Drive-by #WIPPet Wednesday Post

I… don’t really feel like writing a blog post tonight. Wednesday sort of snuck up on me. I apologise for getting around of barely any of your WIPpets in the past week, or even responding to comments on my own. I can’t even really claim to have been too busy or anything, just lazy. Ah, well. I’m still plodding away on AMCF edits. I’ve had this kind of gnawing feeling in the pit of my stomach lately because I really would like to write something else, but I had no real ideas. Nothing too big, just a flash fiction or something, for a break. I browsed the “Adopt a plot” thread on the NaNoWriMo forums and there was one that did take my eye and is percolating at the back of my mind. Depending on how far I get with AMCF (I’m hoping to have edits done by the end of May), I might participate in the August Camp NaNo. Or you know, just start my own thing. Whatevs.

Anyway, my WIPpet math for today is very basic. Two very short paragraphs for the second of the month. I’m trying to flesh out Cait and Felipe’s first post-ball conversation, and actually have it go on for a little while before Cait loses her temper with him. Felipe asks Cait if she has any siblings and when he learns she has no brothers, with his infinite supply of tact, says something to the effect of, “Soooo, if your dad were to die, the rest of you are kinda screwed, huh?” to which Cait essentially replies, “Well, if certain royal families would change our stupid laws so we could inherit stuff, maybe it wouldn’t be a problem.” Felipe thinks this is a silly suggestion.

“But surely you don’t think your own upbringing, or that of most other women in the kingdom, would prepare you to manage property the way your father does?”

“My father studied history, your Highness, not economics or property law. Does that help him any more than the music or the languages I’ve studied?”

This is the bit where I’m relieved Cait is not of the Tumblr generation, because then I’m sure that the term “male privilege” would come up in this conversation, and that’s really not a place I want to go to. I’m all for social justice and activism and such but… Tumblr.

Anyway, I titled this post “Drive-by WIPpet Wednesday” and yet I’ve been writing it for the last hour and a half. Some of that time has been spent actually writing, though, and some of it was spent sending a detailed description of Cait and Felipe and the final scene of AMCF to one of my writer friends, who also happens to also be an artist friend and is going to do me an illustration. I’ve seen some of the art she’s done some art for one of our other friends and I’m really keen to see how this turns out. I’ll scan it to show it off to you all when I receive it.

To join in on WIPpet Wednesday, simply post an snippet from your current WIP that somehow relates to the date. Then join us at the linky and have fun! I’m off to bed now! I’ll catch you all soon!

wordpresssig2

20 thoughts on “Drive-by #WIPPet Wednesday Post

  1. kathils says:

    How Cait manages to keep it together with Felipe I’ll never know. But, you’ve portrayed his beliefs and biases very well, and that is the world they live in. Whether Cait likes it or not. But still…grrrrr.

    I totally get the ‘case of the lazies’. I keep trying to work and getting sidelined by every other thing that doesn’t involve work. Okay, I justify browsing Pinterest boards as research. That’s totally work, right?

    Like

    • Amy says:

      Browsing Pinterest is TOTALLY research! Also, Googling strange things. I use a private Pinterest board to pin pictures of people I think look like my characters.

      Like

      • kathils says:

        See! I knew it! I love research. 🙂 I hesitated before sharing what I think my characters look like. I don’t want to sway my readers and somehow lessen their experience. But I’d like them to share their ideas in exchange. Usually, my characters are bits of people anyhow.

        Like

      • Amy says:

        Right! I think I read somewhere that Alan Rickman actually WAS JKR’s Snape when she wrote the books. I think most of us have people in mind (famous or not-so-famous) when we write. It’s unavoidable.

        Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      She sort of sees his attitudes as a project to be worked on… after a few months, she has reached a point where she can go, ‘Oh, is that what you think, is it?” and he sort of sits there pouting for a bit, grumbling, but not necessarily arguing against her point.

      Browsing Pinterest is definitely research. How else am I going to figure out what Cait’s ballgown or wedding dress looked like?

      Like

  2. Amy says:

    Ugh, yeah, I hear you on motivation. Mine is at an extreme low today, even though last week was the opposite.

    I like this bit of dialogue and how direct Cait is. I had to laugh at your assessment of tumblr because…yeah. I’m not on tumblr, but Twitter is just as bad sometimes.

    Like

  3. Xina Marie Uhl says:

    I must applaud Cat’s father on his choice of college major, as it is the same as mine. 🙂 I also like how Cait stands up for herself and other women. Felipe is just having his worldview challenged left and right!

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Tumblr is full of self-proclaimed “Social Justice Warriors” who are going to crush the patriarchy and the… whatever you might call the racial equivalent of the patriarchy. All very noble goals that I support but heaven forbid you be a straight white man if one of these SJWs gets onto you.

      Like

  4. chloeleighcorin says:

    Emily! The dialog here is really wonderful–so natural and I love that!:)

    And you’re right about Tumblr–wow! I thought it would be just another social outlet but people are on a mission to highlight every injustice. Although I do really like the pictures and gifs, can’t lie.

    Like

  5. ReGi McClain says:

    Hmm… I’m not on Tumblr. It sounds , ummm… angsty? Maybe? I don’t really like the whole, “let’s use the impersonal conduit of social media to share our sociopolitical opinions” thing, but I do like Cait’s comeback. 🙂

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      I’d say angry more than angsty, and only in certain parts. I stick to the parts with pretty gifs from TV shows and movies and pictures of cats (eg. this is my current favourite thing on Tumblr).

      I appreciate that the Internet is a great place for people to rally together but it has to be done properly. There are so many things on Facebook where it’s all “Change your profile to show awareness of this!” which may be a good idea in theory, but all it does is allow people to think they’re making a difference when they’re doing nothing.

      Like

      • ReGi McClain says:

        Awwwww!!!! Sooo cute! That’s the nice thing about the internet: opportunities to share cuteness. 🙂

        I think social media serves to help the people who are already community minded to pick their fights, but more often I think it gets used to make marshmallow stands and incendiary remarks without having to face the people that might change one’s mind. I get especially tired of the “let’s show so-and-so that such-and-such by liking this page/sharing this post.” Nice effort there! Don’t wear out your pointer finger clicking that mouse!. *eyeroll* 😉

        Like

  6. shanjeniah says:

    Oh, I like this bit. It shows Cait’s natural feistiness and self-condfidence.

    I didn’t get to as many WIPpets as I wanted this past week, either. Because NaNo. And A-Z.

    I hope to do better this week!

    Like

Talk to me! :)

