#WIPpet Wednesday – Doleful Eyes

wednesdaybannerSo it’s 10pm and I’m thinking I’ll write a couple hundred more words on my NaNoWriMo and then turn in for the night, and then I realise that I am yet to write a WIPpet Wednesday post. Eeek! So, a quick update. NaNo has been going well. Apart from last Friday when I spent most of the night cleaning my house and only wrote 153 words or something, I’ve been keeping pretty well on track. I wrote over 6000 words on the weekend, ending up about 2000 words in front, and I’ve managed to maintain a state of 1000 words in front over the past few days. I reached 20000 words this morning, and my aim is to be at about 20500 before bed (yeah, so today I let myself down a little).

This weekend, I really only have Saturday at my disposal, and next week I’m likely to fall behind because I have choir most nights leading up to our production on the 20th and 21st (I’m so ready for this concert to be over, I swear). But that still gives me nine days to catch up again, including two weekends, so I’m not too worried.

There’s a particular plot point in my story that I figured would have to happen around the 25k mark. It took me a moment yesterday to realise that I was at 18k and I could actually start in that plot point’s direction. Which is exciting because it means the characters can stop talking about muffins (peach and cinnamon ones, for the record). So that’s where I’m at right now.

For WIPpet Wednesday this week, I have six paragraphs, because 12 (of November) divided by 2 (from 2014) is six. Armand, Josephine and Armand’s sister, Bianca, are headed down to the police headquarters because they want to hunt out their dad and hear the details about what’s going on with some high-profile disappearances. They’ll have a slightly better plan in later drafts, but this’ll do for now. I really like Bianca, her mouth runs away with her an awful lot. The keenness Armand remarks upon is due to Bianca getting them all up at the crack of dawn to go out.

“You’re really keen about this, aren’t you?” Armand remarked as they walked see by side along the pavement.

“What can I say?” Bianca replied. “I’m kind of excited about being the annoying kid who wants to see her important dad while he’s at work again. Haven’t done it in a long time.”

“Yeah, well, just as long as you remember that you’re not five years old anymore and staring up at the desk sergeant with those doleful eyes of yours is not necessarily going to cut it anymore.”

“Hey, don’t underestimate the power of my doleful eyes.”

“Oh, god, you’re going to flirt with the desk sergeant.”

“Only if he’s pretty.”

Join us for WIPpet Wednesday by posting an excerpt from your WIP that somehow relates to the date and link up with us here. K. L. Schwengel is our wondrous host. I’m going to go back to my writing for a bit now, and I’ll catch you all soon.

11 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday – Doleful Eyes

  1. kathils says:

    “Oh, god, you’re going to flirt with the desk sergeant.”
    “Only if he’s pretty.”

    I laughed out loud at that. What a great back and forth between these two. Giving us character glimpses through dialog. One of my favs. 🙂

    Like

Talk to me! :)

