#WWW Wednesday – October 21, 2015

Happy Back to the Future Day, everyone! Here is a celebratory picture of me: bttfday

This may be the first time my glasses have ever showed up on this blog, despite the fact that I am wearing them more often than not.

Anyway, that’s not actually what we’re here for. We’re here for WWW Wednesday, a bookish meme that is hosted by Sam over at A World of Words and you can join in over there by leaving a link to your own WWW Wednesday on today’s post.

  • What are you currently reading?

I’ve just started The Golem and the Djinni by Helene Wecker. The only chance I had to read today was while I was waiting to pick up my partner from work, and that wasn’t very long. But this promises to be a really good book, I think.

  • What did you recently finish reading?

I finished Bitter Greens by Kate Forsyth and gave it four stars. There was less Rapunzel than I hoped for, but it was still an interesting read.

I listened to Silhouette, which is another Doctor Who novel. It was set in Victorian London and featured the Paternostra Gang as well. It was narrated by Dan Starkey, who was able to do a very good Peter Capaldi impression. In fact, most of his male character voices were great, though the female ones were a bit annoying.

And I finally read Fangirl! It’s due back to the library on Friday or Saturday, so I just got there in time. It got 2.5-3 stars from me. It wasn’t that I didn’t like it, but there were enough parts that fell flat for me to not rate it higher. I think perhaps if I was still as much of a fangirl as Cath is (and trust me, I was once), I might have enjoyed it more. I also wondered if the Simon Snow “excerpts” were just made up by Rainbow Rowell to pad her NaNoWriMo word count. They weren’t especially relevant, except for maybe giving us a glimpse of the world Cath is so invested in.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I also have We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson and the first two volumes of Return to Labyrinth from the library, so they’ll be up next. I will get through the graphic novels very quickly.

It’s getting quite late now, so I’m going to head off. See you soon!

~ Emily

16 thoughts on “#WWW Wednesday – October 21, 2015

  1. Sam says:

    I read We Have Always Lived in the Castle around this time last year. It’s a great Halloween read. I hope you enjoy. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

  2. Denise says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog today! I haven’t read any of the books in your post, but Fangirl is on my TBR. I loved Eleanor & Park and wanted to see Rowell write something a bit more light hearted.

    Happy reading!

    Like

  3. Rachel K says:

    I felt the same as you did about the excerpts in Fangirl; they didn’t seem to be of much benefit to the reader.

    I hope you enjoy The Golem and the Djinni! Can’t say I’ver heard of it before, but it sounds rather interesting 🙂

    Like

Talk to me! :)

