#ROW80 Check-in and #WIPpet Wednesday – April 22

This week I had a little trouble keeping up with my goals. I’m not way behind, but I’m not quite where I would have liked to be.

  • Stay on track with Camp NaNo – ehhh, I’m a couple of days behind at the moment. I have been writing every day, but only between 100 and 200 words. I can’t give exact figures at the moment because it’s all still handwritten.
  • Write 1000 words of history essay pending response from course convener – at time of posting, I only have about 799 however, I wrote a plan last night with estimated word counts for each section and I think that will help. I’m aiming to hit 1000 tonight.
  • Write a new forum response for history – I’ve just got to finish it off and post it.
  • Read half an hour a day – I expect it averaged out. I finished Jackaby by William Ritter.
  • Visit 50% of WIPpet Wednesday posts – done!
  • Visit 5 ROW80 blogs – yes!
  • Read over lecture slides for three MUSC8017 lectures – I did this, and it didn’t enlighten me about either of the remaining assignments in the slightest. I’m just glad the next assignment is based on an external document that has nothing to do with the course, though there are aspects of that I’m also confused about.

There are still maybe eight weeks left of semester (my final assignment is due June 9) but I’m basically at a point where uni work has to take precedence. I have discovered that doing a musical where the performances are around the same time as final papers are due is a terrible idea. However, it is too late now to back out of either thing, so I’m just going to have to do the best I can. I was doing a Wednesday night casual sport thing with some friends, but I’ve told them I will rejoin in June, as I have too much on my plate at the moment and need those evenings for studying. I did have my first little Masters-related cry yesterday. It wasn’t a cry, really, just a bit of a stress out about things.

I have come to the conclusion that Camp NaNoWriMo has not been so much a month of planning but of brainstorming. The story I set out to plan has taken at least two turns and is now very different. In a good way. Good guys have become bad guys and vice versa, magical police procedural has become more the story of two characters (not police-types) out to stop the nasty magical character before everything goes completely downhill, all the while having to deal with the issues they have with each other… It’s a much more personal story for all the characters.

On that note, since my characters have all swapped their character arcs in the past few days and have new back stories, very little of what I’ve written up until now is still relevant. For today’s WIPpet, I’m going to have to take you right back to when Rosa and Frederick Merrow first met, or at least, properly interacted. I’ve got 4 paragraphs because it’s the 22nd and 2 + 2 = 4. And it’s also the fourth month and all that. It’s a hot day and Rosa thinks she’s wandered far enough from the house to not be disturbed on her afternoon off.

She had been dozing off when a crack of twigs behind her made her jump and spring awake. The figure of Frederick Merrow emerged through the trees, a large dog by his side. Rosa had taken off her shoes and stockings, and now she scrambled to try to at least replace her boots, as her skirt would possibly disguise the fact that her legs were otherwise bare.

Her movements attracted Frederick Merrow’s attention, and he stopped walking, looking over at her. His expression was initially bemused, but it quickly transformed into a grin and he chuckled at her efforts.

“Please, don’t feel you ought to cover up for my benefit.”

Rosa’s cheeks turned a dark scarlet, and she felt as though she were completely naked, not just stocking-less, in front of him.

Given that I’ve turned him into the villain, and he’s more “total jerkwad” than “roguish charmer”, this scene now feels a whole lot sleazier.

If you are wondering what on earth this WIPpet thing I keep referring to is, wonder no longer! WIPpet is a portmanteau of the acronym WIP (work in progress) and the word snippet, and every Wednesdsay, we share a snippet from our WIPs that somehow relates to the date. The linky is here; do join in! The fabulous K. L. Schwengel is our host and many thanks go to her for keeping us all in line.

Now I return to ROW80 and my goals for the coming week. I have this 2500 word history essay due Thursday of next week, and a museum significance report due the following week. Thus, I really need to get the essay out of the way this weekend. I do have a birthday party to go to on Sunday, but I’ll probably excuse myself after a couple of hours. My Fair Lady chorus members are all a little annoyed when today we were informed we now have a rehearsal on Monday, where we didn’t before. It would have been handy having that extra spare night.

  • Complete essay by Sunday night
  • Polish essay on the following couple of days
  • Write a review of Jackaby and schedule the post
  • Finish forum response
  • Decide on item for significance report. Email course convener and also have chat to people at work about it.
  • Visit 50% of WIPpet Wednesday posts
  • Visit 5 ROW80 blogs
  • Reply to comments on this post

Doesn’t seem like much, but watch me fall apart in a quivering heap in next Wednesday’s post. I’m going to leave it here, but be sure to check out other ROW80 posts. I’ll see you soon!~ Emily

22 thoughts on “#ROW80 Check-in and #WIPpet Wednesday – April 22

  1. Adrian says:

    school is definitely a priority, especially with master’s degrees, which take a whole lot more time than bachelor’s. Great snippet, definitely sleazy and kinda creepy in a good way, meaning it works =P

    Like

  2. L. Marie says:

    Are you going to write a review of Jackaby? I would be interested in your thoughts on it.
    Yeah, that scene really has a different feel, now that I know Frederick is a dirtbag.

    Like

  3. ReGi McClain says:

    Ha! I love the embarrassment over the stockinglessness. And I love that her scrambling to cover up is what actually gets his attention. She would have been better off just being still or scrunching up slowly to get her feet hidden under her skirt. 🙂

    Like

  4. Eden says:

    Since you had made Frederick a “reasonably okay, somewhat rougish guy” before, it was a bit of a head-switch to see him as a slimeball. I think it’s going to turn up great, but yeah… definitely makes things read differently.

    B.U.S.Y! Wow… when are you going to have time to eat, sleep and breathe?

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      O.O Those are things I’m supposed to allow time for? Oops….

      It took a little while for me to get my head around that, too. I’ve generally got a couple of types of male characters I tend to write, and neither is sleazy, but he is shaping up into quite the jerk.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. ceeleeolson says:

    At first I was like, oh, what a cute way for a couple to meet. And then you mentioned that he was the scum of the earth and that definitely put a new spin on things. I feel like I need a shower now. A really hot one with lots of soap and a wire brush…

    Like

  6. Michelle says:

    You don’t seem that far off on your goals to me. The end of year exams and a play at the same time must be very challenging. Remember to take care of your self. Good luck from a ROW80 blog hoping friend.

    Like

  7. tpolen says:

    You are one busy woman -good luck! I kind of like that he’s a sleazy villain – there’s something to be said for really good ones in stories – they can make a huge difference.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

