#WIPpet Wednesday April 8

I’ve managed to be pretty productive in the last week! Hurray! I perhaps should have done a bit more studying over my time off, but I decided to enjoy the time instead. I head back to work tomorrow and I can get to work on the next essay then as well.

row80

      • Read 1 hour a day and finish A Wicked Thing – I just spent Friday reading and finished it then.
      • Complete text-to-speech run-through of AMCF (8 chapters, so maybe 2 a day?) – done! Though I did it all yesterday, because I procrastinated up until then. But this means the interiors are all done and I just to worry about the exterior. Exciting times!
      • Finish review of Scarlet by Marissa Meyer – done!
      • Write review of Cress by Marissa Meyer – done!
      • Write review of A Wicked Thing once finished reading – done!
      • Make a list of books in uni libraries that may be useful for history essay – sort of? I initially chose an essay question that was a comparative question, and I could find lots of books on one aspect of the topic but not the other. So I’ve changed topics, and stocked up on books for the new topic today.
      • Spend an hour each day doing uni readings – haha. Yeah. Well.
      • Try to dot-point an essay plan – see previous couple of points.
      • Remain on target for Camp NaNoWriMo (approx. 334 words a day = 2333 words by the end of Tuesday) – yes! More on that below.

It  would seem that no matter what I set out to write, some kind of epic and/or tragic romance always manages to make its way in there. This has happened with my Camp NaNoWriMo plans. I was supposed to be revamping and planning in more detail my WIP from last November’s NaNo (you know, the one with Armand and Bianca, and Josephine who was turned into a statue for 500 years and finally escaped?). I’ve accidentally ended up with a sympathetic antagonist, when I was going for “evil for the sake of evil” (almost – she did still have her own motivations). In her case, the romance is more on the tragic end of things.

As part of the Camp NaNo stuff, I’ve written some important scenes from this antagonist’s back story. It’s from this that I’m taking today’s WIPpet. I need you to imagine a large homestead on a farm out in middle-of-nowhere Australia, around the end of the nineteenth century. If you need an example, I have the Monte Cristo homestead, which is purportedly the most haunted house in Australia, in mind. Rosa is young and naive, and a member of the household staff. Frederick Merrow is the head of the household, and has been teaching Rosa magic in their spare time (there’s a pretty extensive back story for him as well, how he got into magic, etc, but I’ll go into that at a later date). My WIPpet maths is eight paragraphs for the 8th of April.

“It’s all about the right mind-set, you see.” Frederick put his index and middle fingers against Rosa’s temples. She felt herself blushing from the contact. “You have to believe you can do it or it won’t work.”

She glanced up at him. “I believe I can do it. It’s just… well… I still feel like I shouldn’t.”

“If God was going to smite people for performing magic, Rosa, he’d have got me years ago. You’ve got nothing to fear.”

He removed his fingers from her head, and stood, moving around to Rosa’s side of the table. He squatted down next to her and put an arm across the back of her chair to balance himself.

“You can do this,” he breathed in her ear.

smurf-vela-candleShe wanted to do this. She wanted to prove to Frederick that she was a worthy student. He believed she could do it, so she had no reason not to believe it herself. She stared at the unlit candle between them, willing it to light. In her mind, she saw the same candle, a flame flickering at its top. She closed her eyes, focusing on that image until her head was pounding.

There was a faint whooshing sound, and then Frederick’s hands clasped her shoulders. She opened her eyes and saw the flickering candlelight.

“Was that me? Did I do that?”

I haven’t actually figured out yet whether they would be on first name terms yet (particularly Rosa calling Frederick that), but given that this is unlikely to be in the actual finished work and is mostly just for my benefit, I figure it doesn’t really matter. I’m also yet to entirely figure out the magic system, so I’m just rolling with what comes to me right now.

I am actually loving Rosa more the more I write of her, and I have a feeling it’s going to be much like when I played Abigail in The Crucible last year. Everyone else was like, “Wow, what a bitch” and I was all “YOU JUST DON’T UNDERSTAND.” Which is still how I feel about Abigail.

WIPpet Wednesday is a blog hop hosted by the very fabulous K. L. Schwengel. All you need to do to participate is post an excerpt from your WIP that somehow relates to the date (eg. 8 paragraphs for the 8th of April. I went simple, but encourage creativity). Then link up with us here. And on that subject, you can learn more about ROW80 here.

Anyway, time for this week’s goals.

  • continue with ROW80 goal of 250 words a day/keep on track with Camp NaNo.
  • Read for half an hour a day
  • Read uni readings for at least one hour a day
  • Make a bullet-pointed plan for the essay and email it to the course convener for feedback
  • Reply to all comments received on this post
  • Visit at least 50% of fellow WIPpet Wednesday post
  • Visit at least 5 ROW80 posts

I think that’s all I need to work on this week. If anything else comes to mind, I’ll add it in later. I’m going to go now and consider reading about Britain’s involvement in the Seven Years War, though its more likely I’m going to watch something on Netflix. (Netflix is still new in Australia. For those of us who didn’t know there are free VPNs out there, anyway. Don’t judge.). See you later!

