#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 20 January, 2016

First of all, I’d just like to extend a warm welcome those people who stumbled across one or more of the eight book reviews I’ve posted in the last 14 days and thought that my blog might be worth following. It is unlikely I’ll be able to maintain four reviews a week, and it will probably drop back down to two in the coming weeks, but I hope you enjoy your stay.

Second, do any of you use Instagram for bookish things? After a period of sporadically posting pictures of books, I followed a whole bunch of accounts from hashtags like #bookstagram and #bookworm and now my account is full of really gorgeous book photos. Some people put a lot of time and effort into composing their photos, before they even hit the shutter button. I just tend to sit books on my sofa, take a photo and apply a filter that makes them look kind of shiny. But anyway, my account is over here and we should totally be friends there, too. I do take selfies, which I will warn of because selfies bother some people, but my account is mostly books and theatre tickets/programs.

Thirdly, I made a WIPpeteers Facebook group. This is the link. I think I’ve understood it correctly and you should be able to just click join, and then I can approve you (actually, I think anyone can approve you, which I am okay with ). And then posts will just be visible to members.

wednesdaybannerFor those who are new, WIPpet Wednesday is a blog hop in which writers post a snippet from their current WIP that somehow relates to the date. Follow the WIPpet Wednesday link to the right to join us. Today is the 20/1/16, so I’ve ignored the six and added the rest of the digits together, to give you four lines from Worlds Apart. Princess Adelyn is making a bolt for it, taking advantage of a gate with a rusted lock at the far end of the palace grounds. At least, she was sure it was rusted last time she was there, but it seems to have been replaced, so now she’s having to improvise.

She pulled a hairpin out of her hair. She had no idea how to pick a lock, but she knew it could be done from some of the novels she’d read. She didn’t even know what the inside of a lock looked like, but she supposed there was some part that had to click over into another part. Holding the lock in one hand, she stuck the hairpin through the keyhole with the other and jiggled it around for a little while. She could hear it knocking up against the inner workings of the lock, but it wasn’t making any difference. After another minute, she pulled it out again, frustrated.

I started Worlds Apart six weeks ago and I’ve just hit 10k this week. Which is not a huge total, but I’m writing pretty consistently, which is the aim. Slow and steady and all that.

Following on, we have WWW Wednesday, which is splendidly hosted by Sam over at A World of Words. To join in, simply answer the three questions and then hop on over to Sam’s post and share your link in the comments.

  • What are you currently reading?

I’ve actually made some progress on The Crash of Hennington! I’m still only at around 30%, and it’s probably still going to be the book I pick up in between other books, but I think the plot has finally started. I probably would have dropped it by now, but it’s Patrick Ness and I am enjoying the writing even if there are too many characters and the plot took a third of the book to arrive. I feel like it’s probably all going to come together right at the end.

I’ve also started The Book of Shades by K. C. Finn. It’s urban fantasy with a weird creepy illusion/circus/freak show type thing going on, so it’s right up my alley. Also, so far all the side characters are really well fleshed out, and the reviews I’ve read indicate it continues that way. I have very high hopes for this one.

  • What did you recently finish reading? wwwwednesday

I finished Mirrorfall by Grace McDermott yesterday. It was okay, though a friend had recommended it to me very highly. She did read it when it was a web serial, though, and I wonder if that made her more forgiving? It had quite a lot of typos, and there was very little character growth and characters who should have known better made some very poor decisions. I’m kind of tempted to read the second book, though, just because it sounds like they get called out on these really bad decisions. Like, career-and-possibly-life-threatening levels of called out.

My loan on Pennies for Hitler by Jackie French ran out, and I didn’t bother renewing. It was nice, but I wasn’t really interested in where the story was going.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I stopped in at the library yesterday because I’ve been reading ebooks for the last week or so and was craving a physical book. I was comparing my i-can-get-this-at-the-library shelf on GoodReads with the catalogue and picked up The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories by Angela Carter. I imagine it will be a bit different to the YA fairytale retellings I’m more used to, but I’ll give it a go anyway.

