Book Tag: Confessions of a Writer

Some weeks ago, I was tagged by Claire Huston for the Confessions of a Writer tag, but I’m only just getting around to doing it now.

confessions

The Confessions of a Writer Tag was created by Nicolette at A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly. It is a ‘get-to-know’ the writer interview tag, dedicated to spotlighting the creative process, works in progress, and connecting to other writers.

Rules of the Tag:

  • Please link back to A Little Bookish, A Little Writerly’s post, so that the original rules are always accessible to anyone who is curious and wants to participate!
  • Acknowledge the person who tagged you in your post.
  • Tag your friends and fellow writers – it’s up to you how many!

1. When did you first start writing? Was being a writer something you always aspired to be?

Pretty much. I remember writing stories in early primary school, and my Year 5 teacher was really impressed with a 20-page script I wrote (admittedly, that was 20 double-spaced pages in 10-year-old handwriting, but still!) The script was actually a sequel to the movie Ever After, which is still one of my favourite movies, and I actually wrote a lot of what I now know as fan fiction before I ever had Internet access. I also wrote a very long fantasy story where my group of friends and I were the main characters. Except one of my friends was also called Emily, and that confusing and annoying very quickly.

2. What genre do you write?

Ha. That’s a very good question. I guess romance is the running theme throughout all of my work, but I’ve written historical fiction, I’ve written urban fantasy. My next WIP is going to be LGBQT fantasy. You can’t put me in a box.

3. Can you tell us a little about your current work in progress? When did you start working on this project?

 As I announced in Wednesday’s post, I’ve just finished the first draft of my modern day re-telling of The Nutcracker.  I still need to work out exactly how it concludes, and a few other things, but I’m leaving that for the second draft. I actually started this about halfway through 2013, got stuck at the start of 2014 and then ignored it for over a year. It’s only since about August this year that I’ve returned to it. And the fact that I could figure out the issues that long after abandoning it makes me hopeful for other projects I get stuck on.

4. What was your first piece that you can remember writing? What was it about?

nicubunu-RPG-map-symbols-Circus-Tent-300pxI know when I was 7 we were given a task where we had to write a story about what job we’d have in a circus. I basically decided I would be ALL THE THINGS (lion tamer, acrobat, clown, trapeze artist and ringmaster).

5. What’s the best part about writing?

Seeing where the characters take you. When the words are just pouring out of you.

6. What’s the worst part about writing?

The insecurity and angst.

7.  What’s the name of your favorite character and why? (This can be from a book by another author or from your own work. Book crushes are perfectly acceptable here as well.)

I’m going to go with my own work here, because otherwise I’d never narrow it down. Cait and Felipe, my two leads from A More Complicated Fairytale, are my favourites. There’s so much going on around them, but they deal with (all right, Felipe doesn’t deal with it quite so well, but that’s part of the story), and they have to fight to be together. There’s a lot more emotion in this story than something like Operation Sugarplum, just because of the way the relationship between these two develops. (O:S is also a lot shorter, so there’s that).

8. How much time a day/week do you get to write? When is the best time for you to write (morning or night)?

I’m only just starting to develop really good writing-every-day habits. I’ve been trying to write in the mornings, but I’m pretty groggy then. I can usually get a few hundred words down on my lunch break. That’s been working well for the last few months.

9. What bothers you more: spelling errors, punctuation errors, or grammar errors?

Honestly, unless they’re really glaring, I tend to read straight over them. Spelling errors are probably what I’m mostly likely to notice.

10. What is the best writing advice that anyone has given you?

“You have to write the book that wants to be written. And if the book will be too difficult for grown-ups, then you write it for children.”- Madeleine L’Engle.

Not that I actually write for children, but I love this quote. And I couldn’t really think of any one piece of advice that stood out as best.

11. What advice would you give to another writer?

Don’t try to put your writing in a box. Write the story that needs to be written.

12. What are your favorite writing sites or blogs that you turn to for help, tips or encouragement?

Even when I’m not participating, the NaNoWriMo forums are actually a great place to go for support and encouragement.

13. Besides writing, what else do you enjoy doing? What are your hobbies?

11407273_10206400098658741_2755319949926169426_nI sing in a choir and I love to do plays and musicals. I don’t think it’s a coincidence that my two favourite hobbies are writing and acting, things that allow me to explore other lives and get into characters’ heads. The photo on the left is of me in my Cockney flower girl costume in a production of My Fair Lady earlier this yea.

14. What is the best book you’ve read this year?

I’ve read a lot of really great books this year, but I’ll say The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker because it’s still in my head nearly a week later.

15. What is the best movie you’ve seen this year?

Pixar’s Inside Out.

16.What is your favorite book or series of all time?

I don’t actually have one. Honestly.

17. Who is your favorite author?

Jonathan Stroud.

18. What are your plans for the rest of the year in terms of your writing

I’m currently using the Snowflake Method (sort of) to outline a new WIP. I’ve already gone off on my own tack at around Step 4, but if it works for me…!

19. Where else can we find you online?

Twitter. Facebook. GoodReads. LiveJournal.

I know I’m supposed to be tagging people, but I’d really like to get this posted tonight, and I have to go off to choir practice very soon. As such, I don’t have time to go through my follow list and find people to tag and do the link-to-their-post-so-they-know-about-it thing. So let’s just say, if you would like to do this, consider yourself tagged!

~ Emily

One thought on “Book Tag: Confessions of a Writer

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    I’m so glad you could do this tag 🙂
    Great answers. I love the story of the circus with you in all the jobs. Ambitious!
    I still have to see Inside Out. It’s so hard to get to the cinema now I have a toddler. Unfortunately I think I’ll have to wait and see it on DVD, although things are never the same on tv as they are on the big screen. I love all things Pixar. They tell good stories.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

