#MirthMusicMon – Tony Awards Edition

So I was freaking out because it’s been a long weekend here, so I’ve been home all day, but it’s now 6:20 and I hadn’t figured out what I was going to post today. But then I started seeing headlines about how everyone was a bit weirded out by Hugh Jackman’s opening number at the Tony Awards (which happened Monday morning, Aussie time) and then I knew what I would post. (Hugh’s opening was weird, but these ones make up for it).

From the 2011 Tonys.


Related to this video: when I did Chicago, we all said that given the number of scantily-clad women often to be found in musical theatre, why aren’t there more straight guys? (Having said that, I do know quite a number of straight guys who do theatre. The song is right.)

Who knew Daniel Radcliffe could sing and dance, right?

And this is the video where Neil Patrick Harris proves to those of us who can’t actually go see this show on Broadway, why he is totally deserving of this year’s Best Lead Actor in a Musical award for his performance in Hedwig and the Angry Itch.

I could go on, but that will do for one post. To join in on Mirth and Music Monday, simply post some music and some mirth, and then join us on the linky. I’ll have more music next Monday! šŸ˜€

wordpresssig2

P.S. Okay, I said I’d stop, but then Edy told me about Neil Patrick Harris’ opening number for the 2010 Oscars. So you should watch that, too.

4 thoughts on “#MirthMusicMon – Tony Awards Edition

  1. L. Marie says:

    Is there anything Hugh Jackman and Neil Patrick Harris can’t do??? Good grief!!!! And Daniel Radcliffe–wow! I hadn’t heard him sing nor seen him dance before. But I guess they wouldn’t have hired him if he couldn’t do either.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Haha, I know right?

      If I remember correctly, that production happened partially because DR had said, “Hey, guys, I want to do a musical, and this one’s fun, let’s do this one!” but yeah, if he hadn’t been up to it, I’m sure they would have gently talked him out of it.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

