#WIPpet Wednesday and #WWW Wednesday – September 2, 2015

Hello friends! It’s good to be hanging out with you again. Things that have happened since I last wrote a proper post:

  • Edy gave Unicorn Love a good edit (he says he only stuck to the basics, but the ten page document was covered in red strike-outs, additions and comments), and then I submitted it to a short story contest. Eep!
  • The winter session uni course I was doing is over, which is why I’m back to blogging. My course for second semester is a writing course, so I should be much more at home with it.
  • The contemporary romance that I started and talked about in my last WIPpet Wednesday post lasted all of a week and a half, until a better idea came along. Said better idea features a gay princess and the girl who wants to rescue from her evil father, and adventures brought on by mind-altering magic used irresponsibly.

So I guess having said all that, I should give you a WIPpet. This is very first draft-y, half of it hasn’t even made its way from notebook to computer yet, and I’m constantly thinking of things that will need to change and putting memos in my phone (my new phone can put memos into categories, I am so excited!). But that is generally how I write first drafts, so I’m not worried.

wippetwednesdayWhat you need to know for this scene: Magic is illegal, but some people use it in secret, including most of the main characters. In this scene, Nell is going to visit her foster-father/guardian/mentor/teacher/I-haven’t-quite-figured-this-out-yet, Jasper Cortain, to try to persuade him to help her with Plot-Related Matters. She arrives just in time to see Jasper leaving, visibly distressed, and learns from the butler that Jasper’s secret magic use has been found out. Since Jasper wasn’t home when the King’s men came for him, they’ve taken his wife instead.

“Don’t lecture me, Nell.” He started walking again, but Nell kept pace.

“Do you have a plan?” she pressed. “Are you just going to march up to the King and demand he release her? What good are you going to be to Helena if you get thrown in prison, too? The King will already have it in for you; you’re going to have to make a mighty good case to him for him to not throw you in the dungeons as well.”

Yeah, my paragraph of context was longer than the excerpt. Sorry.

Fun fact: I set out to write Jasper as morally grey, but he ended up stupidly noble instead, damn him.

If you want to join in on WIPpet Wednesday, simply post an excerpt from your current WIP that somehow relates to the date. I did two paragraphs for 2nd September. Then link up here. It’s lots of fun!

And now for WWW Wednesday, a reading meme hosted by Sam. All you need to do is answer the three questions, and leave a comment on the appropriate post on Sam’s blog. wwwwednesday

  • What are you currently reading?

I started A Darker Shade of Magic a couple of nights ago. Enjoying it so far. I’ve got three GR friends who have read it; one gave it 5 stars, another 4 and the third, 3. So it’ll be interesting to see where it falls for me. I really like the writing style so far, though. This is one of V. E. Schwab’s adult books; I tried reading one of her YA books, and didn’t finish it, but this is promising so far.

Also technically reading The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making but I’m not very far into it yet, and I don’t actually know how far I’ll go. It has awesome reviews but the narration style is one I only enjoy in certain books.

  • What did you recently finish reading?

After dropping Throne of Glass, I started reading Crewel, but gave up on it fairly quickly. I thought it was fantasy, but it was actually dystopian, and I don’t really enjoy plots where you know it’s dystopian because of the way women are treated. I’m all about the equal subjugation of men and women in my dystopian futures. Also dropped Hot Lead, Cold Iron, because apparently hard-boiled detective stories about 1930s Chicago mobsters aren’t for me, even when the detective also happens to be a Fey prince. And Gin O’Clock, because I should have read it when it came out, and now the jokes are really dated.

On the other hand, I finished The Viper and the Urchin and absolutely adored it. My review is here.

I also finished Balanced on a Blade’s Edge and Deathmaker, the first two books in the Dragon’s Blood series. I thought the first was better than the second, but both were really enjoyable. The characters and the world-building were really interesting, and after a slew of young adult books, it was nice reading something with adult characters.

Oh, and I also took Persuasion of my currently-reading shelf, not because I’ve abandoned it, but because my iPod still isn’t working, and even if it gets fixed, it’s likely the audio book won’t remember where I was up to. So I’ll probably just grab the physical book at some point and read that instead.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I… have absolutely no idea. I have five things on hold at the library, but I don’t think any of them are going to come in too soon. A colleague did tell me about The Gone-Away World and asked if I would be interested in it, mostly because he really liked it and wants someone to talk about it with. So if he brings that in, I’ll get onto it next in the interests of not having it for too long. Oh, and Blood Charge, the third Dragon’s Blood book, will be my listening to at work option.

Well, that’s me for this week. It’s only 8:35 but I was just falling asleep on the sofa, so it’s an early night for me. I’ll catch up with you all soon!
~ Emily

17 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday and #WWW Wednesday – September 2, 2015

  1. Kate Sparkes says:

    Man, you’re as bad as me for DNFing books (most recently Anna and the French Kiss, and it looks like Dorothy Must Die is headed that way). We should start a club. I do need to get to the Viper and the Urchin. It’s on my Kindle, and my dad actually volunteered as a pre-release reader/reviewer and loved it, but I haven’t had time. And I’m in such a reading slump that I’d hate to not give it a fair shot… but it does look fantastic.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I have to admit I am getting more and more ruthless with books. I read Dorothy Must Die in July, it was… okay. I’ve got a review going up in a while, but I also used it for a uni assignment on review writing, so I need to wait until I get it back from that before I post it.

      Maybe reading Viper… would pull you out of your reading slump?

      Like

      • Kate Sparkes says:

        Can’t hurt to try, right? When I find a book that clicks, my slump does break. But that doesn’t improve odds for the next book. I feel like I’m always in editing mode, and it doesn’t make me forgiving.

        Like

  2. K. L. Schwengel says:

    The Viper and the Urchin is front and center on my Kindle, but I’m not reading too much at the moment due to other projects claiming time. But can’t wait to get to it.

    This looks like an interesting bit you’ve got going. I love Jasper’s name. Here’s a challenge for you: make that damnably honorable man morally grey. I bet you could.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I have a random person whose name I never took note of on the NaNo forum to thank for Jasper’s name. I was completely stuck so I went and stalked the Appellation Station. I also have the name Milton Nethercote hanging around (managed that one myself), though I can’t decide whether that’s the Court Magician or the other magician whose going to help them later.

      Like

  3. Sam says:

    I just downloaded the audio for A Darker Shade of Magic. I hope you like it, I’ve heard mixed but mostly good things too. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

  4. Yvo says:

    I have A Darker Shade Of Magic on my TBR and I’m really looking forward to it, although I will probably wait until the sequel is published.

    Happy Wednesday! Here’s my WWW.

    Like

  5. Pax Asteriae says:

    I love characters who we intend to be one thing, and then impose their own plans and personalities on us instead. Well… “love”.

    I’m really intrigued by the premise though, even if the scene-setting was longer than your scene! :p I hope you carry on with this one, I really want to know more~!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Haha, yes, “love” is exactly right.

      Thanks, I’m glad you like it! I’ve been trying to write a couple of pages a day. I’m doing all the scenes that are in my head, then I’ll figure out what else needs to happen in between or after.

      Like

  6. ReGi McClain says:

    I hope Unicorn Love goes over well with the contest. 🙂

    That’s a very good start for a first drafty something! It’s already shaping up nicely. I like the logic in the face of panic thing Nell has going on. 🙂

    Like

  7. Fallon says:

    Very interesting snippet. And love how we intend characters to be one thing and they end up another.
    I got the audio of A Darker Shade of Magic and planning to start listening once I finish the one I’m listening to now.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

