#WIPpet and #WWW Wednesday – September 30, 2015

Happy Wednesday! Can you believe it’s the last day of September already? August dragged on by for me, but September has positively flown past. I’m still working on Operation: Sugarplum, slowly but surely. I’m trying to work out exactly how the final battle/confrontation/whatever is going to go down. At the moment, Clara’s causing a distraction, but I’m probably going to have to re-work that as well.

Anyway, for today’s WIPpet Wednesday, I have three sentences for the 30th. Clara has just tried explaining her phone to the Creelan King, who along with his minions, is now occupying her house. He’s from a magical kingdom; they don’t have phones there.

If the Creelan King didn’t understand – and Clara suspected he probably didn’t – he hid it very well. With a thoughtful “hmm”, he tucked it into his own pocket, no doubt thinking of ways he could make use of it later. Clara chose not to mention battery life at this point.

Since typing the above, I have gone and played a game of volleyball, and by the time we finished, dropped a friend home and got home ourselves, it was already 10pm. So now I’m going to do a bit of a rushed WWW Wednesday so I can go to bed. WWW Wednesday is a weekly bookish meme hosted by Sam over at A World of Words, in which we answer questions about what we’ve been reading this past week. You can drop by Sam’s blog for more posts in this vein.

  • What are you currently reading?

Still Evensong by Krista Walsh and The Gone-Away World by Nick Harkaway. I am not very much further along in Evensong than I was last week, and I finally made it past page 50 on the Gone Away World today. That one is going to be a slow-burn. I was worried about carrying it around in my work bag what with it being borrowed from a colleague and also being quite large, as books in my work bag tend to get tossed about. But I have taken it to work and left it there for reading on breaks, since I am doing most of my reading at work at the moment.

  • What have you recently finished reading?

I finally finished Blood Charged by Lindsay Buroker. As I said, I left this one aside for a little while and read some other books, and when I went back, my interest had waned. I might pick up the series again (there are another three books), but not right now.

I also read The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl by Melissa Keil, which I just picked up at the library out of curiosity. I would have read it in one sitting if not for little things like needing to sleep and friends coming over. I related to everything in it. I don’t usually read contemporary YA, but wow, this one was good. I felt like I was part of the main character’s circle of friends. I got choked up more than once.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I have finally converted one of the Doctor Who audio books I have from the library so I can put it on my phone. I also got Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell from the library, but I don’t know if it’s smart to read it right now when I loved Cinnamon Girl so much and it’s still so fresh in my mind and I will not be able to help comparing. So we’ll see about that.

And now it is way past time for me to go to bed!

11 thoughts on “#WIPpet and #WWW Wednesday – September 30, 2015

    • Emily Witt says:

      I’m not really sure, as I am yet to glance at Fangirl, but from what I know of it, I think fans of one could easily be fans of the other. The main character in Cinnamon Girl is a comics geek and aspiring comic book artist, who has just finished high school in a small town and is coping with all the changes that come with that – friends leaving, trying to work out what she’s going to do with her life, etc. The author clearly knew her geeky stuff; that really came through.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. shanjeniah says:

    Wise Clara, not to mention battery life! = D

    September is always stealthy, here. It seems like it starts slow, and then does this odd ninja thing, and – poof!- GONE!

    Volleyball sounds like fun, but not so much in October in the Northern Hemisphere – it’s rainy and chilly here today, Better weather for hometending and watching the poetry of heavy clouds, tossing branches, and changing leaves from the coziness of my bedroom!

    Like

  2. Celine Jeanjean says:

    I have to echo Regi — Battery life really is the bane of all smart phone users (I say this as my phone is charging up, to deplete itself by the end of the day….)

    I absolutely love the title The Incredible Adventures of Cinnamon Girl and I love the sound of it! It’s not something I would normally have looked up but I’m going to give it a whirl.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

