#WWW Wednesday – 16 December 2015

Happy hump day! I don’t know about the rest of you, but this is my last week of work before the holidays! And tomorrow, we have our branch Christmas party, which will take up half the day. And on Friday, I’ll be home in the morning waiting for the repairman to come and look at my dishwasher and hopefully fix it, so I’ll only be working half a day Friday as well. So I’ve really only got the equivalent of one day left. Wheeee! I’m really looking forward to the time off. I was so busy for the last week or so that I actually ended up running myself down and getting sick, so I had yesterday at home to recover. I spent it mostly asleep. It was good.

First off today, we have WWW Wednesday, a weekly blog hop hosted by Sam over at A World of Words, in which we answer three questions about the books we’ve been reading this week. Click the link to share your own post.

wwwwednesday

  • What are you currently reading?

The Crash of Hennington by Patrick Ness. After all the raving I’ve been doing about him the last few weeks, you’d not be surprised that I don’t want to say anything bad about his work, but this is his first novel… and it kind of shows. I can see all the things that will eventually become his trademarks, but he just hasn’t hit the right mark with it all yet. One of the POV characters is a rhinoceros. And I have no clue about the setting? Having said all that, I’m only about 15% of the way in, so maybe it’ll get better.

Also, The Magician’s Nephew by C. S. Lewis. I’m listening to the audio book read by Kenneth Branagh, whom I love to make fun of, but secretly kind of really love? I figured I’d maybe finally get around to the Narnia books if I listened to them. This one is only 4 hours long and I really should have finished it by now, by I haven’t put it on my phone yet, so I’ve only been listening to it in the car so far. And I kind of misplaced the discs after listening to it on Friday.

  • What did you recently finish reading?

I didn’t actually finish anything this week, though I did eventually go ahead and DNF The Invisible Library. It just wasn’t doing it for me. I’m going to have to track down some of the other magical library books I have on my TBR.

Two reviews also went up this week, for A Monster Calls and The Knife of Never Letting Go, both by Patrick Ness.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m fairly sure More Than This will be available for me tomorrow, so I’ll probably get straight onto listening to that (maybe try to finish Magician’s Nephew first), then The Stupidest Angel: A Heartwarming Tale of Christmas Terror will probably be my driving home audio next week.

I was going to do a WIPpet Wednesday this week, too, except I’ve got to this point in the post and I’m completely exhausted (and it’s only 8:30pm; I’m such an old person). I have a feeling it’s going to be an early night tonight. I can’t wait for the holidays.

I’ll catch up with you guys soon. 🙂

~ Emily

10 thoughts on “#WWW Wednesday – 16 December 2015

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    I would listen to any book narrated by Sir Ken – a top gent 🙂 And I could imagine his voice suited Lewis quite well…
    I have The Crane Wife by Patrick Ness from the library – won’t get to it for a couple of weeks, but looking forward to reading something non-YA from Ness. I don’t believe it features anything from the POV of a rhino thought (not sure whether that’s a relief or slightly disappointing!) and he did write it 10 years after Hennington so perhaps I can expect it to be better?
    I thought More Than This was good. The problem I have now is that after A Monster Calls and Chaos Walking, I’ve found everything else by Ness good, but not extraordinary. A victim of his own high standards!
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/12/16/www-wednesday-16th-december-2015/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Yvo says:

    I really want to read another Patrick Ness novel soon; I really love his writing so far! And it has been ages since I last read Narnia… Maybe I will do a reread some time soon.

    Happy Wednesday! Here’s my WWW.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

