#teasertuesday – The Gone-Away World by Nick Harkaway

Teaser Tuesday is a weekly bookish meme, hosted by MizB of A Daily Rhythm. Anyone can play along! Just do the following:

  • Grab your current read
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page
  • BE CAREFUL NOT TO INCLUDE SPOILERS! (make sure that what you share doesn’t give too much away! You don’t want to ruin the book for others!)
  • Share the title & author, too

I’m cheating a little today, and using two single sentences from different pages. Because I really liked them both.

goneawaycover1. I thought about my personal view of heaven, which is small and calm and features only one angel, who cannot sing. – pg. 11

2. Ma Lubitsch, watching from a small distance, recognises by the instinctual knowledges of an expat Polish mother that her family has grown by one, and is not perturbed. – pg. 30

Here is the GoodReads page for more info.

I have to admit, this is not really the type of book I would usually read, and it’s going to be quite a slow read. But if it has more beautiful lines like that, I can cope with that.

Join in over at A Daily Rhythm for more Teaser Tuesdays! I’ll see you tomorrow for WWW and WIPpet Wednesday

~ Emily

9 thoughts on “#teasertuesday – The Gone-Away World by Nick Harkaway

    • Emily Witt says:

      I hope so! I’ve borrowed it from a colleague who really liked it but doesn’t know anyone else who has read it. So I sort of want to finish it even if I don’t like it so we can at least discuss it.

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      This is true! I’m still feeling a bit book-hungover from a YA read I finished in two days last week… maybe I should pay this one a bit more attention to help get over that.

      Thanks for visiting!

      Like

Talk to me! :)

