#WWW Wednesday & #WIPpet Wednesday –

Hello, and happy Wednesday! Today is my biggest blog hop day of the week! First up, we have WWW Wednesday, a blog hop hosted by Sam, in which we answer three W questions about what we’ve been reading.

  • wwwwednesdayWhat are you currently reading?

I’ve started Throne Of Glass and I’m enjoying it so far. The thing that annoys me most is that all the main characters are Really Attractive. Which is fine, except the narration keeps reminding me of it.

I’m also listening to the audio book of Matilda, read by Kate Winslet. She’s really good! The reason I haven’t listened to too many audio books in the past is that often the version I ended up with didn’t have a narrator whose voice I felt really fitted the story (also because I can’t afford to buy many and the ones you get from the library on CD are usually all scratched up). But Kate’s got a nice regular reading accent and fantastic accents/voices for each of the characters. I’ve only got about an hour left, but it came up with a weird message about not being able to process the file or something. Hopefully, the worst case scenario will be I have to re-download it.

  • What did you recently finish reading?

I finished For Darkness Shows The Stars and I really loved it! I tend to flail a lot when characters I want to get together are about to get together, and there was lots of flailing at the end of this book (it’s based on Persuasion, so I feel like that isn’t really a spoiler). I learned there is a not-quite-sequel-more-of-a-companion-novel based on the Scarlet Pimpernel, which is a favourite of mine, so I might have to track that down (the library doesn’t have it, and the ebook is expensive, but I am told the library buys pretty much anything that is suggested within reason, so…)

  • What do you think you will read next?

I have this all worked out. I’ll finish Throne of Glass, then read Crewel and Dust Girl, both of which I have from the library. Then I am going to read The Viper and the Urchin by fellow WIPpeteer Celine Jeanjean. And after that, I’m not sure, but this should keep me going at least a couple of weeks. And I also bought the cheapest audio version of Persuasion that I could find on iTunes. I’m not sure if the narrator is English or American and I’m really not sure I can listen to Jane Austen being read in anything other than an English accent, but it was only $2, so if I end up also buying the $9 one where it is read by Miss Marple (aka Geraldine McEwan), it will be no great loss.

Now I have to tell you something. I started a new writing project today. I have been trying to write every day, but I just haven’t been feeling Grace and Frederick’s story for the past week. I did some brainstorming on their back story and I think those ideas need to really percolate and solidify before I can keep going. I was trawling through the NaNoWriMo Adopt a Plot forums and one of the ideas there reminded me of a story that I considered writing at uni, but never got around to. It had a bit of urban fantasy in it then, but I decided that wouldn’t really work, so I’ve stripped that way and basically have a contemporary romance left in its place. I only have a main character and some plot points so far, but I really quite like her, even if she is a rather cliched university student.

So that’s my exciting news. And after having led with that, I bother to mention that you’re still getting a WIPpet from Grace and Frederick’s story, since that’s what I have actually words of right now. I have five paragraphs for the fifth of August. Last week, Grace persuaded Tristan to let her stay in the Merrow House overnight to see if she could get in touch with Frederick’s ghost again. He shows up, finally, and they have a bit of an awkward chat. The reason for the age comments is that Grace is 129-years-old and Frederick has been dead 90 years.
ghost
Now that Frederick was here, she found herself wishing she had just gone back to the hotel after the seance. She had thought that surely enough time had passed since she and Frederick had last crossed paths, but now her stomach was in knots just looking at him.

“You’re looking good for your age.”

Grace cocked an eyebrow. “You’re not looking too bad yourself.”

“Grace…” Frederick reached out a hand to touch her cheek. Somehow, his form was solid once again and she could feel his knuckles against her skin. She closed her eyes for a moment, but then quickly pulled away.

“Frederick, you can’t just show up again after all these years and expect me to be the naïve, stupid girl who hero-worshipped you as you taught her magic.”

It’s worth noting Grace was nineteen when all that was going on. It’s been a long time.

You can and totally should join in on WIPpet Wednesday! Just post an excerpt from your current WIP that somehow relates to the date. Our linky is over here. Since beginning this post, I’ve gone out and played some netball with friends, so it’s now fairly late. I’ll finish up and hope to see you all either on my blog or yours pretty soon!

~ Emily

19 thoughts on “#WWW Wednesday & #WIPpet Wednesday –

  1. Yvo says:

    The audiobook of Matilda sounds great! I normally have a hard time finding audiobooks with voices that fit in with the stories as well… I had some problems with Throne Of Glass as well, but the sequels are actually a lot better. 🙂

    Happy Wednesday! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    Matilda read by Kate Winslet – that is perfect! I agree with you about Really Attractive characters. When we already know they’re good looking, the author should just move on!
    Glad to see Grace isn’t taking any nonsense from Frederick this time round 🙂
    Thanks for visiting my post and happy reading!

    Like

  3. Pax Asteriae says:

    Frederick seems quite reasonable, so now I really am wondering about the circumstances behind all this. I feel really bad for Grace though… has to be one of the most awkward meetings imaginable!

    Like

  4. kathils says:

    Hmm… this could lead to some very interesting complications. Nothing like finding out the ghost is someone you knew 90 years ago! Love it.

    And congrats on starting something new. That’s always a fun time.

    Like

  5. L. Marie says:

    Great excerpt! Love the sensation of Frederick touching Grace’s cheek.
    Glad you enjoyed For Darkness Shows the Stars! I’d love to listen to Kate reading Matilda!

    Like

  6. ReGi McClain says:

    110 years DOES give a girl some time to think over her choices in life. The thing about Fredrick being solid when he touches her is sweet. And creepy. Veeeery creepy. Glad it’s her and not me. I’d freak.

    Like

  7. Amy says:

    LOL! I guess Grace has had a lot of time to gain perspective. I agree with ReGi that the touch is creepy-sweet. I wonder what Frederick is thinking in all of this.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

