I’m back from my retreat just in time for WIPpet and WWW Wednesday. I maybe overdid it on the fitness classes and the bush walks and not enough on the relaxation and I’m actually really sore today, so I’m glad I opted for an extra day off work. I’m hobbling around today; last night it was all I could do to lean over and switch the lamp off when it was time to go to sleep.

wippetwednesdayAnyway, on to the blog hops. First up is WIPpet Wednesday, in which we writers share something from our WIP that somehow relates to the date. We link up over here. The wonderful K. L. Schwengel keeps us all in line. Today I’ve got seven lines for the seventh month. After the seance, Grace, Tristan and Madame Dorenia (real name Doreen, though she doesn’t actually feature in this excerpt) are dealing with the fact that a ghost that only Grace could see went on to attack Tristan.

“I know this is probably unorthodox, but could I spend the night here?”
“Um… I really shouldn’t…”
“I want to be here if he shows up again.”
“Frederick Merrow?”
“Yes. Whether you believe in ghosts or not, Tristan, something tried to kill you earlier. I know a lot about this sort of thing. I can be out of here before the place opens tomorrow if that’s what’s worrying you. I won’t touch anything. Promise.”
Tristan took a deep breath. “I’ll leave you the back door key. I’m working the afternoon shift tomorrow, from one o’clock. You can bring it back to me then.” He paused and then added, “Please don’t lose me my job.”
Grace nodded. “You will still be employed come the morning.”

The next Wednesday blog hop is WWW Wednesday, in which we answer three W questions about what we’re reading. This one is hosted by Sam, and you can leave your link in the comments on today’s post over at her blog.

wwwwednesday

  • What are you currently reading?

I started For Darkness Shows The Stars while I was away. I hadn’t actually realised until someone mentioned it on last week’s post, that this is a dystopian retelling of Jane Austen’s Persuasion… which I haven’t actually read, and I’m not sure I’ve even seen a BBC adaptation of it… But it is a really nice read. Fairly slow, but the world is interesting, and I can see the parallels to Jane Austen’s time even without having read the source material.

  • What did you recently finish reading?

I finished Dorothy Must Die. It was… pretty good. I keep comparing it to Wicked: the Life and Times of the Wicked Witch of the West (the book the musical Wicked is based on). My issue with that book is that the world was still recognisably Oz, but grimmer and darker and more adult, and that’s why I didn’t like it. Oz is a place I associate with my childhood; I didn’t want it to have grownup issues. In the case of Dorothy Must Die, there’s still a Dorothy and Ozma and various other characters, still an Emerald City and a Munchkin Land, but overall, the world is so far removed from the Oz of the books and the movie, that the fact that everything was so awful didn’t bother me so much. If that makes sense. Also, the “mission” that is referred to in the blurb is only presented to Amy in the last ten pages or so; before that, she’s just training and getting used to Oz and infiltrating the Emerald City. I don’t think I’m hooked enough to worry about the sequel, though. Or the several prequels.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I’ve got Crewel and Throne of Glass from the library, so it will probably be one of those. They’re both the firsts in series, so it’ll depend how much I get into them whether I then continue the series, or just read the other book while it’s still out from the library. I also discovered that Matilda is a lot cheaper on Kindle than I expected, and I’m pretty sure it’s the only Roald Dahl book I haven’t read. I think this is because the movie was one of my primary school’s rainy day lunch time movies, so it was watched a great deal. But I’ve been listening to the musical, and am hopefully going to go see it in Sydney soon, so I really should read it before then.

Anyways, I need to go out in about forty minutes; we’re seeing a local production of Grease tonight, so that should be fun, but we’re getting dinner first. I’ll catch you all around soon!

~ Emily

23 thoughts on “

  1. Sam says:

    Welcome back to the real world. I’m glad you enjoyed your retreat. I haven’t read the ‘Dorothy Must Die’ series, but I’ve seen a lot of mixed reviews like yours. I’m not sure I’ll start it. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

  2. Pax Asteriae says:

    Did Frederick try to attack Tristan, or was it something else? 😮 I love the dialogue, particularly the last couple of lines–and the implication his job’s more important than his life!

    Like

  3. ceeleeolson says:

    Interesting conversation. I can’t wait to see if something happens 🙂

    Persuasion is one of my favorite Jane Austen novels, second only to Pride and Prejudice. Though not written by Austen, Throne of Glass is a fun read.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Yeah, I described it to my partner, who also really knows his Oz stuff, and he didn’t seem fussed. I would say give it a miss!

      This is my first time writing with ghosts! It’s fun!

      Like

  4. Eden says:

    Interesting reviews… I knew a bunch of people who just LOVED Dorothy Must Die, and then there are people like you who couldn’t care less. I never tried even the Oz books myself. As a kid the idea of Tic Toc being beaten just… well, I didn’t like snips other people told me then either.

    So why did Frederick have to go and do something stupid like that?

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Yeah, I mean, I liked it enough to finish it, obviously, but that’s all. I have admittedly only read the original one myself, but I do have all 14 on my Kindle. One day…

      Like

  5. ReGi McClain says:

    Iiiinteresting. So Tristan isn’t really aware he was attacked? Did Fredrick make it look like an accident? Or did it just look that way because no other logical reason sprang to mind? And why did he attack Tristan? Lots of questions out of this one. 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      He’s aware, but in a bit of a denial stage now the shock has worn off, since he couldn’t actually see the ghost attacking him. He may work in a supposed “haunted house” but he’s never exactly been a believer in that sort of thing, so at this point he’s still madly trying to come up with another explanation.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me! :)

