#WIPpet Wednesday, and a #WWW Wednesday Reading Meme (all on a Thursday)

This is just a quick post. It’s nearly 12pm on Thursday in Australia, but that means it’s still Wednesday in some parts of the world, and therefore this post still counts. 😛

I’m writing this regardless of all that because I was determined this was the week I’d get back to things like blogging, and get back to them properly. And also things like eating properly and… well, I need to get the tyre in my bike fixed before I can get back to that, so that will have to wait until pay day next week. But writing, too. Though that is happening slowly. Uni work is also on the agenda; I’m going to start my winter course this Saturday.

I have very little that I can share for WIPpet Wednesday, but I did write some stuff yesterday. Yesterday was the 24th and 2+4 = 6. Except I’m a day late, so minus 1, and we have five paragraphs (this has nothing to do with the fact that I only wrote five paragraphs).

This is a scene that had bounced around in my head for a while and will probably come at the end of Lessons Learned if it comes at all. Just imagine that they’ve finally worked out their differences with Frederick Merrow and he’s finally going off to wherever ghosts go when they’ve finished their business here.

“You know that immortality is never really set in stone, don’t you, Grace?”

‘What do you mean?”

“If you choose to end it, it will end. But it has to be your choice.”

Grace stared at him, wondering if he was telling the truth. She’d never heard anything about this in the years she’d spent searching for a way to reverse the effects of the Elixir she had drunk.

“Choose wisely, Grace.”

WIPpet Wednesday is hosted by K. L. Schwengel, and you can join us here. Simply post an excerpt of your current WIP that somehow relates to the date, then check out what others have posted.

I was also just over at Books Over People, and decided to hop on the WWW Wednesday meme as well. This asks three simple questions, as you’ll see below.

What are you currently reading?

The Madman’s Daughter by Megan Shepherd. It’s a YA adaptation of The Island of Doctor Moreau, with his daughter as the main character. I haven’t read the source material, but this book is interesting. Slow-paced, but atmospheric. It doesn’t actually feel like I’ve read 150 pages.

What did you recently finish reading?

I just finished Splintered by A. G. Howard on Monday. It’s an Alice in Wonderland spin-off, and the world-building was good, but I really hated one of the characters and that kind of ruined everything. Apparently he gets worse in the next book, so I’m leaving the series here.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I’m actually thinking I will read The Island of Doctor Moreau, since I have copy on my shelf. It’s only short, so it shouldn’t take me too long to get through.

All right, I suppose I should actually consider doing some work? I’m in that tricky transitional phase in a new position at work, where I’m doing things, but slowly, and the office is basically empty today, so things are going even slower since I’ve got no one to answer my questions. But one colleague did give me something to work on before she went downstairs for a reference shift, so I should have look at that. See you all on your own blogs soon!

~ Emily

21 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday, and a #WWW Wednesday Reading Meme (all on a Thursday)

  1. Sam says:

    Hi Emily! Great to see you’re jumping into WWW Wednesday. I love the Splintered covers because of how colorful they are but I’ll admit I never read any myself. I host the WWW Wednesday meme on my blog and you can link up with other participants there. Happy reading!

    Like

  2. Eden says:

    Immortality that can be taken/given away… I like it. I also like that this snippet had nothing at all to do with the fact you’d only written five paragraphs. 😀

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I was thinking about Tolkien’s elves, and how they’re immortal unless someone kills them (I think that’s the case? I’m actually not that up on my Tolkien) and then sort of warped it a bit. Grace is kind of ambivalent about living forever, but at the same time, she’s getting kind of used to it.

      Like

      • Eden says:

        Okay… I don’t know where my head is, but I say the “Grace is kind of ambivalent about living forever…used to it” and all of a sudden I had all sorts of silly things going through my head like she was ambivalent about living, but kind of used to it; and living for liver (don’t ask me!!!)… Anyway, even though didn’t do it, thanks for the giggles.

        Like

  3. Celine Jeanjean says:

    That’s a very intriguing snippet, and I like the idea of reversing immortality. It sounds like there’s going to be a ‘be careful what you wish for’ moment…

    The Island of Dr Moreau is a really great book, I’m sure you’ll love it. I like the idea of a retelling from a more modern perspective — it’s such an interesting concept, I’m intrigued to see what can be done with a modern spin…

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      It is a bit like that; she’s got a lot to consider.

      I’m about halfway through Island… now and quite enjoying it. The adaptation was really good, too, and had a twist I didn’t see coming. I recommend it!

      Like

  4. ReGi McClain says:

    So… suicide = oblivion? Is that what he’s saying? Or is it more to do with something else? Is the elixir something that grants immortality? Given there’s a ghost involved, immortal could be defined a few ways. Heh. I’ll be speculating for a while now. 😉 Nicely done.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Yes, basically this elixir that she drank in the 1940s granted her immortality (she didn’t know that at the time of ingestion) and once she realised what was going on, she looked for a way to reverse its effects. Frederick is saying that if she plunged a knife in her own heart or swallowed a bottle of pills, it will kill her. She just never thought to try that because a) it never came up in any research and thus b) it didn’t kill her when anyone else tried to do it so she never thought doing it to herself would be any different. She’d prefer not to commit suicide as such, though, rather just get rid of the immortality so she can grow old and die like everyone else.

      Liked by 1 person

Talk to me! :)

