#ROW80 Check-in, April 29, 2015

First up, would anyone be interested in reading Unicorn Love in full (about 3000 words)? I realised this morning that it’s nearly May and that means nearly the cut-off for the competition I wanted to enter it in. But no one has read over it yet, so it might be awful (I’m reasonably confident it’s not awful, but would like a second opinion).

I wanted that at the top to get people’s attention (my posts often get long and I’m sure not everyone sticks around to read them right through), how did I go with my goals this week?

  • Complete essay by Sunday night – I actually wrote a draft for an essay due next week, and have been granted an extension on this one. So not completed, but I didn’t waste my time.
  • Polish essay on the following couple of days – n/a
  • Write a review of Jackaby and schedule the post – done! I have both my May reviews scheduled now. And I’m really enjoying the book I’m reading at the moment, so that should be my first June one. I was getting a bit sad because I’d read a whole heap of 3-star books in a row, and they were fine, but nothing incredible, so it’s good to read another one I’m really into.
  • Decide on item for significance report. Email course convener and also have chat to people at work about it. – This is what I wrote the draft of. So I’m ahead on this one.
  • Visit 50% of WIPpet Wednesday posts – done!
  • Visit 5 ROW80 blogs – done!
  • Reply to comments on this last week’s post – done!

I’m glad I didn’t make “keep on track with Camp NaNoWriMo” a goal this week, because it sadly would have been a fail. I just about made it to 7500 words for the month, which had been my original target, but then I decided to up it to 10k. So part of me wishes I’d left it. However, winning/losing a NaNo event is not the be all and end all, and the brainstorming that I did do over April will help greatly with post-semester-and-musical-all-at-once writing projects, and that’s what’s important.

For now, new writing projects are going on the backburner. I simply don’t have the time to commit. I know they say you have to make the time to write, but it takes me an hour to get ready for work as it is (I already get up at 6, and I get to work early so I can finish early) and then after work, it’s either rehearsal or study time. At work, I’ve just taken to reading in my spare time, though I am carrying my notebook with me each day in case of any sudden inspiration. I’ll probably write a bit, but it’s not my main focus. As such, I’ll also be taking an indefinite hiatus from WIPpet Wednesdays until I have something to share again.

So, goals for the next week:

  • Have essay ready to hand in on Tuesday 5/5.

… Actually, that’s about it, really.

Okay, I’ll add some more.

  • Read for half an hour a day
  • Write review of Grounded: The Adventures of Rapunzel if I finish it.
  • Comment on at least 5 ROW80 blogs.

But really, this history essay is my focus for the week. I’ve got rehearsal tomorrow night, Sunday afternoon, and Monday night, so tonight, Friday and Saturday really need to be head-down-bottom-up. I’ll finish this off here, and catch you all later!

~ Emily

 

5 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in, April 29, 2015

  1. C.E.Robinson says:

    Emily, you’re a busy writer! I enjoy reading your posts. Wish I had time to help out reading Unicorn Love, however I’m editing a script for a screenwriter friend now. Maybe I could help out with a read in June. Keep me in mind. Best of luck! Christine

    Like

  2. shanjeniah says:

    Send it on, Emily. It sounds like something that will be an interesting diversion from my May projects. Let me know if you need my email address again….

    And I so agree about NaNo – and other challenges, too. It’s not a win/lose, all or nothing. Every word, every thought can be a treasure you didn’t have before, so there’s really no losing, just reality.

    Best of luck with that essay!

    Like

Talk to me! :)

