December 7 – Does he know about the baby?

Author’s note: Another opening line prompt. I’m on holidays at the moment and only have Internet on my tablet, and for the life of me cannot figure out now to embed videos properly from the YouTube app in order to post a Mirth and Music Monday post. However, you get two stories so I hope that suffices.

~*~

“Does he know about the baby?”

“Of course he doesn’t! And if I stick around much longer, there’s going to be no way to avoid him finding out.” Sarah continued moving clothes in a bag while her mother looked on.

“Do you think perhaps it would be less damaging to your relationship with Adam for you to tell him, rather than just packing up and leaving.

Sarah stood up. “Yeah, I’m sure that would work out.  ‘Hey, Adam, you know how we’ve always been best friends? Well, now, thanks to one stupid, drunken mistake on both our parts, wehe going to have to live together, put up with all the things we don’t like about each other, oh yeah… and be parents!'”

“You wouldn’t have to live together. You could still live here, but Adam would still get to be a part of his baby’s life.”

“And what if he doesn’t want to be?” Sarah asked. “I can’t deal with that, Mum.”

Her mother moved into the room and put her hands on Sarah’s bag me Sarah couldn’t put anything else in. “Sarah, tell him,”she said. “You’ve been friends with Adam for, what, twenty years? You owe your friendship to to tell him.”

Sarah sighed. “Why do you always have to be right?”

“Because I’m your mother .”

”Fine, I’ll go see him in the morning.”

~*~

”Hey, where have you been keeping yourself?” Adam asked as Sarah walked through the back door of the coffee shop he and his father co-owned.

”Have you got a minute? I’ve got to tell you something.”

“Sure, what is it?”

“You should probably sit down.”

Raising an eyebrow, Adam walked through to the dining area and sat in the nearest chair. Sarah paced in front of him.

“Remember how swore that we were never going to talk about that night ever again?”

“Yeah… so, why are you bringing it up?”

“We’re going to have to talk about it again.”

“Why?” Adam’s eyes narrowed.

Sarah wrung her hands, mentally telling herself to just say the words and get it over and done with. “I’m pregnant,” she finally blurted out. When a shocked expression crossed over Adam’s face, she sought to fill the void and so kept rambling. “Mum said I should tell you, and so I am. I was actually just going to leave because I wasn’t sure how you’d take it, but she persuaded me not to. I’m sorry I didn’t tell you earlier, I was just really scared of how you’d react.”

“Hey, hey!”Adam reached out and grabbed Sarah’s wrist to make her stop pacing. “This is huge,” he said, “and ltn not going to pretend I’m not completely freaking out right now. But you’re my test mate, Sarah, and if you’re keeping that baby then I sure as hell want to help.”

“Really?”

Adam stood and pulled Sarah into a hug. “Really.”

Talk to me! :)

