#MirthMusicMon – A Change in Me – #mondayblogs

So today I had this moment when I discovered that there was an extra song written for the Beauty and the Beast musical in 1998, when Toni Braxton joined the cast. Somehow, despite loving this musical for somewhere between fifteen and twenty years, I have missed this until now. And it’s a really pretty song, too! Here is Susan Egan, the original Broadway Belle, singing it (only audio, unfortunately):

I’m auditioning for a production of Beauty and the Beast later this year, and now I know this song, I want to play Belle even more!

In keeping with the BatB theme, this is a SNL sketch that I found. It… does kind of devolve into ass jokes, but it starts off pretty funny, and sometimes you need to just be immature, right?

You can join us for MMM over at the linky.

5 thoughts on “#MirthMusicMon – A Change in Me – #mondayblogs

  1. Chow Kim Wan says:

    Fan of Beauty and the Beast here! You can check out my blog for a couple of write-ups on the film and the musical, including a review of the production I just saw in Singapore, and a review of the Susan Egan cast recording. Have a nice week ahead!

    Like

  2. L. Marie says:

    I received the “uploader has not made this video available in your country” message on the second video.
    I had never heard the song from Beauty and the Beast! I never saw the musical. What a pretty song. Break a leg on your audition!!!
    Was Susan Egan the one who played in Disney’s Hercules?

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Oh, boo. You’re in the US, right? I would’ve thought an SNL clip would obviously be available there.

      She was, which is another thing I only discovered yesterday, despite really loving “I Won’t Say I’m In Love.” I’m usually really quick to recognise singing voices.

      Thanks! The auditions probably won’t be until August/September, but I’m already listening to the soundtrack compulsively. This is a show I’ve wanted to do for years.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

