Heading into the second half of the year

Today is July 1, the first day of the second half of 2014. Since finishing the edits on A More Complicated Fairytale in April, I haven’t really written anything amazingly useful, and have spent the past few days leafing through notes I’ve made on stories I’ve never completed and wondering (read: stressing about) whether I’ve only got one complete story in me and I’ll never finish another one (don’t worry, I’m 99.9% confident this is not the case, I just every now and then let that o.1% get to me… like when the only thing I’m writing is fanfiction and I’m only writing a few hundred words every few days on it).

A More Complicated Fairytale, when more work was being done on it. I had a big think about this on the weekend and as a result, I’ve decided to try to work out what I want to achieve in the next six months, and how I might go about achieving it. So, without further ado:

Ongoing Goals:

  • Not a writing goal but putting it here nonetheless: return to using My Fitness Pal as a way to track eating and hold myself accountable if I am over-indulging/encourage myself not to over-indulge.
  • In months where I’m not participating in a NaNoWriMo-type event, return to previous writing goal of two nights a week, sitting down for an hour and working on writing. I usually end up achieving more than this when I’m really into a project, but two hours a week doesn’t feel like work when I’m not on a roll.
  • Participate more fully in ROW80 again – post check-ins on Wednesdays, as well as try to visit five blogs after each check-in.

July:

  • Camp NaNoWriMo, 500 words a day on new WIP “Unicorn Love” for a total of 15500 words by the end of the month.
  • Organise (or at least make a proper start on organising) a cover for AMCF
  • Have AMCF proofread.
  • Bribe Edy with cake (or similar) to achieve said proofreading.

August:

  • Decide whether or not to continue with Unicorn Love depending on how July goes.
  • Brainstorm and write an outline for AMCF companion, An Eventual Happily Ever After.
  • Read over the version of AEHEA from last year’s NaNoWriMo, decide what might be kept.
  • Publish AMCF?! (I had August in mind as a publication date at the beginning of the year and if I get myself into gear, this is totally still possible)

September:

  • Work on new version of AEHEA (and Unicorn Love if I decide to continue with that as well), following two hours/week goal.

October:

  • Continue work on AEHEA and ULnanowrimo_logo
  • Decide what I will write for NaNoWriMo
  • Start planning NaNoWriMo.

November:

  • NaNoWriMo madness!

December:

  • Take a bit of a break, but don’t let up entirely.
  • Work out a better December goal closer to the time, and when some more progress has been made.
  • It feels a bit too far away for me to make any kind of goal right now.

Even though the new round doesn’t start until next week, I’m using this post as my ROW80 Goals Post for round 3 as well, since I’ve pretty much listed my goals. Hopefully I’ll see you around there as well! 🙂

wordpresssig2

13 thoughts on “Heading into the second half of the year

  1. rachelalsowrites says:

    Ooooh publishing!! That’s so exciting!

    I should also restart using My Fitness Pal. I’ve become a little too fond of chocolate again…

    Seeing all your goals laid out like this is super encouraging, I might have to do the same. I definitely want this half of the year to be more productive than the last half! Good luck with everything!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I know! Kinda scary, too, though!

      Yes, that has been my issue lately… though it’s not my fault if the team chocolate boxes are left near my desk all the time!

      I feel so much better now I’ve written it all down like this. I had been feeling pretty down regarding my writing for a little while…

      Like

      • rachelalsowrites says:

        My issue is Cadbury chocolate (or any chocolate really) on sale…I can’t resist!

        Don’t feel down! Your writing is great and your goals sound amazing and achievable, especially publishing!

        Hopefully by next year I’ll be in a similar position. People like you keep me motivated!

        Like

  2. kathils says:

    Publishing on the horizon! Exciting. 🙂

    Ah…fitness…yes…I need to look better at that. *sigh* An ongoing battle.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Indeed! I have half an email typed up for you in reply to that one from ages ago about a cover, if you’re still up for that. I should get that sent in the next few days.

      Yeah, the first week of it hasn’t been amazing for me. Work has been chocolate-requiring.

      Like

      • kathils says:

        Chocolate…mmmmmmm

        *wipes drool* Got the e-mail last night. Not much on-line time this week as I’m trying to wean myself off my addiction, but I’ll take a closer look tonight. 🙂

        Like

  3. Lisa says:

    Wow! You’ve thought a long way ahead in terms of goals. Good for you!
    You’re doing CampNaNo in July, so here’s wishing you all the very best with your wordcount on Unicorn Love. (There, see? Not a one-book-wonder! :))
    As for the cover for AMCF, have you thought about Fiverr.com? There are illustrators there who will design ebook/print covers. It might be worth checking out.
    See you at the next ROW80 check in! 🙂

    Like

Talk to me! :)

