#WIPpet Wednesday and #WWW Wednesday – 18 November, 2015

So I’m pretty sure I fixed the WIPpet Wednesday linky so it’ll all be all right. The advantage of living where I do is that I’ll probably be the first one to try using it, so I should know if anything goes wrong.

I officially declared the first draft of Operation: Sugarplum completed on Monday. It’s actually not entirely finished, but I was getting sick of trying to join up the bits of the ending that I had written, so I’m going to fix it later. I’m still going to use it for the next couple of WIPpets though, as I’m actually… planning my next WIP. I know, I know. Calm yourselves. I started out using the Snowflake Method, though I’m only up to Step 4 and have already broken some of the rules. It’s fine, though. It’s more planning than I’ve ever done before. Which is good. You have actually read a couple of bits from it under this category, but those two bits don’t actually exist anymore.

wednesdaybannerAnyway. You’ll hear more of that in coming weeks. For WIPpet Wednesday this week, I have added the 1 and the 8 of the 18th together and have 9 paragraphs. This is not long after last week’s excerpt; Max is persuading Clara she needs to go back to her house. The house that is full of Creelans. For extra context, Creela and Max’s country, Thelidon, have been at war for years, and Max, as the magical heir to the throne, is expected to deal with them .

“They’re not going to go away of their own free will. I’m going to have to deal with them somehow.” He looked over at Clara. “I could use your help.”

Clara shrugged. “Okay, fine.”

Max turned into a side street and used someone’s driveway to turn around. He started heading back towards Clara’s house. Clara felt her stomach knotting up the closer they got. Max parked the car around the corner from the house, and then turned to Clara again.

“Don’t do anything crazy. Try to keep the King distracted, at least, while I get inside.”

“Once you start killing off his minions, he’s not going to listen to me for much longer.”

“I know. But we’ll cross that bridge when it comes.”

“I love a man with a plan,” said Clara sarcastically.

“You’ll be fine. Just be careful.” Max leaned over and gave her a quick kiss. “Okay, go. I’ll follow in a few minutes.”

Clara sighed, and got out of the car. She gave Max a small wave and then turned to walk towards her street. A few minutes later, she found herself approaching her house with a growing sense of dread for the second time that night.

To join in on WIPpet Wednesday, simply post an excerpt from your WIP that somehow relates to the date, and then join up with us via the linky at the top-right of my blog.

Next up is WWW Wednesday, which is hosted by Sam over at A World of Words. You can join in over there by leaving a link to your own WWW Wednesday on today’s post. All you need to do is answer the three questions.

wwwwednesday

  • What are you currently reading?

The Beast’s Garden by Kate Forsyth. This is historical fiction, set in Nazi Germany, but also a retelling of the Beauty and the Beast variation, The Singing Springing Lark. I’m only a few chapters in, but I have high hopes.

I’m also listening to Looking for Alibrandi, which is a classic Australian YA that I never read as a teenager. It’s very 90s, but I’m not minding that. I am enjoying that the narrator ends half her sentences with an upper inflection. It makes her sound like such an Australian teen. (Adam Hills has an amusing routine about how we go up at the ends of our sentences).

  • What did you recently finish reading?

I finished Winter and the damn book made me cry. I loved seeing the final journey for these characters, though it always hard to let a series go when you’ve been enjoying it. I would really like for Marissa Meyer to write a new series that is about Cress and Thorne having galactic adventures, and Thorne forgetting he’s gone straight half the time, and Cress reminding him. I guess I’ll have to make do with whatever fanfiction exists. (I am blaming this book for the fact that the new story I’m planning went from “and the Princess confronts her father about his treatment of her and the people” to “and the Princess leads the people in a revolution” during early plotting stages).

And then I followed this up with another book that made me cry, A Monster Calls, by Patrick Ness. This was a very beautiful book, and I listened to the audio, which was read by Jason Isaacs (if you don’t know him from anywhere else, he played Lucius Malfoy in the Harry Potter movies). His voice was perfection.

