#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 2 March, 2016

Hey, guys! Hope you’re having a good week so far! I have to apologise once again for not getting around to many of your blogs last week. I don’t know how time keeps slipping by me!

First up is is WWW Wednesday, a blog hop in which we answer questions about what we’ve been reading this past week. This is hosted by Sam over at A World of Words. You can join in by commenting on today’s post over on her blog.

  • What are you currently reading?

wwwwednesdayI’m about 50% or so of the way through Cogling by Jordan Elizabeth Mierek. But, well, it’s so boring! It has such great reviews on GoodReads so I had really looked forward to it, too, but the main character is annoying and the world-building is very clumsy.

I have also started Seraphina by Rachel Hartman but I am contemplating placing a hold on the audio book instead, as it was recommended to me. Seraphina is a musician and apparently the music is really well incorporated into the audio book.

I’ve started listening to Matthew Flinders’ Cat by Bryce Courtenay. There’s some language in it that was acceptable in the 90s when it was written but isn’t really now, which makes me cringe. And while I’m sure it’s an accurate depiction of the homeless population of Sydney, every second word of dialogue being “fuck” and variations thereupon does wear thin after a while. But hearing things from a cat’s POV is very cute, so I’m holding out for the parts where Billy is recounting Trim’s life.

  • What did you recently finish reading?

I read Trim by Matthew Flinders, which is about the titular cat in the above book, and was very cute. Matthew Flinders is known for being the first to circumnavigate Australia, and Trim was his beloved ship’s cat. He wrote this little essay (it was really short) while he was in prison on Mauritius. The State Library of New South Wales has a quite a lot of Flinders’ papers, and there is a bronze statue of him on one of the outside windowsills. The cafe there is also called Cafe Trim. A doctor my dad sees quite regularly is on the same street as the library, so my parents eat there quite often. I’m actually thinking of getting my mum this book for Mother’s Day, as I asked her if she’d read it and she said no, but I think she would love it.

I ended up not finishing The Shadow Cabinet by Maureen Johnson, as the heroine’s stupidity outweighed my desire to know the ending. Also, the first book was all fun with murderous ghosts and then in the second book it became more about a weird cult and in the third book there’s all this Greek mythology and Celtic mythology or something and it just wasn’t the series it started out as.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

Since Seraphina is the last thing I have out of the library (apart from audio books), I’ll probably try to get to my own copies of Dear Fatty by Dawn French and Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn before I take anything else out. I mentioned them several posts ago as potential next reads, then all my holds came in at the library. I finally gave in an purchased the ebook of The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater, since my library doesn’t have it anymore but I want to continue the series, so that’ll also be sometime soon.

wednesdaybannerOnce again, not the greatest reading week! But I was able to keep a steady stream of writing up so it’s not all bad. Next up is WIPpet Wednesday, a blog hop we writer types do each week, in which we share snippets from our WIP that somehow relate to the date. You can find our linkup by clicking the little blue guy to the right. Today is the second day of the third month, so I’m sharing five paragraphs that follow on shortly after last week’s excerpt, where Jasper notices royal guards outside his house. He and his wife have both been arrested (his wife is for leverage). On their way to the palace to be confronted by the King (because the suspicion is that Jasper knows where the missing princess is), Helena tries to get Jasper to tell her where the hell their daughter is.

“Were you teaching her about magic? Is she in trouble?”

“She’s not in trouble. I’ve… sent her out of the Kingdom. Somewhere she won’t be bound by the King’s laws.”

“Magicians caught fleeing the country incur higher penalties than those who turn themselves in,” said a guard.

“I never said she was a magician,” Jasper replied. “And what could possibly be a higher penalty than death?”

“It’s not the death itself. It’s what comes before it.”

I discovered in writing later parts of this scene that the Captain of the Guard is really quite psychopathic and happy to leap straight to torture without any sort of middle-ground. That part is currently still in a handwritten state, I think when typing it up, he and I might have to have a chat about unnecessarily drastic measures.

I’m going to head off now and face the very unexciting prospect of cleaning my kitchen. I’ll try harder to get around to your blogs this week!

~ Emily

20 thoughts on “#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 2 March, 2016

  1. alilovesbooks says:

    It must be at least a decade since I’ve read a Bryce Courtenay. I remember enjoying it at the time but I do wonder what I’d think now. Sounds like you’re having a bit of a bad run of books at the moment so I hope your luck changes.

    Like

  2. Brigid Gorry-Hines says:

    Hope you enjoy the rest of Seraphina! I haven’t heard the audiobook, but that’s cool that it incorporates music since that’s such an important part of the story. Also I hope you like The Dream Thieves––I think that one’s my favorite of the series so far. 🙂

    Ooh, what an ominous snippet! Really love that last line.

    MY WIPpet

    Like

  3. Sam says:

    I hope you enjoy ‘Sharp Objects.’ It’s the only Flynn I have left to read and I’ve heard good things about it. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

  4. Beth says:

    Love the twist at the end of this snippet. But the first tickle came when Jasper tells Helena that he’s “sent” their daughter out of the country. The plot thickens! Are they truly in trouble, real trouble, or what will happen next to extricate them?

    Like

  5. shanjeniah says:

    I was having that not visiting problem at the end of last month, and it’s still taking me longer than I hoped to get round. Sometimes, life is that way….

    Love the tension and disparity in the dialogue here. Your Captain of the Guard does seem to have a bit too vested an interest in torture, at that.

    More, please! =D

    Like

Talk to me! :)

