it, as I assume that Shiver is werewolf-based and werewolves just don’t do it for me at all.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

