#WIPpet and #WWW Wednesday – 23 March, 2016

smileyI didn’t actually intend to participate in WIPpet Wednesday this week, as I was not really sure I knew what I was writing at the moment. Over the past several weeks (for most of this year, actually), I’ve been really struggling with my writing. My weekday goal is 200 words (I give myself weekends off unless I’m feeling inspired) and that was often a struggle. I don’t like trying to force the words out, so I was sort of rolling with it, but after a while, non-writing also gets to me, because I have a lot of words in my head, and if I’m not doing something to channel them out, it starts getting cramped in there. But with the release of A More Complicated Fairytale looming, I thought I would look over my 2013 NaNoWriMo project, the sequel, An Eventual Happily Ever After. And on seeing that there was some good stuff in there, I thought perhaps I should revisit that, rather than stressing about Worlds Apart. Tonight I met with my writing group, and figured I would try rejigging the opening. Two hours and 1100 words later…! So I’m feeling pretty good and wanted to share some.

I’m sharing five sentences today, as it’s the 23rd and 2+3=5. These are the very first sentences of the new opening.

“You look morose.”

“I am morose.”

“And why’s that?”

Ginny looked up at the knight who had made his way to stand next to her. “Because, Sir Aidan, I am being courted.”

For a bit of context, Ginny is the sister of Cait, the heroine in A More Complicated Fairytale. Sir Aidan is the Captain of Prince Felipe’s guard. He fought in the war with Prince Felipe, though he doesn’t actually feature in that story. He’s a fair bit older than Ginny, but they’re bros. His character is ever-so-slightly based on Ewan McGregor’s character in Jack the Giant Slayer, whom I firmly believe deserved the princess more than Jack. Not that I actually ever changed the situation with Sir Aidan.

I am rambling now. Enough of that. If you are interested in joining us for WIPpet Wednesday, just post an excerpt from your WIP that somehow relates to the date, and then link up with us by clicking on the little blue guy to the right.

Onto WWW Wednesday, another blog hop in which we answer three questions relating to what we’re reading. This one is hosted by Sam over at A World of Words. To join in, go to today’s post on her blog and leave a comment with your link.
wwwwednesday

  • What are you currently reading?

    Still reading A Chameleon in a Mirror by Ruth Nestvold. I’m really enjoying learning about Aphra Behn and the Restoration, as I have to admit that I knew very little about either. I expect to finish this over the Easter weekend.

  • What did you recently finish reading?

I finished two Doctor Who audios, The Blood Cell by James Goss and Apollo 23 by Justin Richards. I wasn’t terribly impressed by either of them. The Blood Cell’s plot was a bit meh, as was the Apollo 23 narrator.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Still planning on The Bloodshade Encounters/The Songspinner by K. C. Finn.

Anyhow, as I mentioned, I was out with my writing group tonight, so this post is going up later than usual. It’s time I hit the hay. Have a great Easter and I’ll see you all back here soon!

~ Emily

13 thoughts on “#WIPpet and #WWW Wednesday – 23 March, 2016

  1. S B Williams says:

    Aww, sorry you’re having trouble writing. Everyone gets like that. I hate forcing words out too. Inspiration is so much more fun. If you have a lot in your head that you need t o get out but it has nothing to do with your WIP, some things that work for me: character worksheets or fun questions to answer about your characters; writing poetry. (more like, free verse). Working on a different WIP is usually what helps the most. A more rough WIP draft. That’s just from my personal experience.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I haven’t actually listened to too many myself, though if you like the 12th Doctor, “Silhouette” was quite good. The narrator for that one (can’t remember his name… Dan Starky or something like that) was able to imitate Peter Capaldi’s accent near-perfectly. My favourite 11th Doctor book is “The Silent Stars Go By”, mostly because I’m a sucker for Christmas-themed books and this was better than some of the actual Christmas episodes, but I have no idea what the audio is like, as I read the physical book in that case.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sam says:

    Sorry to hear the Dr. Who audios didn’t impress. There’s always more, right? I hope so! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      There are SO MANY, haha! (I think they’re up to 58?) I’ve got another one from the library which is narrated by one of the actors from the show. I’ve listened to him reading another one and he really captures how the Doctor talks, so hopefully it will be an improvement.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ceeleeolson says:

    Oh, my God that snippet made me giggle, and I so needed a giggle today. Thank you 🙂

    I never got around to seeing Jack the Giant Slayer. I think I might have to now if Ewan Mcgregor is in it.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

