#WIPpet Wednesday – You only had to call

It’s 10:10pm and I’m super-tired, so a very quick post this week. My daily writing has fallen by the wayside a little because I got distracted by all the Sydney Siege stuff going on Monday and Tuesday, and today I’ve just been too busy… okay, and I’ve also been reading rather than writing. I will try to get back onto that tomorrow.

It’s WIPpet Wednesday, and I have added the 1 and the 7 of the 17th together to bring you 8 paragraphs from my still untitled 2014 NaNoWriMo. I don’t think it’s come up before, but Armand practices divination in various forms, and in this scene they’re trying to use Josephine’s connection to Esra, the main villain, to try to figure out where she is. Armand doesn’t think it will work but they can’t think of anything better to do so they’re giving it a go.

Finally, everything was cleared away and they made their way up to Armand’s bedroom. He pulled his crystal off the hook and held it over the map. “All right, give me your hand,” he said. “Though I reckon this is just go to end up telling me where you are. Think about Esra as hard as you can. Strong memories of her.”

He held Josephine’s hand and closed his eyes. He had never tried scrying for someone he didn’t know without an object of theirs before, so he had nothing to really focus on. In lieu of that, he tried emptying his mind and letting Josephine’s thoughts take over.

The crystal began to swing, as usual. Armand waited, expecting it to simply slow down again. Instead, it gathered speed, and then tugged him towards one end of the map. He frowned. That wasn’t what he had been expecting. His frown got deeper as the crystal then tugged a different way, and then a third way. Its tugging became wilder and faster, and Armand’s arm began to ache as it pulled him every which way.

Finally, he let out a cry and wrenched his eyes open. The crystal stopped moving and hung limply from his hand. He found himself shaking, and took a few deep breaths to calm himself down. When he looked up, both Bianca and Josephine were looking at him with expressions full of concern.

“Are you all right?” Bianca asked.

“I imagine it doesn’t usually do that?” Josephine added.

“No, it doesn’t,” Armand confirmed. “What the hell just happened? Were you thinking about her?”

“She was certainly thinking about me,” said a voice from the doorway, and all three of them turned around. “You know if you wanted to find me, you only had to call.”

This was a scene I had in my plan from the outset and had been really looking forward to writing. Esra is quite a fun villain. For any Doctor Who viewers, once the finale of this year’s series ended, I was actually imagining her very much like Michelle Gomez’ Missy, though in the current drafts she is far less chilling than Missy. Also, I still have no idea how this story ends. Ha.

Anyway, so is anyone else going to be doing Christmas Eve/New Year’s Eve WIPpets? Because I’m going to have nothing better to do, but I’ll feel a little foolish to be the only one.

To join in on WIPpet Wednesday, just  post an excerpt from your current WIP that somehow relates to the date, and then link up with us here and check out what others have offered. I’m going to bed now, so I’ll catch you all in the morning.

~ Emily

6 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday – You only had to call

  1. Fallon says:

    That last line gave me a chill.

    I’ll probably be posting Christmas/ New Year’s Eve, although I may be scheduling next week’s post at least. We’re going to my MiL’s Christmas Eve, but not until after noon. So, I’ll still have time to get something out.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

