#WIPpet Wednesday – Never again

Gaaah, I’ve been so lazy this week. Just as well I wrote enough of the scene I shared an excerpt from last week that I can share some more today. I have figured out the timeline for AMCF, though (I had way more time to play with than I realised), so I’m quite please about that. I’m also trying to make a start on learning my lines for the Crucible, which is going to take up a fair bit of my time over the next few months. Apparently Abigail has a lot to say. I’ve learned the first two pages so far. Hopefully by the weekend I’ll have enough in my head I can run a chunk of it with another person, which is far preferable to reading the line then closing your eyes and repeating it a few times to commit it to memory.

Anyway! In last week’s WIPpet, Prince Felipe was showing Cait a very old and valuable copy of one of their main religious texts. The following couple of weeks, he takes her on tours of the palace, and then the week after that they venture outside. My WIPpet maths is as follows: 1+8+2 (day plus month) = 11 lines.

The Gardens at Versailles - something of an inspiration for Nardowyn's palace gardens.

After that, Prince Felipe introduced her to the gardens, but not the ones out the front, which she had seen through the carriage window before. The gardens at the back of the palace, only ever seen by the royal family and their guests, were far more elaborate. The stairs led down to a lake, beyond which lay flower beds in geometric patterns surrounding and enormous, immaculate hedge maze. At the entrance, Prince Felipe challenged Cait to find her way to the centre. Thinking it couldn’t be all that hard, Cait accepted. She was fairly certain she got at least halfway before having to admit she was lost. She wandered a few more pathways before concluding that her best option was to sit down and wait for someone who knew the maze better than she did to come and find her.

Prince Felipe and Carmen found her half an hour later and the prince led her easily to the centre to show her how it was done, before walking out of it again without a single incorrect turn. Cait swore before she left that afternoon that she would not be going near any hedges again any time soon.

Felipe, stop showing off. Poor Cait.  I got lost in a tiny hedge maze in Chantilly last year. It shouldn’t have been that hard; it was designed for kids and the hedges didn’t even come up to my shoulder, but apparently my sense of direction is just that bad. But in the centre, they had a sign with the recipe for Chantilly cream, so it was totally worth it.

Do come and join us for WIPpet Wednesday, we don’t bite! In fact, the WIPpeteers are a wonderful bunch! All you need to do is post an excerpt from your current WIP, or the beginning of a new one that somehow correlates to the date (eg. my 11 lines from adding the day’s digits). Then join us at the linky. Many thanks, as always, to our fearless leader, K. L. Schwengel.

I’m going to love you and all and leave you now, as I’m typing on Tuesday night; I’m hosting my writer’s group tomorrow night and hope to get out of my lazy slump and do some writing! So blogging will not be on the agenda. Goodnight, and I will see you all soon!

17 thoughts on “#WIPpet Wednesday – Never again

  1. Fallon says:

    I’m pretty sure I’d end up getting lost in the maze too. I have a pretty crap sense of direction. I’m also stubborn and would probably keep trying to find my own way out. At least Cait was smarter than that. 🙂

    Like

  2. Amy says:

    Confession time: Hedge mazes terrify me! I would be afraid I’d get lost and no one would be able to find me. I know it’s totally irrational, but there you have it.

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      We all have our weird fears! Mine is going to a window after dark and seeing a stranger’s face pressed against it. I have no idea where it came from, but I still try to make sure I’ve closed the blinds before the sun goes down.

      Like

  3. Elaine Jeremiah says:

    I know I’d be just like Cait at this point Emily – I too have a very bad sense of direction. It’s led to heated arguments with my mum in the car in the past, with me attempting to navigate and her driving. :s

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Oh, I am a terrible navigator! Especially if I’m using a phone that “helpfully” rotates the screen when I rotate the phone, when I wanted to have the map facing the same way we were driving!

      Like

  4. Eden says:

    Hedge mazes! I love them. We have a small one at a local park here, and it’s a joy to go through them. (Actually, I love going through mazes of almost any kind…) The point is to not be convinced you can do it and be watching carefully as you walk in for differences in the hedges (or at least that’s how I do it).

    Chantilly cream? I never called it that, but I make a whipped cream like that sometimes when I want something a bit thicker than just “whipped cream” (though once I got carried away blending and made a very sweet butter). I don’t think I’d like it in spaghetti sauce though….

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Yeah, I don’t think I’d be having any in my spaghetti sauce either. It was amazing on hot chocolate though. It tasted eactly like marshmallows, except it was one huge dollop of it on top of my mug. I don’t think I’d ever come across it before; over here, you just whip pouring cream to make it thicker if that’s what you’re after. There’s not really anything added.

      I think that is partially Cait’s problem; she’s concentrating too hard on trying to memorise the route she’s already taken and not actually paying enough attention to where she’s going. If that makes sense…

      Like

      • Eden says:

        Oooh, I imagine it was divine in hot chocolate! I know what you mean about normally whipping cream to thicken it… most of the time it is just thast. But my grand,a always made it like that Chantilly cream recipe, so I never knew that it was supposed to be some thing unique. To me, it was just a case of Grandma’s tastes best. 🙂

        It makes perfect sense.

        Like

  5. shanjeniah says:

    My sense of (mis)direction is so legendary, I nearly rolled into the Grand Canyon…and my kids are astonished if I get us someplace without making a wrong turn or three…I tend to follow the Dirk Gently navigational method…

    I like mazes – but I get delightfully lost. The whole family did a wooden one at a Rennaisance Festival – it was a bit like a playground, with towers, and fun mirrors, and nifty artwork…honestly, it was a pleasure to be lost in there, and I was almost sad when we finally found our way out…

    On the other hand, I have a hedge maze in one of my WIPs that would likely even scare Eden! =)

    Felipe ought to have gone through the maze with Cait. Of course, he’s busy tossing his know-how around….

    It feels like Cait’s a little thrown off her form, here. i would be expecting her to have something cutting to say to Felipe about his absolute lack of gallantry…is she perhaps a bit claustrophobic?

    Like

    • Emily Witt says:

      Hee, Dirk Gently. Took me a little while to get into that series, but then I loved it.

      The Renaissance Fair maze sounds so much fun! My boyfriend and I want to go to a fair one day, but it’s a case of finding one in our vicinity at a convenient time.

      You make a good point about Cait not saying anything. I might rewrite this section to include some dialogue… At this point in the story, I don’t know if she would necessarily be cutting, but something to the effect of “You knew that would happen!” – “It’s not my fault you got lost!” – “Yes, it is!” followed by playful swatting on the arm could work.

      Like

      • shanjeniah says:

        The fair closest to us is permanent, on old farmland. It runs until dusk every weekend during the summer. It’s a bit of a drive, but we’re thinking of going back this year – the kids were 7 and 4 then; now they’re 12 and 9.

        I like your idea for Cait. And that Felipe would play innocent!

        Like

  6. Ruth Nestvold says:

    I actually have a pretty good sense of direction, and I’m a great navigator when hubbie and I are on the road (him, not so much …) But I don’t remember the last time I was in a hedge maze or how well I did. I *think* it might have been on our last trip to Brittany at a castle on the Loire where we stopped. But obviously, I don’t have any fears of the things if they don’t even leave lasting memories. *g*

    Like

Talk to me! :)

