#MirthMusicMon – As the World Falls Down

I’ve had David Bowie on the brain lately, and between re-watching Labyrinth on Saturday and then re-reading a very entertaining fan-comic based equal parts on Labyrinth and Phantom of the Opera yesterday, today’s Mirth and Music Monday post could only be themed around that movie. I usually end up cranky at Cinema Sins videos and trying to dispute half the things they say, but this one actually is quite entertaining and brings up some valid points. And I don’t care if Jennifer Connolly was only 16 when Labyrinth was made and Bowie was 23 years older, I adore this dream sequence. Kinda wish he’d show up in my dreams wearing something like that.

Join us for Mirth and Music Monday over here! I’ve been reading aforementioned fan-comic and done no uni work like I should have, so I suppose I should go and at least try to make a start on the thing I have due on Friday. It’s only 800 words, but I do have things on both Wednesday and Thursday nights. Goodnight for now!

~ Emily

7 thoughts on “#MirthMusicMon – As the World Falls Down

  1. rosedandrea says:

    Labyrinth! One of my all time favorite movies! One of the cool little facts that make my little nerd heart go pitter-patter is that the choreographer is the lady who played Beverly Crusher on Star Trek: Next Generation.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Cool, I didn’t know that! I was going to respond that it’s also one of my favourites, but then I realised I would have to qualify that with “but I skip all the scenes that are just Sarah because she’s about the dullest character ever”. The fanfic writers do make her more interesting, though, so there’s that.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Emily Witt says:

      You’d best not watch it with my partner and me then, since as much as we love it, we pick it to hell every time we watch it. Actually, to be honest, the only times I watch it properly are when he’s watching it with me, since he’s in it for the Jim Henson stuff (the decor in our house is equal parts Doctor Who and Muppets). Whereas I’m in it for the musical numbers and couldn’t really care less about what happens to Sarah.

      Liked by 2 people

Talk to me! :)