The Cardinal’s Blades by Pierre Pevel was on a display shelf that I passed, and upon reading the blurb, I decided it sounded fun. It’s 17th Century France, with dragons! I read Temeraire a couple of years ago, which was the Napoleonic Wars with Dragons, and quite enjoyed it, so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy this one, too.

And after scrolling mindlessly through the digital lending library I’m signed up to and not finding a single audio book I was interested in, I trawled through the shelves at the library and found Sense & Sensibility & Sea Monsters, which should be fun if nothing else. Though having not actually ever read Sense & Sensibility (I did re-watch the movie last week after the sad news about Alan Rickman), I wonder if may miss out on some of the humour.

That’s it from me today. Be sure to check out the other blogs in these two blog hops! I’ll see you soon!

~ Emily

17 thoughts on “#WWW and #WIPpet Wednesday – 20 January, 2016

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    Your snippet made me smile because that would so be me trying to pick a lock! 🙂 I’d be there, hunched down next to the door handle thinking, “Oh come on, how hard can it be. They always make it looks straightforward in movies.”
    I am off to investigate Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters right now. That title is terrific!
    Thanks for visiting my WWW (https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2016/01/20/www-wednesday-20th-january-2016/) and happy reading 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Right?! I would be exactly the same. I initially was going to have her be successful, but since a great deal of the plot revolves around her being clueless about simple things due to her princess-privilege, I realised she would never actually know how to pick a lock.

      There is also Pride & Prejudice & Zombies, the movie adaptation of which comes out quite soon (I just checked, and it is NEXT MONTH! I’d better get onto that). It has both Matt Smith and Lily James so I am all over it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sam says:

    Enjoy Sense & Sensibility & Sea Monsters. I read Sense & Sensibility last year and I enjoyed it enough though Austen’s writing is hard for me to get into. I also read Wuthering Bites last year and thought it was really fun to see Heathcliff as a vampire. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I really struggle to read most classics, but I’m hoping the added randomness of monsters will make it easier to get through, even though I gather there are quite a few in-jokes for those who have read the original.

      Like

  3. alilovesbooks says:

    I do like the sound of Sense and Sensibility and Sea Monsters. I love a classic with a twist so will need to go investigate.

    Love the snippet. Your lock picker had more success than me. On my one attempt to break into secure box at work (no comment), in addition to failing miserably at opening the thing, I actually managed to get the bit of wire I used stuck in the lock. Admitting that to my supervisor was just a little embarrassing 🙂 These things are never as easy as they look.

    Like

  4. patgarcia says:

    Hi Emily,
    Your books are new to me. I haven’t read any of them.
    I laughed at your WIPpet with her picking the lock. Very good description. I actually learned how to do that when I was a kid, but I don’t believe I could still do it these days. Locks have changed so much..
    Shalom,
    Patricia

    Like

  5. wanderingsandwonderings says:

    1. I have followed you on Instagram (I’m WanderingsandWondering). I mostly post travel/general life stuff but I’m trying to get into book posts!
    2. I have joined the WIPpeteers FB group! Thanks for making it 😀
    3. Intriguing snippet – I wonder why she wants to pass through the gate…
    4. Good work on the 10,000 words! I hope you continue to be so productive! 😀

    Like

  6. Fallon says:

    Love the snippet. That would be me too. In fact, it was once. My son (he was maybe 2) locked or bedroom door and closed it(he want inside the room at the time, at least). No idea where the key was for it, so tried to find another way to unlock it. When I couldn’t, I ended up going outside and climbed through the window to get into the bedroom. After that we ended up changing the door knob and keeping the key where we knew it was.

    Like

  7. ceeleeolson says:

    Eight reviews? You’ve been busy!

    I loved the snippet. They always make lock picking out to be so easy in books and film, but it never really is. Unless you’re dealing with the locks on those cheap little diaries I loved to buy as a kid.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

