#MirthMusicMon – With One Look

I’ve been rather terrible at showing up to Mirth and Music Monday the last few weeks, but look, I am actually back this week! In fact, I’m so keen, I’m writing this on Sunday night. I went to see a local production of Sunset Boulevard and it reminded me how much I adore Andrew Lloyd Webber’s schmaltzy musicals. So of course, I’m going to foist it on you lovely people today. This song, With One Look, is performed by Norma Desmond, a silent movie star who by the 1950s is mostly forgotten. She’s never stopped believing that she will one day return to the silver screen. Glenn Close played Norma and Broadway and won a Tony Award for it. There is a bit of scene work before the actual song, which starts at 2:40 if you want to skip ahead.

Since Sunset Boulevard is a story about Hollywood, it only made sense to find something quintessentially Hollywood for the mirth part of my post today. For some reason, despite being 10 years old, this clip has always stuck in my head. We were trying to find a particular Steve Martin opening monologue, but none of the YouTube clips had the specific bit, so this one will do instead. This is Jack Black and Will Ferrell informing the 2004 Oscars audience of the lyrics to the music the orchestra plays when a person’s speech goes on too long. My favourite part is the shot of Sean Connery.

To join in Mirth and Music Monday, post some things and link up with us here. I’m going to head off now because I am yet to watch the new episode of Doctor Who, so I’ll catch you on Wednesday! 🙂

4 thoughts on “#MirthMusicMon – With One Look

    • Emily Witt says:

      Doesn’t she? As far as I can gather (from Wikipedia, admittedly), this was really her only foray into musicals (so far, anyway!)… I think she would have been wonderful in plenty of things.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

