#WIPpet Wednesday – Lost (also Facebook and Cover fun times)

So I went ahead and made myself a Facebook page, which you are free to like or not like as it pleases you. It remains to be seen how much I actually use it, but we were talking about social media and things at writing group on Monday and Sam had made one, both for himself and his (quite popular) YA online serial Darkness Girl. This blog used to link with my personal Facebook page, which is so locked down that if you were to type in the URL without being my friend, it tells you that you have no permission to view it. I don’t think it’ll increase traffic or anything, but I will prefer having it link to a public page.

I’ve also actually finally started putting some serious thoughts about a cover for A More Complicated Fairytale, which is quite exciting. Kathi Schwengel is helping me out with that and has given me some great tips on how to make a start, so I’m working on that (thank you, Kathi!). Also, speaking of Kathi and covers, check out the cover reveal for Emergence, the second in the Darkness & Light series. All being well, the book will be out on Monday, March 17. If you haven’t read the first book, First of Her Kind, now would be a good time to make a start on that. πŸ˜‰

I am beginning this post on Tuesday night while I take a break from wrestling with what should have been a very simple scene from AMCF but has proved difficult. As I’ve said before, I don’t want Felipe to appear to sympathetic right off the bat, because I want the reader to discover that at the same time as Cait. But I was going to include that scene I wrote while I was in Paris where he learns that his brother has been killed… except that would have to go right at the beginning and he’s all emotional and vulnerable at that point, so it’s fairly obvious that he’s not a complete jerkwad… so I’ve been fiddling with that but at the moment it’s not really working for me. Possibly moving it forward to Sebastian’s funeral, where he’s a bit more stoic, rather than that first moment might be a thing… Or maybe I’ll just scrap the whole idea…

Either way, for WIPpet Wednesday, here are six lines from that scene (1 + 2 + 3 [day plus month] = 6). They take place not long after the bit I posted while I was in the laundromat in Paris being a really exciting traveler. Carmen is keeping Felipe company, but not pushing him to deal with the anything immediately.

“I don’t think I’ve never seen you look so lost.”

Lost. Yes, that was the word. If Sebastian was gone, then Felipe no longer knew where he fitted in. He’d always looked up to his brother, gone to him for advice or guidance. Felipe may have had the reputation as a ladies’ man, but it had been Sebastian who gave him the push in the right direction the first time he’d seen a girl he liked the look of. Sebastian always knew exactly what to say, how to handle a situation. Felipe may have been able to give this impression, but it wasn’t always the case.

When this book is published I will probably write my own fanfiction about five-year-old Felipe and six-year-old Sebastian getting up to all kinds of princely mischief. They’re an awesome little duo, believe me! πŸ™‚

If you would like to join in on WIPpet Wednesday, simply post an excerpt from your current WIP that somehow correlates to the date. Then link up with us here and check out what others have on offer. It’s that easy! πŸ˜€ I’m going to head off now because I slept badly last night and really need an early night tonight, I’ll catch up with you guys soon enough!wordpresssig2

11 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday – Lost (also Facebook and Cover fun times)

  1. kathils says:

    Thanks so much for the shout out. πŸ™‚

    Hmm…well, even a jerkwad can show emotion at something as traumatic as the death of a loved one. How he deals with those around him offering sympathy, however, would help show him in a less than stellar light. Meaning, it might be possible to keep the scene where he finds out Sebastian has been killed, but make him handle it badly…or seem to.

    Anyhow, nice WIPpet. Funny how sometimes the one we think has it all together really…doesn’t.

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    Bottling his feelings and unleashing them on someone else might work pretty well for what you’re trying to accomplish. He could certainly say something obnoxious to whoever just told him he looked lost. Nice excerpt, though–I like how we can see a bit of the brotherly dynamic there.

    Like

  3. Raewyn Hewitt says:

    The trials of trying to figure out what to show and when… I really liked the WIPpet – it gave good insight into his relationship with his brother. I liked what Kathi & Amy had to say about the reactions though. I always enjoy as a reader when you get a glimpse of something admirable and then the character proceeds to behave so badly it’s hard to feel sorry for them. Good luck.

    Like

  4. Eden says:

    I have to add my agreement with what Kathi and Amy suggested. Having a sympathetic moment does not a sympathetic person/character make, after all. Even the most heinous of mob killers can go home and bring flowers to their mothers….

    That said… I think you might want to be cautious about socking it to the reader the same way you’re giving Cait that same surprise. Too much “where did this come from” can break the narrative magic and draw a reader completely out of the imaginary world you’ve created. The clues should all be there, just not emphasized, so that after the reveal, the reader goes “Oh! That explains X, Y and Z; he really is a kind of nice guy”. Plus, it can be a lot of fun for readers to feel they might know more than the main character.

    I know this doesn’t make the actual writing any easier, but I’m sure you’ll find a way.

    Like

  5. Ink and Papyrus says:

    It can be difficult to find a compromise sometimes when deciding where to put a scene or whether to put it in at all but I agree with Eden et al, putting in a scene that elicits sympathy at that point does not mean that the reader will think Felipe is a sympathetic character necessarily. Also, if you don’t show any of that emotion and the reader knows his brother is dead then when you do try to turn the tables and reveal he isn’t so bad after all the reader may have a hard time buying that.

    Like

  6. Kate Sparkes says:

    I liked the You-Know-What out of your facebook page. So there. πŸ™‚

    No matter what you decide to do with that scene, at least you know that writing it wasn’t a waste of time. Anything that helps us get to know our characters is time well-spent. I do hope you can use it somewhere, though.

    Like

  7. shanjeniah says:

    Emily,

    I think I might be inclined to use a snippet of memory here. I haven’t had a sibling die, but I have been with a fiance and my second child when they died. After, I had such vivid pulses of memory that could be triggered by nearly anything.

    Maybe this would be a good place for a teaser of those five and six year old princes, or a bit more detail on just how Sebastian steered Felipe.

    Your readers could feel sympathy for that little boy lost, I think, without necessarily feeling it the same way for the man he became.

    Just a thought which may or may not be useful to you. And I’m eager to see your cover, when it’s ready!

    Like

  8. Xina Marie Uhl says:

    I was going to include that scene I wrote while I was in Paris

    This is so romantic! I want to write a scene in Paris! There, I’ve just added it to my bucket list. *sighs happily*

    I love the idea of not making a character sympathetic off the bat. My favorite example of that is Dean Winchester in Supernatural. He’s sort of a jerk at first and then … Oh, dear. Now I’m getting flushed. Well, you get the idea.

    Lovely excerpt. My dear husband has lost his brother a few years ago, and I imagine that he feels the same bittersweet remembrances.

    Like

Talk to me! :)

