#WIPpet Wednesday and a Mopey #ROW80 Update

Writing? Yeah… I’ve been writing.

*averts eyes*

*coughs awkwardly*

I’ve done that thing again where I determine exactly what I need to do with a story and then kind of freak out about actually going about it. That combined with the fact that I’m reading a good book,  and that everything has to be done by Thursday night because I’m going away for the weekend, and I’ve been staring at a blank page every time I try to do something.

Not to worry though, on my trip to Sydney I plan to pay a visit to the prison where David is sent in Unicorn Love, and even though his time in prison isn’t really gone into in the story, and it’s more the aftermath that’s important, I think that’ll give me some inspiration. It’s actually the home of the National Art School now, but as far as I can tell from the photos on the website, it still looks much the same as it did back in the 1820s-40s when it was built. Apparently some of the classrooms are haunted. I’m glad I’m not a visual artist. Speaking of visual artists, though, I should get onto commissioning my artist friend to draw some Unicorn Love characters for me.

I also have Monday – Wednesday off work because a few colleagues have been telling me to take a holiday, so I’m finally doing that. We’re only getting back from Sydney Monday afternoon, but I’ll have the house to myself Tuesday and Wednesday, so I plan on unplugging the modem, clearing my desk and getting some serious work done then.

With that in mind, I’ll probably return to Unicorn Love for WIPpets come next Wednesday, but for now, another excerpt from An Eventual Happily Ever After. Ginny was knocked unconscious, loaded up in a wagon, and has since come to. She has no idea what’s going on, so she’s trying to find out from the other people there. Theories are rife, but Peter, a guy a little older than Ginny, thinks they are slave-traders from the island nation of Koamwen, whisking away people from Nardowyn who won’t be missed. My WIPpet math is six paragraphs, from adding the digits of 2014 together.

“Why would they think that we wouldn’t be missed?”

“I don’t know about your case. I was an orphan. I was apprenticed to a blacksmith but there was never much love lost between the two of us. I doubt he’d bother putting in any kind of missing persons report.”

“I think my family might… The Crown Princess is my sister.”

“Princess Cait is your sister?”

“Yes.”

Peter looked at her doubtfully. “Forgive me for asking, Ginny, but if the Crown Princess is your sister, why were you sleeping under a tree in the woods in the middle of the night?”

This conversation will change slightly in later drafts because the circumstances of Ginny’s kidnapping are going to be slightly different, but Peter’s question will probably still stand. I’ve once again taken hours to compose this post (at least this time I was doing something constructive, in the form of finally reading Philip K. Dick’s “We Can Remember It For You, Wholesale”, the short story that the Total Recall movies are [loosely] based on), so it’s time for me to start heading to bed. WIPpet Wednesday is brought to you by the wonderful K. L. Schwengel and you can link up with us here (just post an excerpt from your WIP that somehow relates to the date). Kait Nolan runs A Round of Words in 80 Days, which you can read more about here. And with that, I say goodnight!

wordpresssig2

19 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday and a Mopey #ROW80 Update

  1. kathils says:

    And that’s a darn good question, Peter.

    Holidays are very important. So is alone- time. I guard mine very jealously. 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      As do I. At the moment, I’ve got a couple of friends trying to persuade me to audition for shows next year, but I’m honestly not sure if I want to commit to something that’s going to eat up so much of my time to myself.

      Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      So far I’ve read this story and Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep and I have to admit that I’ve liked both better than the movies (though I haven’t seen the first Total Recall movie, only the one from a couple of years ago, which didn’t even mention Mars). I might try to track down Minority Report as well.

      Like

  2. catemorgan says:

    YAY, for research trips!

    Also, one drama geek to another, did you know the ENTIRE London live showing of Complete Works of Shakespeare is now on YouTube?! And it is, verily, AWESOME? *dies a little*

    Like

  3. Amy says:

    You short-changed us a paragraph! LOL. (Adding the digits of the year should’ve given us 7 paras. And yeah, I *know* it’s just WIPpet math, but I’m married to a math teacher.)

    If she chooses to answer the question about what she was doing, that should prove to be a very interesting conversation indeed.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      LOL, oops, so I did. I was just determined to find a six somewhere. 😛

      It’s actually a really boring conversation in the original NaNoWriMo MS. I’m going to have to work on that!

      Like

  4. Kristen says:

    I’m taking some time off, too – it took scheduling a surgery to pry me away from my job. lol What, indeed, is the sister of a Crown Princess doing sleeping under a tree? Great excerpt. 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I got a few snaps, but wasn’t able to hang around very long as they were setting up for a wedding. I did get to chat with the guy on the gate for a bit, though, and he told me some of the history that isn’t mentioned on Wikipedia. 😀

      Like

Talk to me! :)

