#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 09 March, 2016

 First up is is WWW Wednesday, a blog hop in which we answer questions about what we’ve been reading this past week. This is hosted by Sam over at A World of Words. You can join in by commenting on today’s post over on her blog.

  • wwwwednesdayWhat are you currently reading?

Life in Outer Space by Melissa Keil. I read her other novel, The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl (review here) last year and loved it. There are quite a few similarities between the two (the most obvious being that this has an MC who is an aspiring filmmaker, while Cinnamon Girl had an aspiring comic artist, and they’re both struggling to write), but her narrative voice is just so great, so I’m overlooking it. I think I’m finally out of my reading slump!

  • What did you recently finish reading?

I finished Seraphina by Rachel Hartman last night. I really enjoyed it! It had been too long since I read something with dragons. I would dearly love to read the second book, but I’ve had several people warn me that while they loved the first one, they found the second one severely disappointing. There are lots of GoodReads reviews to that effect, too, so I don’t want to risk it.

I also completed the audio book of Matthew Flinders’ Cat by Bryce Courtenay on my way to a meet-up with my writing group tonight. It’s not the sort of book I’d normally read, but I did enjoy it, in spite of some really tough subject matter at times. My mum is telling me I should read The Potato Factory and its sequels, also by Bryce Courtenay, but I haven’t quite decided yet whether or not I will. Humphrey Bower is a very good narrator, though, and he did all of Courtenay’s books, but to be honest this has has given me an urge to listen to his reading of the Chaos Walking series again.

I eventually gave up on Cogling by Jordan Elizabeth Mierek last week. It just got too boring. I also read a review that said there was a scene where one character was imprisoned and possibly being sexually assaulted, and their solution to that was not to take down the people doing the assaulting, but just swap out their friend with a homeless girl no one would miss. I’m sure the homeless girl really appreciated that.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I haven’t decided yet, but I have a few books to choose from. To be honest, I should be putting reading on the backburner for a bit while I start on my uni work. Semester started on Feb 15, and I have my first assignment due March 16… do you think I’ve done any work yet? This is the one disadvantage to studying online/via correspondence.

wednesdaybannerNext up is WIPpet Wednesday, a blog hop we writer types do each week, in which we share snippets from our WIP that somehow relate to the date. You can find our linkup by clicking the little blue guy to the right. Please feel free to join in! Today is the ninth of March, so I’m sharing nine sentences. This follows on from last week’s scene. Jasper Cortain and his wife have been brought to the Palace to be quizzed about the Princess’ whereabouts by the Captain of the Guard.

Two of the guards pushed the doors open and led the way into the room beyond. The room had no windows and Jasper started when he realised the room was lit by a glowing orb floating at about eye-level at the back of the room. He may have suspected the use of magic in the palace, but it was still a surprise to witness it. Below the orb was a desk, and a man in red robes behind it. His had his fingers linked together and was resting his chin on them, watching as the guards parted to give him a view of Jasper and Helena.

“Gentlemen,” he said, addressing the guards. “What have you brought me?”

“Witnesses saw the princess being led to this man’s house,” said the guard who had first spoken to Jasper at his front gate. “He’s as much as confessed to being a
magician on the way here.”

“Did he indeed?”

 The Captain’s name is Eli Masden, and you met him back in December. He’s the psychopath I mentioned last week, though in some of his scenes he has tried to convince me that he’s really a sympathetic character underneath it all. I don’t trust him at all.

I’m going to love and leave you all now. As I mentioned above, I had a meet-up with my writing group tonight, which means time has got away from me, and I should be heading to bed pretty soon. See you all later!

~ Emily

13 thoughts on “#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 09 March, 2016

  1. Lindsay | Bookboodle says:

    Good luck with your uni assignment! My daughter is in the final stages so our house is quite stress-filled at times and other things do have to take a back seat…at least it’s temporary!
    Here’s my WWW – bookboodle.co.uk/2016/03/09/www-wednesday-march-9th

    Like

  2. Yvo says:

    Good to hear you’re over your reading slump! I have been wanting to read Seraphina for a long time now, especially since I love stories about dragons. Hopefully soon! I hope you will enjoy your books this week.

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Like

  3. AM says:

    I definitely don’t envy Jasper the position he’s found himself in. I don’t have a food feeling about what’s going to happen to him.

    Like

  4. Fallon says:

    I have a feeling this won’t be too good for Jasper. And I’ve had some characters like Eli. They’re quite good at rationalizing all the bad things they do.

    Like

  5. Sam says:

    I’m doing my graduate school work online, too. It’s so hard to stay focused sometimes! The class I’m in now is draining my energy. I’m just trying to stay above water. Good luck to you! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

Talk to me! :)

