#WWW Wednesday and #WIPpet Wednesday – July 15, 2015

wwwwednesdayFirst up tonight is WWW Wednesday, a blog hop that asks three W questions about what you’re currently reading. It’s hosted by Sam over at A World of Words.

  • What are you currently reading?

I started reading the Diary of Adrian Mole, Aged 13 ¾ because I needed something light between Her Dark Curiosity and A Cold Legacy. I am finding Adrian a little annoying to be honest, but my partner assures me he becomes endearing in his annoying-ness, so I’m willing to keep going. It’s less than 300 pages so I feel like I should just sit down and go through it.

I guess I am also technically reading A Cold Legacy¸ since I did start it immediately and then realise I needed a break from that world after the murder and mayhem at the end of the second book.

  • What did you recently finish?

I finished Her Dark Curiosity (the second in the Madman’s Daughter trilogy) on Monday night. It was just as good as the first, but it is even darker, so as I said, I needed a bit of a break before ploughing further on. I have a feeling the third is darker still.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I’ll finish A Cold Legacy and then I’m not sure what to follow it up with. It’s put me in a very specific mood in regard to books and I don’t really have anything similar on my TBR.

And now on to WIPpet Wednesday, another blog hop where writers come together and share snippets from their writing that somehow relate to the date. This one is hosted by K. L. Schwengelwippetwednesday and the linky is here. Please do join in if you feel so inclined! Today is the 15th, so I’ve added one and five together and have six paragraphs. Last week, Tristan said that the medium, Madame Dorenia, was not the slightest bit genuine, but hilarious nonetheless. Here’s a glimpse as to why.

From invisible speakers, a thunder clap sounded as the door burst open. It was all Grace could do to not laugh at the figure who struck a pose in the doorway.  The woman was probably in her sixties and must have been wearing at last five petticoats to give her skirt as much volume as it had. The skirt itself was a patchwork of shiny fabrics in various colours. The accompanying blouse was a garish hot pink. Grace had once seen a production of the Blythe Spirit when she lived in England, and the so-called medium in front of her reminded her of the Madame Arcati in the play.

Madame Dorenia swayed into the room. One man further down the table snorted at the spectacle and she shot him a glare. He looked down at the table, embarrassed.

Tristan pulled out the chair at the end of the table and Madame Dorenia lowered herself into it with a gracious nod towards him. She placed her hands flat on the table and let her eyes wander slowly from guest to guest, pausing slowly enough to make each of them fidget.

“Do you all believe?” she asked, her voice low and husky. Silence. “I said, do you all believe?”

“Of course we do,” said a woman near Madame Dorenia quickly.

“This is a serious matter,” Madame Dorenia continued. “The spirits will know if one or more amongst us is a non-believer, and they will not waste their time with us. Now, all join hands.” She paused as the guests did as instructed. “Now, close your eyes and empty your minds. Imagine a portal between our world and the next. Imagine it opening up, allowing our friends on the other side safe passage through.”

With any luck, I will actually get around to your blog posts this week, something I have failed at rather dismally in the past couple of weeks. For now, though, I’m going to go and read some more before bed. Laters!

~ Emily

25 thoughts on “#WWW Wednesday and #WIPpet Wednesday – July 15, 2015

  1. kathils says:

    The image of Madame Dorenia is excellent. I’m not sure I would be such a believer in her based just on her appearance and all the showmanship. And it sounds like I’m not alone in that assessment.

    Like

  2. Sam says:

    I hope Adrian pulls himself together enough to let you enjoy the rest of the book! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      He wasn’t too bad, though I still found him fairly annoying by the end of the book. I could kind of cope with him because he was a teenager; I don’t think I could deal with any of the books where he’s much older and still sounds much the same.

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      All right, he did grow on me a bit. 🙂 And there were definitely some lines that made me laugh out loud, like the part about the Woolworths being out of Chanel No. 5, so he bought Pandora underarm deodorant instead. I was never a teenage boy but I am certain that’s how their brains work.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. shanjeniah says:

    I live with a 13 3/4 year old boy, and he can be exactly what you describe – endearingly annoying is definitely one of his modeas. Fortunately, he’s also sweet, funny, generous, thoughtful, maturing, perceptive, willing to change, and forward-thinking, among other things…

    I’m wondering if he’d like to read this book.

    As for the snippet, I’m curious what the seance will bring, when even the medium doesn’t really believe herself… =)

    Great description!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I finished it last night and still didn’t find him particularly endearing. While I can tell that the way it’s written, the author is actually poking fun at the eternally-misunderstood, woe-is-me teenager who thinks he’s far cleverer than he is, I still just wanted him to get over himself. It didn’t help that the book is over 30 years old, so there were some fairly outdated attitudes presented, too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • shanjeniah says:

        I wouldn’t like it then. I don’t like people poking fun at teens -growing up is confusing enough, and when the adults around would rather make fun that help you learn how to navigate…

        Oh, you didn’t actually put out a soapbox, did you? *clears throat, moving on…*

        My son might still like to read it because he’s interested in the attitudes of other times…

        Maybe he was more endearing to your partner, in the same way I “get” my daughter in a deeper way than my son, since I was a girl her age, once…

        Like

      • Emily Witt says:

        When I say poking fun, I mean in a very gentle way, the way you might rib your best friend about their idiosyncrasies. My partner was the outsider when he was at school, and a lot more internal and reflective than a lot of his peers, so yeah, I think that is why he enjoys it. I can appreciate that to an extent, but there are parts of it that a once-teenage-boy is going to get more than just generally any once-teenager.

        Liked by 1 person

      • shanjeniah says:

        I was also that reflective, internal, outsider teen.

        Mine have never been to school, so have never had to have that experience. Their friends span a wide array of interests, abilities, cultures…

        I like that. A lot.

        Like

  4. Eden says:

    Madame Dorenia knows her audience well. She has already given herself a clear ‘out’ if the spirits don’t commune well (there are unbelievers in the group, and she surely knows it, despite her theatrics).

    I do love the descriptive details you use here.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Tristan, the staff member mentioned, is blending in against the wall with the sound effects reel on his phone. When it all starts going awry, it comes out that there was a script to be stuck to.

      Like

  5. Pax Asteriae says:

    I love the sound of Madame Dorenia–particularly the pink blouse, which just pretty much lit up the inside of my brain the minute I ‘saw’ it. Definitely sympathise with the snorting man! 🙂 You describe this whole scene so wonderfully.

    I’d completely forgotten about Adrian Mole… Yes, he definitely can be an irritating character! It was a bit less outdated when I read it, but that’s probably because it was something like 20 years ago *cough*. Now my memory of it is mostly just that he lives where I finished school… Not sure I want to reread it, think I’d want to throttle him now.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

