#WWW Wednesday and #WIPpet Wednesday –

wwwwednesdayWWW Wednesday is a blog hop I’ve recently joined, in which bloggers answer three questions about what they’re reading. Follow the URL in the image to find more links and read more about it.

  • What are you currently reading?

Nothing, actually, as I just finished a book this evening and have yet to start a new one. (I had something on tonight).

  • What did you recently finish?

After a week of not reading much at all because I had things on and then had my mother visiting all weekend, I finally finished The Island of Doctor Moreau today. I enjoyed it well enough though I can’t say Wells is at the top of my list of favourite authors.

I also ended up returning Tiger Lily to the library. I was a third of the way through and it didn’t seem to be going anywhere, so I gave up.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I finally picked up Her Dark Curiosity from the library. It’s the second in the The Madman’s Daughter trilogy, and is inspired by The Strange Case of Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde (which I referred to simply as Jekyll and Hyde last week… I realised later that that’s the title of the musical, not the book. I’m far more familiar with the former, though). I’m really looking forward to it!

wippetwednesdayOnto WIPpet Wednesday and my goodness, does it feel good to be writing consistently again. Well, it’s really only been two days of ROW80 so far, since I wrote my goals late on Monday night, but it’s feeling good at the moment. In spite of all that, I’m keeping my WIPpet short today. I’m sharing 15 words; I got to 15 by adding the day and the month together. Grace has recently returned to Merrowford and is chatting to the guy on the desk in the gift shop of the historic home, regarding a medium who will be appearing at a seance on the weekend.

“Is she for real? “

He grinned. “Not in the slightest. Hilarious,  though.” Grace smiled back.

After two rather short ones, I promise I’ll have something meatier for you next week. I sort of maybe got distracted by Netflix in the middle of writing this post, and it’s now nearly 11pm, so I should probably go to bed. Perhaps going to bed at 11 rather than 10 will mean I don’t wake up at 2 like I’ve been doing the past several nights. That would be nice. Anyway. Goodnight!

~ Emily

11 thoughts on “#WWW Wednesday and #WIPpet Wednesday –

  1. Sam says:

    I hope you enjoy Her Dark Curiosity as it sounds like you’re picking that one up soon! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I’m 50 pages in and there have already been four murders and an “the person we thought was dead is actually not dead!” revelation, so it’s off to a good start!

      Like

  2. Amy says:

    Ooh, I love the “what are you reading” questions. I don’t think I’ll join that, as my reading list would eventually bore people. It’s not terribly diverse at the moment because I mostly read stuff to write book reviews, and they’re largely in the same general category.

    I like the snappy dialog in the snippet. Makes me want to know what’s so hilarious about the medium!

    Like

  3. Pax Asteriae says:

    Definitely an enjoyable snippet, again makes me want to find out more! Now I’m looking forward to the promise of next week… 😉

    Hope your sleeping routine settles again soon. There’s nothing worse than regularly waking up at strange times of the night for no apparent reason…

    Like

  4. kathils says:

    Hmm… I know I commented yesterday. Darn smart phone must have eaten it. *sigh* Anyhow, hope you got some better sleep. Zzzzs are important.

    Nice little tease of a snippet there.

    Like

  5. shanjeniah says:

    Evolutionarily speaking, humans were designed to sleep in smaller stretches, with waking between. the nature of the ‘jobs’ our earliest ancestors had (y’know, not getting eaten!), made eight hours straight a dangerous proposition. Evolution doesn’t exactly account for the workday routine, though…so I hope you can find a way to get enough rest, and that your visit with your mom was a delightful one!

    I’m a big fan of bitty snippets, especially when I’m up to my eyeballs in life and plotting, and stewing in my own creative juices…

    This made me chuckle. The easy interaction and tacit understanding between these two is palpable, even in only 15 words, and I’m left imagining all the ways this ‘not in the slightest for real medium’ is hilarious….so many, many possibilities! I hope you’re going to write the seance scene, too! =)

    Welcome back to ROW80 and regular writing – I’ve missed you! =)

    Like

Talk to me! :)

