#WIPpet Wednesday – Get used to it.

Ohai, you guys! I’m back for WIPpet Wednesday, at least for a while. I’ve got a whole month between the end of semester and the beginning of the winter session, where I’m cramming in an extra course to make up for the one I dropped. My two goals for that month are read and write as much as possible. Writing has certainly fallen by the wayside in the past few weeks, but if I want a Master’s degree in three and a half years, I’m going to have to accept that it’s going to happen at the end of each semester.

Having said that, I know that I do get lazy about sneaking in the words in the spare moments when I’d be unlikely to get any studying done: in the branch meeting every second Tuesday, while my lunch is heating up, on the bus in the morning… I need to work on that.

Today for WIPpet Wednesday, I have a short snippet which takes up three lines in my notebook. Three for the third of June. (Related: how is it already June?!). Grace is trying to convince Laura that she (Laura) was the victim of some pretty serious magic cast by her husband, and Laura doesn’t want to hear it.

“Frederick was – is not an occultist!”

“He was much worse than that. And you should really get used to the past tense.”

To join in on WIPpet Wednesday, simply post something from your WIP that somehow relates to the date (whether in length or a different way), and link up here. Sorry for the drive-by nature of this post, but this is all I have the time for today! I’ll be back to normal next week, promise!

~ Emily

11 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday – Get used to it.

  1. Fallon says:

    ouch. yeah, I can see not wanting to believe your husband was involved in something like that.

    Good luck with everything you’ve got going on and fitting writing in.

    Like

  2. kathils says:

    I really like that last line!

    Good luck on your goals. Sometimes we have to reorganize priorities, but in the end it will be for the best.

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    I feel your pain about getting your degree. Been there, done that. But it’s a great feeling at the end!

    Love the snippet. It says a lot in such a short space. A very interesting interaction!

    Like

  4. Adrian says:

    I just finished my master’s and I can say, yes, that happens, and it always will happen. Just take the time when you can and when you need it.

    Great interaction going on here. Can definitely see why someone would not want to believe something about their spouse.

    Like

  5. Eden says:

    Short… not at ALL sweet, but really awesome. Those three lines have a lot of story in them.

    Now… as far as the degree goes, I’m amazed by your patience and willingness to put up with the program at all. (Never did like the school setting, although I do love self-study…) People in your shoes, people who go for the advanced degrees are rather awe-inspiring to me.

    Like

  6. Nicole Nally says:

    Why do I get the feeling that Laura knows more about Frederick than she’s letting on.
    I really want to know what happened to Frederick, why Grace thinks he’s worse than an occultist and what’s going to happen next.
    And congratulations for having the determination to do a Masters. It’s something I’ve always wanted to do but I lack the funding and the determination to see it through. massive admiration to you for being able to do what I can’t.

    Like

  7. ReGi McClain says:

    LOL! “You should really get used to the past tense.” That’s great. I know it’s not a fun moment for either of them and that may be a very sharp, cruel thing to say, depending on context, but it strikes me as a great way to phrase it. It has a lightish feeling to it that alleviates heaviness.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

