2015: A Year in Books

I was going to do a nice retrospective blog post today, but time got away. It’s already 8:35pm, and I’m generally not one for staying up and seeing in the New Year, so I’ll be going to bed at my usual time. However, in various places on the Internet, I found a couple of fun year-in-review bookish memes, so I thought I’d do them myself and post them here to cap off 2015. You can also see my GoodReads 2015 Year in Books.

Meme 1:
+ Books read: 75/52 – smashed my goal!

+ The first 5 books that I read this year:

  • Who Censored Roger Rabbit? by Gary Wolf
  • A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond
  • Everything I Know About Christmas I Learned From A Little Golden Book by Diane Muldrow
  • The Giver by Lois Lowry,
  • Imminent Danger and How To Fly Straight Into It by Michelle Proulx
    • (plus the short story, The Dagger in the Desk by Jonathan Stroud)

+ The last 5 books that I read this year:

  • The Magician’s Nephew by C. S. Lewis
  • The Bugalugs Bum Thief by Tim Winton
  • The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
  • Melophobia by James Morris
  • Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness
    • (plus the three Chaos Walking short stories by Patrick Ness)

+ My top 10 books this year (in no particular order):

  • The Chaos Walking trilogy by Patrick Ness
  • The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker
  • The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil
  • A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab
  • The Madman’s Daughter trilogy by Megan Shepherd
  • Grounded: The Adventures of Rapunzel by Megan Morrison
  • A Bear Called Paddington by Michael Bond
  • The Viper and the Urchin by Celine Jeanjean
  • Doctor Who: Silhouette by Justin Richards
  • The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

 

+ Which book surprised you the most in a good way?
Both The Golem and the Djinni and A Darker Shade of Magic took a little while to get into, but were both books I didn’t want to end by the time I reached the final pages. Also, I had no idea I would love The Viper and the Urchin as much as I did.

+ Any books that made a really big impression on you and that you think you will carry with you for a good while?
Chaos Walking actually ruined me for other books for a good couple of weeks after finishing. I was so emotionally invested in them, and they were just so different to everything else.

+ Any passage/quote you want to share?
“It’s not that you should never love something so much that it can control you.
It’s that you need to love something that much so you can never be controlled.
It’s not a weakness.
It’s your best strength.”
– Patrick Ness, The Ask and the Answer

+ Finally, my top 10 5* favorite book covers of the year in no particular order:
1. The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness
2. Winter by Marissa Meyer
3. The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil
4. A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab
5. Her Dark Curiosity (Madman’s Daughter #2) by Megan Shepherd
*honestly, I didn’t read too many with covers that really wowed me this year.

Meme 2:

Finish each of the sentences only with titles of books you read this year:

My family reunions are: The Beast’s Garden (Kate Forsyth)
At a party you’d find me with: The Girl who Ignored Ghosts (K. C. Tansley)
I’ve never been to: The Darkest Part of the Forest (Holly Black)
A happy day includes: A Bear Called Paddington (Michael Bond)
Motto I live by: Everything I need to know about Christmas, I learned from a Little Golden Book (Diane Muldrow)
On my bucket list is: Playing Beatie Bow (Ruth Park)
In my next life, I want to have: The Amazing Adventures of Acacia Carlisle (Cate Morgan)
In high school I was: Balanced on a Blade’s Edge (Lindsay Buroker)
People might be surprised: The Amazing Book is Not on Fire (Dan Howell and Phil Lester)
I will never be: The Madman’s Daughter (Megan Shepherd)
My fantasy job is: Fangirl (Rainbow Rowell)
At the end of a long day I need: Bitter Greens (Kate Forsyth)
I hate it when: A Monster Calls (Patrick Ness)
I Wish I had: The Knife of Never Letting Go (Patrick Ness)

Here’s hoping I manage at least the same number of books in 2016! I’m looking forward to it. 😀

5 thoughts on “2015: A Year in Books

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    I was obsessed with Paddington when I was little. I had all the books, the toys etc. and I’ve kept them for my son (lord help him if he doesn’t like Paddington!). I haven’t seen the movie yet, but I hear good things 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I adored the movie! I wasn’t entirely sure how it’d be, since I knew they’d need to up the scale of mischief that he gets into, and I wasn’t sure how it would translate. But it’s wonderful. I remember getting into Paddington station from Heathrow on my first trip to the UK and just wanting to buy out the entire Paddington Bear shop.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

