#WIPpet Wednesday and finally, a finished edit!

So after six weeks of me nagging him about it, Edy has completed the edits on A More Complicated Fairytale. I actually thought it was longer than that, but I just scrolled back through my blog posts and it was around mid-July when he started, so I guess I should take back some of my complaining. I’ve decided I’m not going to look at it until the weekend, when I can give it my full and undivided attention. But that’s pretty exciting.

For now, though, I’ll continue on with The Work Formerly Known As Unicorn Love, which I have tentatively retitled Love in a Time of Time Travel, which I like, because it basically sums up the two key aspects of the plot, but does it feel a bit clunky as a title? While I haven’t written a whole heap of new material, I did sit down on Sunday evening and type out the issues I need to figure out with the plot. My main couple are being uncooperative and refusing to reveal the exact nature of their relationship to me. I have no idea whether they were trying very hard to be “just friends” or whether they were a couple or if they’d even acknowledged their feelings for each other.

I had a grand plan this morning to get up early and do some writing. Except it was 6am and I could feel cramps coming on and it was cold and so after 213 words I went back to bed for another half an hour. I am, however, going to try and do the same thing tomorrow. 213 words each day is better than my recent track record of zero, and it would be good to get into this habit (even if the habit also includes the going back to bed again). We’re coming into spring in this part of the world, so hopefully in another month or so the weather will be warm enough that I won’t just want to snuggle down into the covers when the alarm goes off. (I say that now. Give it three months and I will be sleeping with only a thin sheet over me and the fan on and all the windows open and I’ll be wanting to know when the cooler weather is coming back.)

Anyway, I should really get a move on as it’s now nearly 10pm. The bit I was going to share, I have just realised, still only exists in my notebook, which is in another room and I can’t be bothered getting up. So I’ll share a bit before it. While Lexie and David are kind of the heads of their street gang, Lexie is on the outs with everyone else after David is sent to gaol, so in this scene she’s trying to scrounge a few pennies to get herself something to eat. WIPpet math… it’s the third so three paragraphs. It’s too late in the evening to be complicated now.

“‘Scuse me, miss!” she called out, running slightly ahead of the woman and then turning and walking backwards so she could face her. “Spare any change?”

“Oh, I’m sorry, I’m afraid I don’t -”

“Out of our way!” The woman was cut off by the older man she was with. “Be gone with you!” He swung his cane in Lexie’s direction and she jumped to the side to avoid being hit.

That’s all for tonight. By next Wednesday, I’ll have hopefully typed up the following bit, which is where another main character is introduced. I nearly named this character after a Doctor Who companion, but thankfully Googled the name to see if it was familiar or if I was just imagining things, and promptly changed her surname.

To join in on WIPpet Wednesday, simply post an excerpt of your current WIP that somehow relates to the date, and then join us at the linky. Thanks to K. L. Schwengel for hosting. Since I am now nodding asleep on my bed’s foot-board, I shall head off and visit again when I am more awake. Love to all!

wordpresssig2

14 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday and finally, a finished edit!

    • Emily Witt says:

      She is, poor girl. We don’t actually see much of David until the time travel kicks in, though I am trying to write a few background-y scenes, at least for my own benefit, so we might see a bit of him before he ends up behind bars.

      Like

  1. Amy says:

    How did Lexie end up begging for spare change on the street? I’m also curious about whether the man is about to cane her simply for asking for change or if there’s some other reason he’s bothered by her.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Basically, she’s an orphan, it’s ye olde times, and it’s always been like that. This guy’s actually really incidental, he’s just a rich guy who doesn’t want this dirty kid getting grease on his daughter’s dress, basically. But this is sort of the last straw for Lexie, so she resorts to trying to steal and gets caught and that’s when things get a bit more interesting.

      Like

  2. Elaine Jeremiah says:

    Oooh another intriguing WIPpet! I’m wondering about Lexie – didn’t realise she was down on her luck. Or at least she seems that way in this excerpt. I want to know more about her and David and their world. 🙂

    Like

  3. kathils says:

    Interesting bit. Since you asked, yeah, the title seems a tad clunky. Reading it I wondered if ‘Time’ had been repeated on purpose or a typo.

    Like

  4. sirenarobinson says:

    The only thing that bothers me about the title is the double mention of Time. And don’t know if you thought of this, but Love in the time of Cholera is a very well known work with a similar name, so might consider that. I like Unicorn Love. It’s very unique.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I was, to be perfectly frank, blatantly ripping off Love in a Time of Cholera, even though I really have no reason or right to, but yeah, the repetition of “time” was what was bothering me, too, so I think I’ll keep tinkering with it. The problem with “Unicorn Love” is that it came from the original premise, which involved a frustrated Cupid stating to Aphrodite that “finding true love is as likely as finding a unicorn in this day and age!”. Now that Aphrodite is nowhere to be seen and Lexie’s a regular mortal, it doesn’t make much sense. But I’ll keep brainstorming it.

      Like

  5. Beth Camp says:

    I also thought of “Love in the Time of Cholera” when I saw that title . . . but I agree Unicorn Love is pretty unique . . . maybe those recalcitrant characters will have something to say about the title! That WIPpet is pretty intense, though I wasn’t sure who was the pov character. Certainly the man with the cane evoked no sympathy! Congrats on getting your feedback, but I hope you continue writing on this WIPpet!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I was also thinking that title when I came up with mine, even though I have no reason to be ripping it off. The problem with “Unicorn Love” is that it came from the original premise, which involved a frustrated Cupid stating to Aphrodite that “finding true love is as likely as finding a unicorn in this day and age!”. Now that Aphrodite is nowhere to be seen and Lexie’s a regular mortal, it doesn’t make much sense.

      I’m glad you like this one, though. 🙂 I’ll definitely be continuing on it, though I think AMCF may take precedence for a little while. I think the POV is probably clearer when the scene is read as a whole, with Lexie looking around and finding someone to talk to, etc.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

