Book Review: Chasing Memories by Tia Bach

Title: Chasing Memories
Author: Tia Bach
Genre: YA/paranormal
Format: ebook, available from Amazon
Date Read: 11/04/2014 – 25/04/2014
Rating: ★★★★

Review:

chasingmemoriesI had this book on my Kindle for ages before I got around to reading it. I think I downloaded it during a free promotion but had not paid attention to the summary and thought it was full of poetry or something that I’m equally not actually that keen on, and thus kept putting off reading it at all.

What a stupid decision that turned out to be! Let’s clear it up now, this is actually a really entertaining YA supernatural book, with an engaging main character, side characters which evoked serious emotional responses from me (mostly of the “I want to punch them!” variety, but since that’s what the main character was also feeling, I think that was the point), and a plot full of suspense and intrigue.

Okay, maybe I’m getting a little hyperbolic so let me go into more detail. The main character, Reagan, and her family, suffer a huge tragedy when Reagan’s brother, Sam, is killed in what appears to be a bear attack while they are camping at Yellowstone Park. Sam’s body is never recovered, though, and Reagan starts having strange dreams about a gold-eyed wolf who insists she follow him. Meanwhile, grief starts to drive Reagan and her parents apart, and she becomes closer to her grandmother, a Wiccan woman with whom her mother has had very little to do in a long time, but who seems to be the only one willing to take Reagan seriously.

The book is very fast-paced; I would have read it in one sitting if I had been able to (unfortunately I had to drag myself out of bed to do housework). It was easy to empathise with Reagan, and I found myself always wanting to hit the other characters when they were treating her badly. The teenage characters were depicted convincingly but weren’t annoying to an older reader, and the older characters were also well-rounded. The story arc has been well set up for subsequent books. It does end on a cliffhanger, and I’m certainly looking forward to the next instalment!

4 thoughts on “Book Review: Chasing Memories by Tia Bach

    • Emily Witt says:

      It’s definitely not a genre for everyone. I probably wouldn’t have read it if I had known what it was about from the start, but it surprised me and sucked me in.

      Like

Talk to me! :)