~ Emily

25 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday April 8

  1. kathils says:

    Yae for Rosa! A nice scene that sets up somewhat of the relationship between the two. I like her surprise at accomplishing the task, as well. I absolutely did not intend for the image of Urkel saying “Did I do that?” to pop into my head.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Kate Sparkes says:

      I… I can’t follow that comment.

      Glad to hear things are going so well! I’m revising for camp… still on the “organizing my notes and forming a plan of attack” stage. *headdesk*

      Like

      • Emily Witt says:

        Because I’m planning, and writing scenes, and asking myself questions and then brainstorming/answering them later, the document I’m taking my word count from is the most confusing thing I’ve ever had to deal with. I do have a separate one where I’m just compiling the information that is going to be used later, and deleting it if it gets superseded.

        Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      So, um, being a young’un and a foreigner and all, I had to google Urkel to find out what you were on about. Though now I look at him, I think I’ve maybe seen a Family Matters episode here or there.

      I have to admit, this scene makes me a bit sad for what it to come for these two, but… it’s going to happen anyway.

      Like

  2. Amy says:

    I love this line: “If God was going to smite people for performing magic, Rosa, he’d have got me years ago. You’ve got nothing to fear.” I really think the word “smite” needs to appear in more works. Just saying.

    Like

    • ReGi McClain says:

      So, slight dweeby moment, but there was a Disney Hercules episode years ago wherein Zeus decided to spend a few days as a mortal teen in order to better understand his son’s complaints. There was one particular snot of a character and Zeus, just before leaving to go back to Olympus, zapped the kid. (Not fatally, of course.) When Hercules gave his dad a look, Zeus replied. “What? He was practically wearing a “smite me” sign.”

      I know it’s juvenile, but that line makes me giggle every time I think about it.

      Liked by 2 people

    • Emily Witt says:

      I agree entirely! In one circle of Internet friends I used to be very close to, I was known as the Queen of Smite because of my propensity to visit virtual smitings on things that annoyed me. Usually by way of using the lightning/thundercloud emoticon on MSN Messenger.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Gloria Weber says:

    You convey Rosa’s eagerness to please in a very sweet way. Not sure if I’m reading too much into it, but you can almost hear a “I like him, but I will use another excuse for my wanting to please him” mentality in her plea… That or I’ve been reading too many mangas with crushes like that lately and I’m tainted!!! 🙂

    Good work with your goals. You have a lot going on and you are doing great. Good luck with your essay.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Ha, I am the complete opposite. Even going on their website, I was scrolling really cautiously thinking, “I swear, if there are spooky photos…” I can’t do scary movies, either. I saw the Sixth Sense 13 years ago and I can still be kept awake by memories of it if I think about it at the wrong time.

      Like

      • ceeleeolson says:

        Despite my love for spooky places (which I totally blame on working at a local halloween haunt event) I can’t do scary movies. I can barely even watch the walking dead!

        Like

      • Emily Witt says:

        I can actually deal with zombies, oddly, though I still avoid them for the most part. I think maybe because they’re less psychological and mostly just lurk and jump out and are gross.

        Like

  4. Eden says:

    Fun, sweet little scene there…. I do wonder about Rosa. How old is she in comparison to Frederick? (That house though!! Beeeooouuutiful!)

    Keep those happy goals progressing, Emily. They look perfect.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I don’t have exact ages for either of them yet, but Rosa is definitely only early 20s, while Frederick is closer to 40. He’s very charismatic though, and Rosa comes from a tight-knit religious family that, with the exception of her father, comprised entirely of women, so she really has to make it up as she goes along once she starts getting out of her depth.

      And it’s a gorgeous house, isn’t it? It’s under three hours’ drive from where I live, but when it’s supposedly that haunted, I won’t be going anywhere near it.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. shanjeniah says:

    I prefer villains I can understand to ‘evil for evil’s sake. I love digging for motivations, reading small cues, and the like.

    I love a villain most when I can’t help but want to show them the error of their ways…

    And this – I like these two. Especially together.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      In the former version, she did have an initial motivation, but it had become so twisted, that she was dealing out huge punishments for trivial offences. (I don’t know if you watch Doctor Who, but I was going for Michelle Gomez’ Missy character, who is just bonkers and evil, but incredibly chilling because of that.) With this story, though, it’s a bit more personal. Though I’m still trying to work out the best way to weave this back story into the actual text.

      Liked by 1 person

      • shanjeniah says:

        I don’t watch the Doctor, at the moment, because Enterprise, but I can ask my son, and he might know.

        I know that feeling of having so much backstory, and trying to get it into the draft! Good luck!

        Like

Talk to me! :)

