#WWW What are you Reading? and #WIPpet Wednesday

wwwwednesdayWWW Wednesday is a blog hop that I discovered last week, which asks three questions: what have you finished reading, what are you currently reading, and what are you about to start reading. It’s hosted by Sam on Taking on a World of Words. Answer the questions and share your post in a comment on that one to join in.

  • What are you currently reading?

I’ve recently started Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson. It’s a retelling of Peter Pan, narrated by Tinker Bell and focusing on the character of Tiger Lily. It’s interesting enough, but I started it nearly a week ago and am less than 50 pages in… that said, a lot of the reviews say that it starts off slow and you have to get used to the TInker Bell point of view, so maybe it’ll pick up.

I also started The Island of Doctor Moreau, but that’s on a hiatus due to the fact that I own that book and Tiger Lily and a couple of others are from the library.

  • What did you recently finish?

I finished The Madman’s Daughter last Friday. It’s the adaptation of Doctor Moreau that I mentioned in last week’s post. It had a great twist at the end that I didn’t see coming at all (though on reflection, probably should have figured it out a bit sooner). I’m keen to pick up the next book in the series.

  • What do you think you’ll read next?

I have Dorothy Must Die out from the library but I don’t think I really want to read it. I’m not in a Wizard of Oz mood, really, and I’d rather put it off until I’m more likely to enjoy it. I think I’ll try and get the sequel to the Madman’s Daughter (which is based on Jekyll and Hyde) from the library.

wippetwednesdayOnto WIPpet Wednesday. As most frequenters of this blog are aware, WIPpet Wednesday involves posting an excerpt from your WIP that somehow relates to the date, and then linking up here and reading what others have offered. I’m going to follow on from last week’s post, in which Grace was given an ambiguous pieces of advice regarding her unwanted immortality. Everyone wonders what it means, and in this one line for the 1st of July, Grace surmises.

“I think he meant that I’m the only one who can kill me.”

Essentially, in Grace’s case of immortality, illness cannot kill her and neither can another person with any kind of violent act, but if she wanted to kill herself with a bottle of pills or a knife through the heart or whatever, that would work. The thing is, though, Grace doesn’t actually want to commit suicide as such. She doesn’t necessarily want to die, she just wants the opportunity to grow old like everyone else.

I’m going to head off now and try to read some more Tiger Lily. I can’t promise that I’ll manage to visit too many of your blogs over the coming week, as my mum is visiting for the weekend, but I’ll do my best! Until then!

~ Emily

18 thoughts on “#WWW What are you Reading? and #WIPpet Wednesday

  1. Sam says:

    The story retellings have been huge lately! Sounds like you’re enjoying them. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

  2. Claire | Art and Soul says:

    I like the sound of the sequel to The Madman’s Daughter if it’s based on Dr Jekyll and Mr Hyde.

    The line from your WIP is – as shanjeniah already said – very intriguing.

    Thanks for visiting my WWW. Happy reading and writing! 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      The three books in the series are all based on stories that explore what it means to be human – Dr Moreau was the first, J&H is the second and the third is based on Frankenstein.

      No problem! Thanks for visiting mine 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. L. Marie says:

    I know what you mean! I have to be in the mood for certain books too, particularly the Oz-related books. I wondered about that Tiger Lily book. I’ve been in a Tinker Bell mood. I’m writing a post about her now actually.

    What a choice for Grace!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I have actually spent a bit of time reading last night and today, and I still don’t know how I feel about the book. I’m 100 pages (it’s 292 pages all up) in and nothing has really happened yet, apart from the simply meeting Peter Pan.

      Like

  4. Celine Jeanjean says:

    Oh you just reminded, I heard of another steampunk book based on Jekyll and Hyde – it stars Dr Jekyll’s daughter to be precise. She solves crimes in victorian london and has the same serum as her father. It sounded interesting at the time, and now for the life of me I can’t remember where I saw it. Hate it when I come across a decent book then forget what it is!

    I’m kind of torn over Madman’s Daughter – I love the idea of a trilogy based on victorian classics, but the kindle price is putting me off (sadly the libraries in Hong Kong only stock fiction books in Chinese). The kindle price is $10!! Which is madness – the paperback is cheaper.

    That’s a great blog hop though, I might take part next week. And have a fab time with your mum 🙂

    Like

  5. Eden says:

    Remake books, remake movies… and still, many people try to tell us what a BAD thing it is to write fanfiction. *sighs* Glad you’re having fun with your reading (though I’m not sure about what you’re saying about Tiger Lily would get me to read it… I like a little action in a story, even at the beginning)…

    And yeah, I suspect that is what he meant (in your snippet). Though I can certainly understand her hesitation….

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I ended up returning it to the library unfinished. I was a third of the way through and still all that had really happened was that she had met Peter Pan a couple of times, and her guardian had told her she had to marry a man she didn’t like. I need a bit of action in my stories, too.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Eden says:

        Ah… Yeah, doesn’t sound like much like something I would like to read. I mean, I do love character driven stories, but I like the character to be doing something too.

        Like

Talk to me! :)