Also, two reviews went up in the past week, for Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth and  A Darker Shade of Magic by V. E. Schwab.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I also have The Wild Girl by Kate Forsyth from the library, so that will be next, followed by some books I picked up at a St Vincent de Paul warehouse sale recently.

That’s it from me. I have my final astronomy class tonight, so I’ve got to head out for that soon. I’ll see you on your blogs later!

~ Emily

27 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday and #WWW Wednesday – 18 November, 2015

  1. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    Wow! To have finished a draft is great, but to already have started planning another WIP is very impressive 🙂
    If we start a campaign for The Adventures of Cress and Thorne, I think Meyer will have to write them 🙂
    A Monster Calls is in the running for my book of the year. I recently found out they’re making a movie version, which makes me anxious. I’m not sure I’d want to see it in case they do terrible things to such a wonderful story. I’d rather listen to Jason Isaacs (love him) read it.
    Here’s my WWW: https://clairehuston.wordpress.com/2015/11/18/www-wednesday-18th-november-2015/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      It is admittedly only an 11ooo-word first draft, so not the kind of epic thing you need a huge break after.

      I just looked the movie up on Wikipedia and I really don’t feel good about it. I bet they make it all flashy and that’s the worst thing they could do to it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Claire | Art and Soul says:

        When I first heard about the movie I thought it might be a hand-drawn animation which could work. But with live action I worry they’ll overdo the CGI. On the bright side, if it makes more people read the book that’s a plus!

        Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I kind of imagine her giving him stern lectures when he starts talking about stealing another space ship and whatnot, and then the next second turning around and hacking something to make whatever they’re working on easier. And Thorne’s there with a hand on his hip and his eyebrow raised saying, “Oh, I see how it is.” And then there is lots and lots of kissing. 😉

      Liked by 2 people

  2. L. Marie says:

    Congrats on finishing a draft! That’s awesome, especially with your busy schedule!
    Clara and Max make a great team!
    I would love to listen to Jason Isaacs read anything! He was also had a role in season one of my favorite animated series–Avatar: The Last Airbender.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Thank you!

      Who did he play in Avatar? I would probably know this if I sat down and watched the series properly, but I have only seen bits and pieces, despite someone at uni having made me a copy of the whole thing, which I still have.

      Like

  3. Amy says:

    Woo hoo! A finished first draft always feels good. Of course, then it means edits, so…LOL

    “Once you start killing off his minions, he’s not going to listen to me for much longer.” Ha! Yeah, minion-killing is pretty likely to get his attention.

    Like

  4. K.S. Norton says:

    Like everyone I am joining in on the celebration of the completion of the first draft. Throwing in my woot! woot! Yeah, That line where she says the king isn’t going to listen made me laugh too. I pictured the expression she gave him. priceless

    Like

  5. Yvo says:

    I’m reading Winter right now and I’m really enjoying it so far… I guess I haven’t reached the crying parts so far. 😉 And I really need to read A Monster Calls soon! I have it on my TBR but somehow I never actually pick it up.

    Happy Wednesday! Here’s my WWW.

    Like

  6. shanjeniah says:

    “I love a man with a plan.”

    Best line in the snippet, if you ask me (and, yes, I do know you didn’t).

    I’m really enjoying the bits of this story you’re sharing. So glad there’s a little more to be had. =)

    And brava for the completed draft! By this time tomorrow, I hope to be able to say the same about Sea Changes, my third Kifo Island book.

    I’m still reading The Writer on her Work, an essay anthology from 1980, and have started Write. Publish. Repeat.

    Like

  7. kathils says:

    Thank you again for stepping up to take over WIPpeteer admin duties. ❤ You rock.
    *licks yummy chocolate off fingers*
    Nice excerpt. I've been out of it, obviously, but I like that Max and Kara got a smooch in. Hee, hee. Was hoping things would go that way.

    Like

  8. A says:

    Pretty sure Clara’s thought of “I love a man with a plan” was exactly what I was thinking in that instant! So much has happened with these two since I’ve been around last! Love it and congrats on finishing, even if it’s not completed finishing, it’s still a great accomplishment!

    Like

Talk to me! :)

