#ROW80 Round 3 Goal-setting

row80I fell off the Round 2 bandwagon about halfway through the round. I was so busy with uni work and rehearsals that I didn’t really have time for blogging, and since I also wasn’t writing anything of note during this time, there didn’t seem much point. However, I don’t plan on auditioning for anything else until September(ish), so that does give me some time to get back on track for a while. As such, here are my goals for round 3:

  • Write one page in my notebook every day, be it brainstorming, prose, whatever. Even if I were to write on every line of each page, this would probably only equate to 150 words at most, but I’m setting tiny goals deliberately.
  • Type up stuff in notebook on Sunday afternoons
  • Read for half an hour every day. Keep on track for 52 books in the year.
  • Write one book review per week, and queue them up so I don’t miss another post.
  • Spend Tuesday and Thursday nights, and Saturday afternoons working on assignments. (Amend slightly if aforementioned audition is successful and I need to work around rehearsals)
  • Ride bike to work at least three days a week, or if it’s too foggy in the morning, walk from work into the city after work. Yes, it’s cold. Stop being a wuss. Rug up.
  • Devise fortnightly meal plans in the couple of nights before pay day. This is something I’ve had grand intentions to do for months, so maybe having it on here will encourage me.

I’m posting my goals separate to my usual Monday post, but after this week, I will post Mirth and Music Monday and a ROW80 check-in in the same post (I’ll schedule it for early Monday morning here, which will still be Sunday in a lot of places). Then I’ll have WIPpet Wednesday and WWW Wednesday on, well, Wednesdays. It was going to be getting a bit crowded if I also did a ROW80 check-in there like I have in the past.

I’m going to head off now and make my other post for tonight, and I’ll see you all around the blogosphere.

~ Emily

7 thoughts on “#ROW80 Round 3 Goal-setting

  1. Elizabeth Anne Mitchell says:

    These are great goals, Emily. I’ve been on the receiving end of life getting in the way, so I understand letting the blogging fall off the plate.

    I’m also in sympathy with walking in the cold. I’m in the northern hemisphere, so I don’t have that problem now, but I certainly do when it’s winter here. I find it hard to dress for the cold, yet allow for the warming the walking induces.

    Good to you see you this Round. All the best with your goals!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I hear you on the dressing for exercise! It’s even worse when I’m on my bike. My partner is very into knitting and he’s made me a balaclava so my nose doesn’t get cold, but I have a feeling I’m going to end up with steamed up glasses and such because of it.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Denise D. Young says:

    I think you’ve set some good and realistic goals for this round, Emily. I like that you’ve included some non-writing goals–biking and meal-planning–for the round. My hubby bikes to work on a regular basis. Since I work from home I don’t really have anywhere to bike to, even if I did own a bike, aside from just evening leisure. It takes a lot of willpower. And meal-planning has definitely helped cut down my grocery bills and keep me organized.

    Good luck!

    Like

  3. Ruth Nestvold says:

    Good to see you around again, Emily — and Yay for realistic goals! Good luck with yours. 🙂

    BTW, on your recommendation, I got the Ella movie for my girls, and they love it. Me, I find it cheesy but fun. *g*

    Like

  4. Michelle says:

    Tiny reachable goals are just stepping stones to larger goals. Getting back in the habit of writing every day is one of the biggest challenges. Good luck from a ROW80 blog hopping friend.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      So true, Michelle. l was reading on another ROW 80 blog that they say it takes 21 days to form a habit. l’m hoping I’ll create this habit, even when life starts getting busy again.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

