#WWW Wednesday – 02 December, 2015

No, but really, how is it December already? I feel like this is all I keep saying lately, but I seriously don’t know where the time is going.

I have decided that I’m going to take another break from WIPpet Wednesday, since a) I’m planning at the moment and b) I’m being so completely dismal at visiting other people’s blogs, and I’m just going to stick with WWW Wednesday until the new year probably. WWW Wednesday is hosted by Sam over at A World of Words. You can join in over there by leaving a link to your own WWW Wednesday on today’s post. All you need to do is answer the three questions.

  • What are you currently reading?

I’m listening to Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness, which is the third in the Chaos Walking trilogy. I’m going to be at a serious loss when I finish this series.

I’ve actually ordered the books for my nephew for Christmas, mainly because I know he liked the Hunger Games, so I’m hoping that means he likes dystopian YA in general? (I’m so out of touch with 17-year-old male video gamers). And also, I’m tired of always just giving him gift vouchers to the local games store. And also, it sounds like that’s what my mum is giving him this year, so I’m glad I thought of something else.

wwwwednesday

I’m also reading the print copy of The Rest of Us Just Live Here, also by Patrick Ness. I actually started the audio of it before The Knife of Never Letter Go, but I wasn’t getting into it as much. I’m liking it much better in print. It’s also a very quick read, and a clever idea. Because of the audio for Chaos Walking, though, I am hearing this narrator in Todd’s voice.

 

  • What did you recently finish reading?

I finished listening to The Ask and the Answer, the second Chaos Walking book, just this afternoon. It was very long and sometimes (often) repetitive, but there was amazing character development. Todd and Viola are two of my favourite characters in any of the books I’ve read this year. As I said in my GoodReads review, I want to take them both and wrap them in warm blankets and put them somewhere safe. And probably get them a therapist each.

I also finished The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth last week. It was all right. I enjoyed it but I was never especially invested. I wish I had known before reading the author’s note at the end that a lot of the characters were real historical figures because I think that would have really added something.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

MOAR PATRICK NESS! Most likely. Though it seems all that’s left is the Chaos Walking short stories, The Crane Wife and More Than This. And the Doctor Who short story he wrote for the 5oth Anniversary. I only read about half of them at the time so I may or may not have already read it. My LiveJournal friends did give me some recommendations for Christmas reading, so I’ll probably track a few of those down as well.

8 thoughts on “#WWW Wednesday – 02 December, 2015

      • Claire | Art and Soul says:

        I know what you mean. I’m not sure I’d want anyone under fifteen to read these books, but then maybe I’m over-sensitive 🙂
        Strangely, I found what happened to the animals the most distressing. First Manchee and then the poor horses in the final book 😦 Boy colt 😦

        Like

      • Emily Witt says:

        My nephew’s 17 (there’s only 9 years between us), so he should be right with it, I think. I don’t blame you fo being so upset about the animals; I’m still pretty upset about Manchee, even though I called it really early on because he just struck me as one of those dog characters.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Yvo says:

    I need to get a copy of The Ask And The Answer and Monsters Of Men ASAP! I really enjoyed the first book and I want to continue the series. Also, I need to read his other books soon as well. 😀

    Happy Wednesday! Here’s my WWW.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

